We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Ranked #1 of 2 Pilsley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We took advantage of a £70 for two b&b deal and of course, stayed for dinner.

The last time we were here it was an old, shabby pub with a great carvery but the transformation is amazing! Very tasteful decor and super friendly staff. We stayed in the Bramley room overlooking the front. Quite a small double and wouldn't want to stay for more than one night but very comfortable, warm and cosy. The bed very comfortable. We liked the fresh brownies in the room and there was lots of tea and coffee - sometimes hotels skimp on these. The bathroom is lovely and quite large- not far off the same size as the bedroom. We chose this room because it has a bath with shower over, just the job when you've been out for a strenuous walk - a lovely hot bath with Temple Spa amenities.

Dinner is very good pub food. I had the chicken liver late and the beef hash which was delicious - unusual to have 5 spice in it. Poached egg on the top which wasn't soft (my only gripe) as there's nothing nicer than breaking an egg over a plate of hash!

Hubby had the baked pepper filled with risotto followed by the cheeseburger with two pints of Thornbridge Jaipur which is made just down the road in Bakewell.

Very quiet village so no noise at night, breakfast was exceptionally good, one of the best cooked breakfasts we've had out for a while. Particular mention goes to the sausage which is from the Chatsworth Farm Shop over the road and phew - two lovely soft and funny poached eggs!

Will go again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JaynePiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    119
    41
    9
    4
See reviews for
47
294
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had always kept meaning to pop in to here for a Sunday lunch after being out walking as we buy a lot of food from the Chatsworth Estate farm shop just up the road who I understand supply a lot of the food for the menu. We both plumped for the roast beef dinner, which I'm pretty sure was a salmon cut of beef due to the total lack of any fat or gristle on every slice of beef that we had. The puddings were equally delicious and clearly all home made. Pilsley is a very pretty village and the pub is the same and the service very friendly.
In terms of price it was around £15 for a main course which is a little more than a lot of the other pubs in the area but absolutely worth every penny for the quality of the food.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danpne69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed for one night in Birchills. Always good to be greeted in the room with a bit of homemade cake. I thought the decor was really well done, whole look was put together very well. We were traveling with our baby and the staff had set up the cot and were really helpful where he was concerned.

We had dinner in the bar, which was fine. Service on the whole was very good and atmosphere in the bar very pleasant. Its a nice place.

Breakfast was very good and wide choice.

Happy to recommend. Lovely place

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hodgy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

westayed3 nights Jan'14. room well appointed and well cared for. food first class not 'pub grub' much better standard. all staff most welcoming and friendly nothing too much trouble. no hesitation in returning and would recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed for one night in January in a standard room. The room was very comfortable and both dinner and breakfast were '5 star' pub grub. Staff are very friendly
Real ales are on tap and the wine list is very competitively priced.
Well worth a visit and only a short drive from Chatsworth.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

This is a very friendly and welcoming pub/restaurant/hotel. All the staff are great and cannot do too much for you. The rooms are very well equipped and nicely decorated - the bathroom was superb. The food was very good, more pub grub than haute cuisine (not a criticism). I would certainly recomend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

My party of 4 received a warm and friendly welcome the service and food were very good. I would like to thank the Bar Staff for their quick and helpful attention they gave when my wife was fainted they showed real concern. My wife fully recovered later, thanks again to them.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMY_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilsley
2.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
3.5 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
6.5 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Arms at Pilsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Arms at Pilsley

Property: Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Address: Chatsworth Estate High Street | Baslow, Pilsley, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1UL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Pilsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pilsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire Arms at Pilsley 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley is located on the Chatsworth Estate, which is owned by the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire. It is the nearest property to Chatsworth House, being only a 20-minute walk away. The property has free WiFi in all areas and free on-site parking. Each of the 13 individually designed bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom. Some rooms offer a four-poster bed. Rooms are situated either in the main inn or the converted adjoining farmhouse. Devonshire Arms at Pilsley has an inviting and relaxing bar serving a selection of locally brewed ales, and wines from around the world. The restaurant serves produce that is locally sourced from the Chatsworth Estate. This dog-friendly accommodation is 10.2 miles from Chesterfield and 14.4 miles from Buxton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Devonshire Arms at Pilsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Arms Pilsley Hotel Derby
Devonshire Arms At Pilsley Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing