We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Nearby Hotels
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Twin Oaks Hotel(Palterton)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derbyshire Hotel(South Normanton)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Alfreton(Alfreton)(Great Value!)
US$55
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Mansfield Hotel(Sutton in Ashfield)
US$58
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$51
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Portland Hotel(Chesterfield)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Peak Edge Hotel(Stonedge)
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveller rating
321
144
48
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
321
144
48
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe chatsworth farm shopdevonshire armsthe pubfour poster bedhill topbiscuitsvisiting chatsworth housesalmonlovely roomspecials boardboth nightssteakevening meallarge bathroomone night staysunday roastchatsworth gold
Filter
Updating list...
389 - 394 of 530 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A really comfortable stay. We arrived early evening and had a couple of drinks outside in the sunshine, then checked into a lovely room ("Handley Bottom"). Managed to peak into a few other rooms as they were being cleaned the following morning and all the rooms and public areas are very nicely decorated and furnished. We had an excellent "gastropub" meal in the restaurant, and after a walk around the incredibly peaceful village enjoyed a nightcap in the bar. Breakfast the next day was the "full Derbyshire" promised, all fresh produce and nicely cooked. Can't fault this little hotel for quality or value, and look forward to seeing the new rooms being created out of the cottage next door. Excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warmwaterdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Many thanks for your lovely review. I will make sure that I pass on your comments to all the staff.
It was a pleasure having you stay & we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Have stayed here twice and cannot fault the rooms. On both occasions they have been very clean, well furnished and welcoming. A tiny criticism is the flapjacks- two tiny mouthful- sized pieces left in a jar and replenished daily- and the bottle of water which is labelled 'house water'. Presumably this is tap water because there is a note asking guests not to remove the bottle which is refilled daily. This seems a tiny bit stingy for a £100+ a night room. 4 star hotel chains charging these rates tend to provide free mineral water.

Bedding is nice white cotton, furnishings are well thought out and bathroom has nice fluffy white towels changed daily.

The bar food though is what lets the pub down. There is no attempt to utilise the wonderful fayre available at the farm shop, more of less across the road. So you won't find any fresh fish, meat or game on the menu. You will find the usual fish and chips, scampi, burgers, lots of food with hot spices - curry, salmon kebabs and chicken. The pub appears to be missing a trick here- no one necessarily wants pretentious fine dining, but some simple meals cooked with fresh produce - meat, fish and vegetables- would be very much appreciated as well as more variety.

Maybe it's a staffing problem- getting a good chef to a relatively small pub - but the menu needs an overhaul.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side can hear the fans from the kitchen which are turned off quite early evening but the smells of food and the noise of the staff can drift upstairs.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed the accomerdation, sorry you found our food uninspiring. We are a traditional Inn that supplies food cooked from fresh produce, delivered daily, & we do use the award winning Chatsworth Farm shop.
I hope you will visit us again & enjoy our food.

Regards
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We visited last week for a few days. We were so well looked after by the friendly staff. We stayed in Redway which is a larger bedroom. The room was lovely and so well furnished and equipped. We used the restaurant each evening and the food was superb. A good base from which to visit Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and the Peak steam railway. Thank you for the lovely welcome we hope to be back very soon.

Room Tip: Choose a larger double
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was a real pleasure having you stay with us,
We are thrilled that you enjoyed every aspect & we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Many thanks for accommodating our group of 11 girls for the Chatsworth Weekend. Your help and advice beforehand was much appreciated, and being within walking distance of the event was an added bonus The staff were very helpful and nothing too much trouble. Trying to book again for next year so fingers crossed, see you all again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you so much for you lovely review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.
Our team are very happy to help in any way required. We look forward to seeing you again next year & don't forget we have 6 more rooms coming online very soon.

Regards to you all

Helen :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We visited over the bank holiday. We often visit the village and the wonderful Penrose Interiors Shop. This was our first visit and to be honest had neve been in before as from the outside it looked quaint but a bit old fashioned. How wrong this view was. We arrived late afternoon so had a drink - the welcome was wonderful, the interior was contemporary and we looked at the menu which looked superb. We will visit for a full meal next.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank HeafR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you for food when you next visit the village.
Regards
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews