We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely pub great location but......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Ranked #1 of 2 Pilsley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely pub great location but......”
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We have just come back from Derby and spent one night at the Devonshire Arms Pilsley. Lovely location within walking distance to Chatsworth House, and the Pub has just recently been tastefully renovated and looked lovely. We were given a very warm welcome and shown to our room. The room is called Dunsa, and unfortunately very small. We are well travelled and to be quite honest with you, we have never stayed in such a small room before! We had the worst nights sleep because the room was stuffy, but also, there was a plastic matress protector on the bed and a heavy duvet, which made us incredibly hot and very uncomfortable. We were quoted £99 for the room but discovered in the Devonshire Arms fliers all over the hotel, that they were offering 45% discount on rooms during January! When we queried this with the Mangeress she said we hadn't been offered this because we had booked through central reservations!
The food and wine were lovely and the beer was in fine feckle however the room and breakfast were certainly not worth £99.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redders54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHotels, Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Thank you for your recent visit to The Devonshire Arms at Pilsley and for taking the time to write a review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our location, food and wine, and that you like the style of the inn. However, I was disappointed to read that your bedroom was not to your liking. I am aware that you have spoken to our reservations department about your room rate and I am pleased that they explained to you that our offers are subject to availability and Friday and Saturday nights are sometimes not eligible for discount. I am sorry that this was not made clear when you were at the inn.
Kind Regards
Alan (Chef Patron)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    122
    42
    10
    5
See reviews for
48
305
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

We stayed here last week as we visted Chatsworth House for a Christmas evening opening. The Hotel is a perfect place to stay. Covered in snow it is picture postcard pretty and inside the warmest welcome and stylish interior just made us glad that we were in England in the snow in December. The rooms are beautifully decorated in soft colours and the standard to which they have been renovated very high. We ate in the pub after our evening at Chatsworth and the food and wine were both reasonably priced and we all were very impressed with the value for money. The bar is cosy with log fires and the breakfast was excellent. I would highly recommend this gorgeous litle pub to anyone wishing to visit Chatsworth House.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hildamay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chefpatron, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, 22 December 2010
Great to hear you had a fantastic stay with us I will pass your comments on to the team,hope to see you again in the near future!Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
Alan (Chef Patron)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Where better to stay ahead of a morning visit to Chatsworth than the village pub in the estate village of Pilsley? The pub-with-rooms was all I had anticipated after viewing its excellent website - and more besides. My room (Bramley) was sumptuously furnished with the very best of everything and had a bathroom to die for. OK, it wasn't over large but it was perfectly adequate for my needs, and there was certainly 'room to swing a cat' (not that I was even tempted to try). Food and food service is simply fantastic. The biggest problem I had during my stay was trying to decide what to have for supper as the menu choice was mouthwatering. It is perhaps important to bear in mind that this is very much a village pub with rooms rather than a full-blown hotel with restaurant. That said, preferential service for overnighters is offered when food is ordered at the bar. My only gripe (and its a minor one) would be that wifi is not currently available for guests but I understood that that's already 'in hand' for future guests.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank x333xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chefpatron, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
Thanks for your fantastic comments hope to see you again soon in the near future or maybe even at Christmas!
Kind Regards
Alan.(Chef patron)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We stayed in "Bramley" for 3 nights taking a long weekend break. The Devonshire Arms markets itself as a "pub with rooms" and if this is what you are expecting with the touch of Devonshire class you will not be disappointed. Our room was not huge - what do you expect in an old pub? - but definitely big enough for our stay with a large and well decorated bathroom with good quality towels and toiletry and a great shower. The bed was extremely comfy and the bedding of very good quality.

On the first night my wife's train didn't arrive from London until 21:08 so Lee managed to get us into dinner at "The Devonshire Arms, Beeley" which finished serving at 21:30 wheras Pilsley finished at 21:00. The restaurant was empty when we got there but they were expecting us and provided great service and food, despite us being their last guests of the evening. The food at Beeley was really enjoyable and a step up from Pilsley. The lamb cutlets in a cumin crust were delightful and I'd put this on an excellent brasserie level, at least the same level as the brasserie at Bolton Abbey. In terms of cost it was probably twice that of Pilsley for food and worth it for the culinary quality.

Let that not detract from the Pilsley food. Firstly, breakfast was absolutely great, I had the cooked breakfast for three days and it was perfectly prepared with excellent ingredients, good quality sausages and fantastic bacon. I think all produce came from the Chatsworth Farm shop and we purchased their bacon and sausages based on breakfast.

Evening meals - we ate there twice - were at the standard of very good pub food. Beware the steak & kidney pudding. I had no starter, and was completely full after the steak & kidney pudding, it was full of meat and a great meal, but did mean I missed out on pudding!

Remember they are aiming at being a pub providing food, the food is probably half the price of the Beeley and I would happily eat at both, treating the Beeley as a special treat and the Pilsley as a great place for good pub food. It really is a restaurant now, with the bar available for a drink but every table seemed to be used for diners.

I thought the staff were great and Lee couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. It's a new venture and I'd make the most of it. We will definitely be back.

I do have very small gripes but will direct these directly to Lee so as not to detract from a great stay.

Things to do - there is a lovely walk (up to 6 miles) directly from the hotel across fields and tracks to Edensor, past the side of Chatsworth to Baslow and then back up to the pub. Great way to spend a sunny morning.

There were an additional 7 parking spaces available to residents off road just down the way from the pub if you couldn't get a space in the car park attached to the pub.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MycroftAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHotels, at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
Thank you very much for your kind review, both Lee and I are delighted that you had a great time with us. I am also please that you enjoyed the food at our sister property The Devonshire Arms at Beeley. Hopefully we will be welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, Alan Hill (Chef Patron).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2010

just returned from a 2 day break staying at the recently refurbed devonshire arms in pilsley .
A cute looking traditional pub in an estate village but inside it was immaculate. It was still a public house but had all the interior of a modern boutique hotel . The room was lovely with great luxury items such as fluffy towels however even thou a large double room it didn't have a bath ( much needed after a 12 mile walk on sat )
Food was simple but of a high quality ... especially the steak n kidney pudding ... wow
the atmosphere was pleasant but a sad lacking of locals but busy with tourists and people from the local area 'checking out ' the new kid on the block .
It sits beauitfully on the edge of the chatsworth estate so plenty of things to do through the day and the walks are stunning.
The service was excellent including a lovely english breakfast. however only negative is there is no reservation on tables for dinner for residents. So you are faced with fighting with other customers for your table espec at 8 pm.
We are already planning to stay in their sr pub in beeley ina few months , well done

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annienalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHotels, Chef Patron at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
Thank you for your kind comments about our pub. I look forward to welcoming you to our sister property The Devonshire Arms at Beeley in the near future - where every bedroom has a bath! Kind regards, Alan Hill (Chef Patron)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

5 days was only booked for 4 days arrived 12/09/10 1500hrs nowhere to park thought popular so good choice.
Having parked a distance away entered the pub and was horrified by the new fabric and style as we knew the property had been closed for refit. There was a choice of two real ales which for a couple of days went to one. We were shown our room (Dansa should have been Bramley) and very bright and clean with a double bed with two feet of space all around a bedside table and desk with two chairs and the entrance had a tiny fitted wardrobe leading to a shower room, toilet and basin no window.
The view from the room looked up the hill towards the post office which was pleasant.
The evening meal had been the same menu all week and the special was also for the same for the week, to order consisted of writing out a pad left on your table with pencil which when completed you took to the bar!! The table had far too much clutter that it was hard for the placement of the meal.
The breakfast was self select but be first as it ran out and the english was ordered by the waiter, this on the four days we were there was uncooked and unsavory. We made our thoughts known to Lee the manager and the room being unsuitable, bearing in mind we booked a room with a bath and he chose to do nothing. A very kind and sympathetic staff member organised a change of Devonshire Arms at Beeley and we were fortunate to finish our last night there which was wonderful all round otherwise we would have chosen to head back home.
I have attached photos and the reason for not being the most descriptive is the lack of room to get the shot and beware there is no storage space.
Our thanks do go out to Jeanette for being very sociable and helpful during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chefpatron, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, 22 September 2010
Thanks for your comments I was pleased to read that some parts of your stay were enjoyable and sorry to hear about certain others. Unfortunately as with any new business we have had our fair share of teething problems, I apologise that we did not exceed your expectations with your evening meals and also at breakfast ,but glad to hear that you enjoyed your last night at the Devonshire Arms at Beeley.If you decide to give us a second chance please dont hesitate to call me personally to arrange this for you.

Kind Regards
Alan (Chef Patron)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
234 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Stayed here shortly after it opened and had a great stay. We were welcomed by the manager and shown to our room. The rooms are tasteful ,well appointed and full of character, the one we stayed in was large and had a lovely view of the village. The bar/restaurant is a mixture of traditional and contemporary. Food was very good and value for money. It was good to have reasonably priced wines on the wine list too. Tables in the bistro area are rather narrow so it felt a little crowded once the meal was served. Breakfast was very good and prepared to order, catering for those who like a cooked breakfast or a healthy option. Croissants would be a welcome addition to the breakfast menu especially as those in the Chatsworth farm shop looked so appealing ! This is a delightful little place and we would love to return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorelei3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chefpatron, General Manager at Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, responded to this review, 13 September 2010
Thanks for the great comments i will be sure to look into sourcing some croissants from the Chatsworth Farmshop.hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Alan (Chef Patron)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilsley
2.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
3.5 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
6.5 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Arms at Pilsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Arms at Pilsley

Property: Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Address: Chatsworth Estate High Street | Baslow, Pilsley, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1UL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Pilsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pilsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire Arms at Pilsley 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley is located on the Chatsworth Estate, which is owned by the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire. It is the nearest property to Chatsworth House, being only a 20-minute walk away. The property has free WiFi in all areas and free on-site parking. Each of the 13 individually designed bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom. Some rooms offer a four-poster bed. Rooms are situated either in the main inn or the converted adjoining farmhouse. Devonshire Arms at Pilsley has an inviting and relaxing bar serving a selection of locally brewed ales, and wines from around the world. The restaurant serves produce that is locally sourced from the Chatsworth Estate. This dog-friendly accommodation is 10.2 miles from Chesterfield and 14.4 miles from Buxton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Devonshire Arms at Pilsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Arms Pilsley Hotel Derby
Devonshire Arms At Pilsley Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing