We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn - DeKalb (Near the University)
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in DeKalb
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is an excellent hotel to stay for business or a visit to the University. Clean accommodations, friendly staff. It is a short drive to campus. It is a very good lodging choice for DeKalb, Illinois.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a new Hampton Inn and it was great. It had a nice breakfast area and lobby. The room was comfortable and clean. I would stay there again on a return trip and would recommend it to others. It was easy access from the highway.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Heidij111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Hotel is nearly new. It will be interesting to see if quality can be maintained as the facility ages and management changes. The complimentary breakfast is better than some, but the use of "healthy alternatives" such as turkey sausage is not a universal appeal to many travelers. I would also suggest a more varied selection of fruits and breads for the breakfast menu.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Pool was tooooo cold to enjoy for being an indoor pool. They only have feather pillows and only 3 per bed. The ice machine in the hallway is making ice all night long. Dont stay in room 214. This room is by the elevators and you can hear the noice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed at the Hampton Inn in DeKalb for business in April and absolutely enjoyed my stay. The service was great, the room was beautiful, strong wifi and great friendly staff. One of the staff members really stood out for me. Her name was Veronika. She greeted me so kindly everyday, made conversation with me like we had been lifelong friends, answered every question and made my stay enjoyable. More front desk staff should have her qualities. OverAll, the hotel stay was great and i WILL be back!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelman754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Hampton Inn hotels always provide excellent service. Quick easy check in. Room was clean and air unit worked great. The hotel let me check out late due to meeting time. Breakfast was very good western omelets and plenty of choices of cereal, pastries and yogurts.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank 214ralphc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

A coworker recommended that I stay here for some meetings in nearby Rochelle. The hotel is fairly new so the rooms were very clean and tidy. The front desk both days were great. Very friendly and helpful. The room has a refrigerator and microwave. There is a pantry store by the front desk and the prices weren't out of line. Great experience...

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank rdavidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near DeKalb
5.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sycamore
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb
1.2 mi away
Super 8 DeKalb IL
Super 8 DeKalb IL
#2 of 5 in DeKalb
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Quality Inn Sycamore
Quality Inn Sycamore
#3 of 4 in Sycamore
55 reviews
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rochelle
22.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago / Aurora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn - DeKalb (Near the University)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - DeKalb (Near the University)

Address: 663 S Annie Glidden Rd, DeKalb, IL 60115-5839
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > DeKalb
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in DeKalb
Price Range: £82 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn - DeKalb (Near the University) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Hampton Inn DeKalb, IL is located near Northern Illinois University with easy access to I-88 and Highway 38 (Lincoln Highway). Guests enjoy free hot breakfast daily, free WiFi, indoor swimming pool, business center, suite shop, fitness center, guest laundry, meeting space, and more great amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn - DeKalb (Near the University) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing