We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Ranked #1 of 2 Pilsley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We travelled for a special birthday for a one night stay in the Peak District and were not disappointed! The rooms were very clean, with modern and perfectly designed en suites of a good size. The outside of the hotel does not at all do justice for the lovely bar and rooms within. A comfy bed for a good night's sleep. Had a fantastic tasty meal in the pub - the posh corned beef hache was a must! The landlady even treated my partner to a pint on the house as it was his birthday! Great location, dangerously near to the Chatsworth farm shop (!) and great for walking too. A lovely place!!
PS the full English breakfast was tailored just as I liked it, and was one of the best ever!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Em1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
There are newer reviews for Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

We found that this inn at one of the Chatsworth Estate villages offered excellent accommodation, food and beverages. Staff were friendly and attentive, rooms were clean and food portions more than adequate and well cooked. A good basic traditional inn type menu was available with a variety of choice and each meal was a pleasure. The village is quiet and uncluttered and as such a good night's rest is assured.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarneyNorthWestUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Our third stay at the Devonshire Arms and once again a very enjoyable one.
We waited a short time to check-in because the lady who seemed to be in charge was giving her attention to someone else (busy), however when we did have her full attention she was everything a good front-of-house manager should be, attentive, warm, friendly & very helpful, thank you Tracy!
We stayed for one night in Dunsa, the smallest of the rooms available, whilst this was suitable for our one night stay I wouldn't recommend it for longer stays that would obviously involve more luggage as space could/would be an issue.
We ate dinner & whilst I agree that the menu is limited & could be deemed as basic it is much more important surely that the food is cooked fresh, well & tastes good, obviously this can involve a waiting time.
The days of large menus with food 'cooked' in plastic bags is largely a thing of the past thankfully & something you won't suffer at this establishment.
I think the Devonshire knows it's market & caters well for short-stay visits!
Continuing with the food revue I think you'd have to search hard to find a better breakfast, I'm a big bloke with a healthy appetite & I couldn't find room for dinner after that breakfast.
The staff were ALL very friendly & attentive so thanks to them for making it another enjoyable stay.

Stayed Wednesday 07/08/13 & will be back!

Room Tip: Take advantage of the 'charming Chatsworth' deal, on the small room price two tickets for th...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flip351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Accommodation was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and decorated to a high standard with some lovely touches.The staff were so friendly and accommodating - nothing was too much for them. The food was excellent and the apple pie was to die for. The hotel is situated in a quiet village and a lovely place to return to after a full day's sight-seeing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Spent a great 2 days in this lovely country pub. The staff were excellent and did everything they could to make it a great weekend, we had planned for a day walking and asked if they could do a packed lunch, they did not do this normally but chef organise lunch for 6 which was very welcome during our long walk. Although the bedroom was beautiful and had a fantastic comfy bed we did find there was no room to unpack, there was a small dressing table but the draws were not big enough to use. The only downside was the food although what we had was very nice it was very basic pub food, fish and chips, gammon, scamp and unless you liked fish there was very little on the specials boards, the chips were not even home made. The breakfast however was very tastey. All in all a great weekend and would definitely stay again but maybe eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoequeen346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

A lovely hotel where lots of attention given to detail and nice touches such as a cafetiere and real coffee in your room.Room well furnished with a comfy bed and well appointed bathroom.Very helpful and friendly staff . I'm a vegetarian and because Sunday evening the menu is more restricted than usual they prepared me a delicious veggie meal. Good breakfast with plenty of choice and everything top quality- the best marmalade I've every tasted!
In a great popsition on the Chatsworth Eastate in the same village as the farm shop so easy to buy lovely lunch food if you're out for the day.Pleasant walk to Chatsworth House.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris5Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at the Devonshire Arms as we had been so impressed with the sister hotel at Bolton Abbey, and had been considering this as a venue for my husband's 40th birthday later in the year. We stayed on a Sunday night on a dinner bed and breakfast deal. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly local who recommended the food, which was a good start! Check in was OK, shown to our room which was small but beautifully decorated and fine attention to detail. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was very elegant with power shower and massive mirror which made it feel much bigger. One nice touch (which I don't usually bother with) was 2 complimentary toiletries - shower gel and shampoo, which were actually very nice and I actually used them! No unnecessary / cheap toiletries which makes a refreshing change.
We went down for dinner, chose our meals after much deliberation, and were looking forward to the specials - steak and ale pie and another dish (can't remember now what it was!), only to be told that they had run out. This was a bit disappointing, as we'd come a long way specifically to try the food and there weren't many options left on the menu. However, we chose steak and gammon and chips. The food was freshly prepared and was nice but not outstanding for the price. Also the pub was very quiet, no background music, but they did have excellent ales at the bar. I suppose for a Sunday night, it is going to be a bit quiet.
I can't recommend the breakfast highly enough - it was delicious! Lovely local bacon, delicious sausage, perfectly poached egg - every last bit was finished! Possibly the best we've ever had.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilsley
2.2 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
2.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
394 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
14.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.5 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Arms at Pilsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Arms at Pilsley

Address: Chatsworth Estate High Street | Baslow, Pilsley, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1UL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Pilsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pilsley
Price Range: £111 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire Arms at Pilsley 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley is located on the Chatsworth Estate, which is owned by the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire. It is the nearest property to Chatsworth House, being only a 20-minute walk away. The property has free WiFi in all areas and free on-site parking. Each of the 13 individually designed bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom. Some rooms offer a four-poster bed. Rooms are situated either in the main inn or the converted adjoining farmhouse. Devonshire Arms at Pilsley has an inviting and relaxing bar serving a selection of locally brewed ales, and wines from around the world. The restaurant serves produce that is locally sourced from the Chatsworth Estate. This dog-friendly accommodation is 10.2 miles from Chesterfield and 14.4 miles from Buxton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Devonshire Arms at Pilsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Arms Pilsley Hotel Derby
Devonshire Arms At Pilsley Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing