We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Danville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Danville
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

We absolutely love this place. Great place to relax and enjoy the pool. My friend and I stay here because Danville is the half way point between Our two houses. The kids really enjoyed the pool while we relaxed pool side and caught up. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is okay for a quick bite.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Trish Dish X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    25
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
25
12
9
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

I generally break up my reviews into sections, then give a rating for each section, then average the sections. Not perfectly scientific or fair, but it's pretty close. My ratings are 0 to 5 stars. Also know that I give all hotels worldwide the same consideration, I don't make exceptions for small towns as I don't think that is fair.

General Hotel - This is a fairly new Holiday Inn Express so it is pretty much the same design you'd find all over the country. The facility is in good shape and the property was clean and well cared for.
Rating - 4 Stars

Staff - Super friendly and accommodating. I didn't have any problems or special circumstances so I didn't see what they were like in a tough situation, but I suspect they'd be nice and efficient.
Rating - 4 Starts

Location - This is a tough one since if one must travel to Danville one is already in a less than desirable location. However, if you stay in Danville this is one of the worst places to stay. Located off I-74 just inside the Illinois border there is really nothing around. There are several hotels of similar quality and worst, a gas station and a Big Boy. The Big Boy is the only restaurant. This makes it tough to grab a quick bite and do some work from the hotel. About the only alternative is to order a pizza.
Rating - 1 Star

Room - Decent room. Average Holiday Inn Express and on par with other hotels in this class. Crappy in-room coffee and tea. The shower curtain was a big scrungy, and I hate rooms that don't have windows that open. Still pretty much par of the course for a hotel like this.
Rating - 3 Stars

Bed - I rate the bed as an individual category since it is so important. This one was fine, not great but fine. I slept ok.
Rating - 3 Stars

Breakfast - Although this is a typical breakfast at Holiday Inns this one underachieved even for Holiday Inn. Most of the items seemed 'left over' from the previous day, and the breakfast was the same on repeating days. Aren't they supposed to rotate? There is little healthy and little for vegetarians save some really stale cereal. The coffee and milk was frequently out and the orange juice was undrinkable.
Rating - 1 Star

Environment - This is the most shocking section. Most hotels have at least a towel re-use policy. It this hotel has one I didn't see any evidence and despite my hanging up of the towels they got replaced each day. In addition there were disposable cups and plates everywhere. Especially Styrofoam. Does this hotel have a special deal with the makers of Styrofoam? This is the worse thing that one could put in a landfill, yet it's everywhere in this hotel. There is also zero recycling or composting and light switches aren't timed motion switches. This hotel fails completely in this category.
Rating - 0 Stars

Overall Rating:
2.28 Stars so this rounds down to 2 stars.

Room Tip: Avoid having to travel to Danville
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryynoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penfield, il
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

I want to thank the girls for there excellent care during my stay at the hotel. My husband i will only stay there because of the friendly service. The room was very clean and it was like being at home. again i want to thank the girls and Rita for the friendly service and for making our stay fell like home!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Clean rooms and commons areas as I've come to expect from HIE. It is right off the interstate but all that is nearby are other hotels. Granted Danville isn't large and luckily the front desk staff was willing to give directions and recommendations for places to eat. Traveled with my 13 yr old nieces and got a room right by the pool which was great. Pool area was clean and no strong chlorine smell though the water was a bit murky. My only real complaint is the "hot tub" was colder than the pool. (I was told there had been a storm the night before when I asked about it.) Breakfast was standard HIE fare - nothing fancy, but a variety of good options. If I'm ever in town again or need a stop just off the highway would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slourash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Located just off the eastern interstate exit for Danville, this hotel is convenient although nothing spectacular. We arrived fairly late, after 8:30 p.m., and asked for a non smoking room and were assigned a room on the third floor. Unfortunately, that entire floor reeked strongly of cigarette smoke. We wondered if the floor was normally reserved for smokers. The morning breakfast included some awful prefabricated "omelets" filled with melted cheese food, in addition to more palatable dishes. Not a terrible experience, but not a great one, either.

Room Tip: If requesting a non smoking room, be sure to ask if the rest of the floor is non smoking, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsGrasslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Location not so great. It's in the middle of an industrial trucking/shipping area, however access on/off the I-74 is very easy. If you are a weary traveler and want the comforts of home for the night, this will do the deed. Dining options are limited. There is a Big Boy restaurant across the street, but watch the traffic. All other dining is too far to drive in my opinion, especially if you don't know the area. Order in. Back to the hotel...
They've been there 6yrs, but the facility looks brand new. The staff really take care of the place. Rooms are what you expect from a HIExpress, very clean and spacious. My only negative is the insulation around the hotel room doors could be better. Hall way noise always bothers me, and I could hear people talking, walking and letting their door slam. Why do people slam their door, or worse, spin the deadbolt and let the door slam on it? Inconsiderate. I'm venting, sorry. Otherwise, great stay, great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a wing where there are not many guest already staying. The hallway noise is noticeable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Always nice, always clean, staff is friendly, and helpful. Pool room seemed very small. "Dining Area" was quite accomodating, when we came in with a PIZZA PARTY! I would recommend this place any day or night of the week.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelteam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Danville hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Danville
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Danville
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Regency Inn
BEST WESTERN Regency Inn
#5 of 11 in Danville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Danville
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 11 in Danville
2.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Danville
Super 8 Danville
#6 of 11 in Danville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Danville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Danville

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Danville
Address: 310 Eastgate Dr, Danville, IL 61834-9370
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Danville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Danville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Danville offers 72 interior corridor guest rooms, 24 suites with a 27' TV, electronic locks, two line phones with data port, indoor pool with hot tub, exercise room, meeting room, business center and convenience mart. Whirlpool Suites are also available. All guest rooms feature: micro-fridge, iron, ironing board, and coffeemaker. Welcome to the newest hotel in Danville. Let us be your home away from home. Easy Access of Interstate 74. Minutes away from some of the best restaurants in the Midwest. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Danville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Danville
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Danville Hotel Danville
Holiday Inn Danville
Danville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Danville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing