We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Nearby Hotels
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel(South Normanton)(Great Value!)
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Derbyshire Derby(South Normanton)
US$95
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Alfreton(Alfreton)(Great Value!)
US$59
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Mansfield Hotel(Sutton in Ashfield)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Portland Hotel(Chesterfield)(Great Value!)
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Twin Oaks Hotel(Palterton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (522)
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveller rating
320
139
46
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
320
139
46
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe chatsworth farm shopdevonshire armsthe pubfour poster bedhill topbiscuitsvisiting chatsworth housesalmonlovely roomspecials boardboth nightssteakevening meallarge bathroomone night staysunday roastchatsworth gold
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
405 - 410 of 522 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed a couple of nights, altogether 2 rooms and 2 evening meals also. Quality of rooms very good, just as you would want, contemporary with great bathrooms. Very handy for visiting Chatsworth. We met up with family and old friends and because of this opted to eat in both nights. The girl behind the bar was a real personality which saved an otherwise average experience. The style of the pub/ inn has obviously changed and not necessarily for the better with the refurb of the business, it is a little lacking in atmosphere and same goes for the food which is over priced in my opinion. Breakfast today was slow, perhaps a Monday is short on staff?

However we did have a good time overall. One last point Wi-Fi not accessible everywhere, definitely not in 'Redway' and there really shouldn't be an excuse for this nowadays.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We spent last night at the Devonshire Arms and had a wonderful stay. The hotel is cosy, exceptionally clean and extremely welcoming. The front of house staff (Chris and Janette) were very friendly, helpful and organised. Both our evening meal and breakfast were fantastic, great value and very tasty. Then we walked down into Chatsworth to see the beautiful decorations. Perfect trip would definitely recommend/

Room Tip: Hanley Bottom just perfect.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have just spent two nights at the Devonshire Arms and had a wonderful stay. Our room, although not large, was luxuriously furnished with a very large bathroom and everything that we could possibly want, including a cafetière and great coffee. The bed was beautifully comfortable and, with the complete quiet in the village, we slept extremely well. Breakfast was one of the best that we have had in a pub or hotel, the autumn fruit compote, combined with great yoghurt was one highlight, and the full cooked breakfast is enormous.
The hotel is extremely well managed and the staff are friendly and very helpful.
Booking directly with the hotel is easy and there is plenty of information on each of the rooms to help with the choice. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellers-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed here as we were visiting Chatsworth and found it very cosy, the place is a popular pub for the small village so got a very locals local feel, but clean room and it looked like they had recently refurbished them as they had a very modern boutique feel to them and looked like there was no expense spared in the room we stayed in. Friendly service and OK food in the evenings but found the breakfast much better. It is about a 25 - 30minuet walk to Chatsworth half the walk is along a pavement of a very busy country road the other half is through the fields leading up to the Chatsworth estate so very scenic. I would recommend this place for an overnight stay but no more than two nights.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Visited the Dev last night with friends after a wander around the WONDERFUL Chatsworth Christmas House (dont miss it). The staff were friendly and efficient and we had food from the Seven at 7 Menu. There was plenty to eat for all of us and the Derbyshire Sausage were fab accompanied by very buttery mash and very tasty Onion Gravy. The staff were happy to chat although they were busy but all was delivered efficiently, in good time and with a friendly smile. Call in for something to eat after your visit to the House and make sure you leave time to visit the Farm Shop which is open until 6pm, and your day will be will be complete.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanMarriott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews