We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm, quiet and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Ranked #1 of 2 Pilsley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charm, quiet and good food”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed here as part of a road trip through Central England and a trip to see Chatsworth. The rooms have all been recently redone and ours was among the nicest we stayed in out of 8 hotels in a 3 week trip. The bed was incredible and the washroom was equally beautiful. Thursday night was steak for two and a bottle of wine for 25 pounds, which made the whole stay that much nicer.

Room Tip: Burchills is large with a fantastic bathroom & bed. View is incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pnikikw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chefpatron, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Thank you so much for your super review and your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and took pleasure in everything we had to offer. Hope to see you again in the near future Kind Regards. Alan Hill, (Chef Patron)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    125
    42
    10
    5
See reviews for
50
307
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

The pub was lovely and the room was very nice too. The evening meal didn't live up to expectations unfortunately, but this place is still worth a visit. Jake's a superstar and does an excellent job.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliBLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHotels, Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Thank you for your recent visit and subsequent review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I have passed your comments on to Jake who is thrilled to have made such a good impression!

Kind regards,
Alan Hill, Chef Patron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2011

An excellent base for our trips to Chatsworth and to the Yorkshire Sculpture Park.
The room was on the small side but well equipped.

Hospitable and friendly staff, good pub food. Breakfasts impressive.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mminhove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHotels, Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, 10 June 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards, Alan Hill (Chef Patron)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

A really homely comfortable inn that has been brilliantly modernised. We had a double room overlooking the pretty village. Room pristine and bright and bed extremely comfortable with large bathroom with bath and shower over it and lovely toiletries. Location excellent with good walks and Chatsworth on the doorstep

Christine the manageress is a real asset to the Devonshire hotel group and single handedly was checking guests in, serving behind the bar and taking food orders and was rushed off her feet but kept smiling at all times and again at breakfast she was there taking breakfast orders and checking people out - so a big thank you to her for such an excellent welcome and good service.

Food in the evening was really good with an excellent selection and huge portions and a roast on the menu each day and wine is really reasonably priced. Breakfast also excellent and sets you up for the day. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsMarple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chefpatron, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Thanks for your great comments I will pass them onto the team especially Christine!hope to see you again in the near future Kind Regards Alan.(Chef Patron)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorks
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We had dinner at The Devonshire Arms Pilsley at the end of a day out.
From the outside the Inn looks like any other small village pub but inside its most certainly not. The restaurant is well furnished in contemporary style with a good wine and beer selection. Local ales take centre stage. I had the house white and it went down VERY well.
I opted for Corned Beef Hash with eggs. I couldn't decide whether to have it as a starter or a main. In the end I opted for the main but it was a huge portion. The beef was succulent and with a pleasant aniseedy taste hiding in the background. Forget the Fray Bentos corned beef, this was the real deal. Next time I will definitely have the starter size portion! My partner had the mixed grill and it was glorious. All the meat was locally sourced and cooked to perfection. The menu has a good selection with a specials board for extra treats.
All the staff were polite helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They are a great advert for the restaurant. From the moment we walked through the door they welcomed us and made us feel at home.
Just have to save up to stay over in the hotel part.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callisto1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chefpatron, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Great to see you enjoyed the Corned Beef Hash and the Mixed grill with us i will pass your comments onto the kitchen team.Hope to see you again soon maybe even for that overnight stay!
Kind Regards
Alan(Chef Patron).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We only stayed for 1 night on a DB&B basis including two tickets for visiting Chatsworth House and a bottle of champagne (Laurent Perrier !!). We had been made aware that the room we would occupy (Dunsa) was a small double but it had everything we required, was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Our evening meal was 1st Class...well cooked and presented. Breakfast the following morning was a 'Full Englsh' at its best !! We are definitely going to recommend this Inn to two sets of friends.....and to anyone reading this don't wait for an excuse ...just go !! Real value for money...a delightful stay made all the more by the friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyBordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chefpatron, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Thank you so much for your great review . We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and took pleasure in everything we had to offer.Hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Alan(Chef Patron)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We visited the pub for sunday lunch for a family birthday, the food was presented with care and tasted great. The menu has something for everyone.
There was no rush to vacate our table, it's a place to relax and enjoy the food and drink .
We will return and plan to stay a night or two.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnetic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHotels, Chef Patron at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
Thank you so much for your comments and lovely words. We are so fortunate to be located in such a picturesque setting at Pilsley. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.
Alan Hill, Chef Patron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilsley
2.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
383 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
14.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.5 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Arms at Pilsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Arms at Pilsley

Property: Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Address: Chatsworth Estate High Street | Baslow, Pilsley, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1UL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Pilsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pilsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire Arms at Pilsley 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley is located on the Chatsworth Estate, which is owned by the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire. It is the nearest property to Chatsworth House, being only a 20-minute walk away. The property has free WiFi in all areas and free on-site parking. Each of the 13 individually designed bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom. Some rooms offer a four-poster bed. Rooms are situated either in the main inn or the converted adjoining farmhouse. Devonshire Arms at Pilsley has an inviting and relaxing bar serving a selection of locally brewed ales, and wines from around the world. The restaurant serves produce that is locally sourced from the Chatsworth Estate. This dog-friendly accommodation is 10.2 miles from Chesterfield and 14.4 miles from Buxton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Devonshire Arms at Pilsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Arms Pilsley Hotel Derby
Devonshire Arms At Pilsley Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing