We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't judge by the reviews” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 DeKalb IL

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Super 8 DeKalb IL
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in DeKalb
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't judge by the reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Very good motel to stay. It was right next to the exit and the beds were very comfortable to sleep and watch tv in. The motel was also clean and looked up to date, looked like it was recently painted due to the new paint smell. I was on my way to NIU for the wrestling tournament and wanted to find a quick spot to stay. I really enjoyed the pool here and the breakfast was also just as enjoyable. The staff was also helpful during our stay. I really to recommend that you stay here and try it out. As the title states, the motel was nothing like the other reviews and the overall rating.

Room Tip: Try the whirlpool suite, its nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speedystay8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    43
    60
    34
    30
See reviews for
108
29
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
180 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

A friend of mine and I were driving to Dubuque, Iowa, for a weekend excursion. On our way there, we stayed overnight at this Super 8 in DeKalb. It was in a good location off I-88 and was fairly reasonably priced.

We arrived around 10 p.m. and had a smooth check-in. Our room on the second floor was comfortable and fairly clean for the most part. The bed was comfortable enough, but I kinda had a feeling that the bed sheets might not have been changed before we arrived. (I thought I noticed some other person's hair on the sheets. Some people might be really freaked out by that, but I didn't care too much. I was just too tired and fell asleep shortly after the lights were out and I closed my eyes.)

Everything seemed to work okay in the room, but for some reason, one of the lamps had been unplugged before we arrived. The bathroom was okay (pretty small, but the sink is out in the open). When I took a shower, the water in the tub didn't drain very well.

The hotel also has a small pool (no hot tub) and a continental breakfast with cereal, waffles (not the make-your-own Belgian kind though), donuts, and juice. Not too bad, but we decided to grab fast-food breakfast on our way out of DeKalb because we wanted hot eggs and meat. The check-out process was quick and easy.

In general, we didn't have any major problems at this facility. It was definitely average. I wouldn't mind staying here again if this is all that's available (and the price is right), but guests should not expect anything fancy at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank New_friends_GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

My niece had a competition at NIU so we wanted to stay somewhere close and affordable. The pool was definitely the best part of the stay, and honestly the reason we booked it in the first place. The kids loved the pool. It is small but well maintained. The rooms definitely need to be updated. The beds were like sleeping on boards and the pillows were the worst I've ever slept on. It was almost like not having one at all! I agree with the other reviews that they need to have more than one staff member working and the breakfast was definitely lacking. For the pool, however, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crystab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkston
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

The hotel desperately needs to be updated and cleaned. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was a joke. Need to have more than one person running the place. To pricey for what you got.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these DeKalb hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near DeKalb
1.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn - DeKalb (Near the University)
5.2 mi away
Motel 6 Sycamore
Motel 6 Sycamore
#4 of 4 in Sycamore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sycamore
15.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Rochelle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
13.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rochelle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 DeKalb IL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 DeKalb IL

Property: Super 8 DeKalb IL
Address: 800 W Fairview Dr, I-88, exit 91 (Annie Glidden Rd/ NIU exit), DeKalb, IL 60115-8770
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > DeKalb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in DeKalb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 DeKalb IL 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 Dekalb IL hotel is located off the Annie Glidden Exit of Interstate 88, next to River Height Golf Course and minutes from downtown Dekalb. Northern Illinois University is less than two miles away. Rely on our Smoke-free hotel to provide convenient amenities. Our comfortable rooms come with coffee maker, refrigerator, microwabes, iron/Ironing boards, High speed free Wi-Fi and access to guest laundry facilities. We offer free parking for your large truck, bus or RV. If you need to unwind from a busy day of travel, take a swim in the indoor pool or book one of our spa suites. Wake up refreshed in the morning and enjoy free 8-item SuperStart breakfast bonanza with Hot fresh Waffle maker. Pets are welcome, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our Super 8 Dekalb, IL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 DeKalb IL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 De Kalb
Super Eight De Kalb
De Kalb Super 8
De Kalb Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing