We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Devonshire Arms at Pilsley - Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Pilsley
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Barlborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gill”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

The food was overpriced and not that good, I asked for the trio of sausages which came with bubble and squeak as I am not keen on this I asked for it to be served with chips instead, the chips that I was given were not very good and more like the end of a bag of frozen scrappy chips the onion gravy didn't have even one onion in it and the sausage was ok but nothing to right about, no veg was offered. My sister had the vegetarian curry that had the cardamon and bay leaves still in the sauce and was exceptionally rich and heavy on the stomach and impossible to finish. The total amount for the two meals with two soft drinks was a staggering £28.60 needless to say we will not be returning. The one star we did give was for the polite staff only.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    91
    78
    53
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“sparse and tasteless Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My wife and I returned to The Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, owned by the Duke Of Devonshire, for our Sunday lunch. in February 2014
The cost of £12.95 per person for one course, is higher than some other pub/restaurant venues in this tourist areas of the Peak District inn Derbyshire, But due to it's closeness to Chatsworth House and the tourists it attracts, is a price the Devonshire Arms can obtain.

The staff were friendly and polite, as usual.

From the Specials Board we each chose the Roast Beef ( Silverside cut it said on the board )

Our meals arrived in due course , within what I would call a reasonable time frame. But the meal itself was disappointing.

On the plate was 2 very small boiled potatoes, 2 very small roast potatoes, a small portion of small mixed vegetables, 2 small slices of roast beef, a medium Yorkshire pudding and a sparse covering of thin gravy.

Apart from the nice Yorkshire pudding the meal was tasteless, including the gravy/stock and not value for money. We did ask for and receive a small jug of extra gravy, but this too was thin and tasteless.

It would seem to me that over the past few weeks someone has made a deliberate effort to reduce costs and increase profits by reducing the quality and quantity of the meal. A practice which they may get away with , relying on the tourist trade, rather than more local diners.

A shame. The Devonshire Arms is capable of much better

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fare_comment2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“not up to usual standards”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I have been for lunch here many times and enjoyed it very much but very disappointed today. No sandwiches?! The only light items were quite expensive.. pate with sad salad and 2 tiny pieces of toast, no butter, barely worth having. Seem to be catering for people with large appetites at lunchtime. Lovely place, but lunchtime sandwiches were always worth coming for...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzieToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, good food, expensive”
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Overpriced for what it is. Good food, really nice staff, but £13 for gammon and chips. Come on. I know it is near chatsworth but so is sheffield. The food is good, this is a big step 7p from Harvesters, but restaurant food it is not. The setting is very quaint. We had 8 for dinner on a quiet night and paid 175 quid all in for what is very honest and quality pub food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Honestopinion099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a fantastic christmas lunch !”
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Had Christmas Day lunch, it was fantastic, everything spit on, wonderful atmosphere. Staff brilliant food excellent couldn't av asked for a better day, will be booking for next year. Visit here as often as we can always nice meal but 2day was outstanding. Thank you

Helpful?
Thank cheryljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Devonshire Arms at Pilsley - Restaurant also viewed

 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Devonshire Arms at Pilsley - Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing