We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal in pub/restaurant - wish we had been staying there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Ranked #1 of 2 Pilsley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had a meal in the Devonshire Arms in Pilsley. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal, the pleasant ambiance and friendly staff. It is located in a lovely village in a great location for visiting lots of places in the area. We wish we had been staying there on our visit to Derbyshire - it felt really special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ScottieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your review, I am thrilled that you enjoyed your food & your service was good too. Keep your eye on our website as new things are on the way & it would be lovely next time to have you stay with us.
Kind regards
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

Having booked a B&B deal to include entrance to Chatsworth, we enjoyed a very pleasant 2 night stay. Our room was a small/cosy double at the front and was clean, very comfortable and well kitted-out with shampoos, dryer, good towels, etc. In fact the only downside was being woken early by recycling and rubbish collections, - something beyond the control of the hotel. The dinner menu was small (usually a good sign), freshly cooked and good quality; the wine list again small but with a sufficient selection at reasonable prices; the breakfasts were also excellent (certainly no complaints about quantities!); and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Unlike an earlier reviewer we had no problems with the Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: Apart from the early morning re-cycling collections, the location is very quiet, but rooms at the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on giving a warm & friendly welcome & service, Sorry about the bin lorry, but as you said out of our control.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

From the moment we arrived we received such a warm welcome from the lovely staff, the food was excellent not only at breakfast but at the bar restaurant too. The rooms were clean and so comfortable, tastefully modern in style and decor, together with the superb position to explore both on foot and by vehicle made for a lovely visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizseymour25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, & we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just completed another stay at the Devonshire Arms. The setting is wonderful, a lovely little village, really close to Chatsworth and the Chatsworth Farm shop both of which are must visits. We have stayed in most of the Devonshire Hotels and they all offer the same high standards and value for money but our favorite is Pilsley where the staff go out of the way to make you feel really welcome. Chef Paul and Assistant manager Tracey, assisted by Jeanette, Scott, John and Jess and Nicky all make sure that you have a fabulous stay. We have no hesitation in recommending the Devonshire Arms at Pilsey for a very friendly environment with lovely rooms kept beautifully by the housekeeping staff.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. I know Tracy was really looking forward to your visit & I am thrilled that all the staff that were on duty through out your stay helped make it a pleasurable one.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is simply a wonderful find! The Devonshire arms is an exquisite little pub/restaurant & B&B in the beautiful hamlet of Pilsley, set within the undulating hills of the breathtaking derbyshire countryside. The staff were very warm & welcoming & were always on hand to answer any queries.
We were put in The Birchells room, which was very large & exquisitely decorated. Little touches like the freshly ground coffee & chocolate flapjacks laid out for us upon our arrival was a lovely surprise.
We ate supper there & the food was of a very high standard. The lamb shank is a must, cooked to perfection. This was followed by a wonderful rhubarb crumble & custard which my husband & l shared as the portions were incredibly generous. This place was well worth the distance we had to travel to get there & we will be returning!

Room Tip: The Birchells room is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hek45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your fabulous review, it was a real pleasure having you stay with us & we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed for three nights. Lovely room and great bathroom. Very friendly and helpful staff, especially Tracey and John (from Portugal). Food was excellent and plentiful. Do try the lamb shank if it is on the specials board!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Judith1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. I will make sure I pass them on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Located in the village of Pilsley and with the Chatsworth Farm shop literally just over the main road, the Devonshire Arms is a really cosy and friendly pub with the accommodation upstairs.

We had the Birchills room, one of the large doubles, and it didn't disappoint, with a gorgeous comfortable bed, nice chairs, large wardrobe and a really well appointed bathroom. The decor was very well done too. The small flapjack cakes in the jar was a nice touch, and a proper cafitiere along with some ground coffee for it was also really appreciated, much better than most hotels giving you sachets of Nescafé. We also had a window view overlooking the village of Pilsley itself.

All the staff were warm and friendly and this added to the feeling of being away from it all even more so. We had dinner there in the evening and the meals were both plentiful, filling and with locally sourced produce. The steak and ale pie on the specials board I had was simply wonderful, big chunks of pulled steak and a massive portion of a proper pie (no dishes with pastry lids here folks).

The breakfast in the morning was also really nice: two sausages, two rashers of bacon, eggs as you liked it, black pudding and so on, along with some nice doorstop bread for the toast too, all really well done and with juice, cereal and so on.

We both felt that the room was beautiful and it really showed a lot of love, care and attention had gone into it, and with the staff being lovely it just made our stay just that bit more welcoming. I'd happily stay here again or just pop into the pub and sample the rather nice Peak Ales on cask (tried all three they had on, all good) or have a meal as the food was a really high standard.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zawtowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilsley
2.2 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
2.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
429 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Peacock at Rowsley
The Peacock at Rowsley
#1 of 2 in Rowsley
510 reviews
9.9 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Arms at Pilsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Arms at Pilsley

Address: Chatsworth Estate High Street | Baslow, Pilsley, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1UL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Pilsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pilsley
Price Range: £120 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire Arms at Pilsley 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley is located on the Chatsworth Estate, which is owned by the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire. It is the nearest property to Chatsworth House, being only a 20-minute walk away. The property has free WiFi in all areas and free on-site parking. Each of the 13 individually designed bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom. Some rooms offer a four-poster bed. Rooms are situated either in the main inn or the converted adjoining farmhouse. Devonshire Arms at Pilsley has an inviting and relaxing bar serving a selection of locally brewed ales, and wines from around the world. The restaurant serves produce that is locally sourced from the Chatsworth Estate. This dog-friendly accommodation is 10.2 miles from Chesterfield and 14.4 miles from Buxton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Devonshire Arms at Pilsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Arms Pilsley Hotel Derby
Devonshire Arms At Pilsley Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing