We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visiting chattsworth”
Review of Holly Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holly Cottage B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Pilsley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We stayed at this friendly b&b cottage just on the outskirts of chattsworth house about one mile away, stayed here for one night, Lovely and cosy very clean and modern all on suite, breakfast was a huge english also home made jams and more. would highly recomend to anyone and would go back again when visiting chattsworth house

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollycottagebandb, Owner at Holly Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2011

Thank you so much for your review - we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, Chatsworth House and Estate are such wonderful places to visit at this time of the year.
Once again, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2011

Holly Cottage is a fantastic B & B which is situated in the lovely and peaceful village of Pilsley. Chatsworth House is close by (25 minute walk) and you are surrounded by beatiful countryside views and walks.

We were warmly greeted upon our arrival at Holly Cottage and immediately offered some lovely home made cake. Freshly made flapjacks and chocolate cookies were also on offer when we entered our room which was a very good size, well presented and spotless. The ensuite bathrooom was also spacious and and in very good order.

Following a peaceful and comfortable night we were treated to a huge quality breakfast which included lots of choice and much good service.

In conclusion we were delighted to have stayed at Holly Cottage and will definately be returning there in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarethShorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollycottagebandb, Owner at Holly Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2011

Thank you so much for your extremely kind review, it really is most appreciated.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Arrived at Holly Cottage for a long weekend, we were greated by Sarah who showed us our rooms and bought us cake! The rooms are beautifully done. Clean and modern but with a country cottage feel, fully supplied with tea, hot chocolate, coffee and flapjacks!withltowels and toiletries. The bathrooms are clean and supplied with fluffy towels and toiletries.
Breakfast is a must with local produce and perfectly cooked eggs.
You are only a stones throw from Chatsworth and the village of Pilsley is beautiful.
One word of warning - the several Devonshire Arms pubs are confusing. The one at Beeley is best for an excellent meal. The one in Pilsley is average pub food and lacks atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceyForsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollycottagebandb, Owner at Holly Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

Thank you so much for your very kind review - it really is most appreciated and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your "special" long weekend with us.
I will let my hens know you were so complimentary about their eggs!
Best wishes
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Lovely accommodation and very welcoming hosts. We stayed in the Blue Room, which is a great size, has plenty of storage space for a week/weekend visit. A large shower room. The largest breakfast I have ever been served and very tasty it was too and what topped it all off was the homemade cake and biscuits yum yum.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traceytlhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollycottagebandb, Owner at Holly Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2011

Thank you so much for you review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend with us.
It really does make it all worthwhile to receive such a positive review.
Thanks
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

On our arrival we were greated by our very friendly host Sarah with the offer of some freshly baked cakes.These cakes were delicious and welcomed us into our stay perfectly.The room was beautifully decorated and extremely clean.Ample tea and coffee making facilities were provided and even flapjacks! The B&B is literally a stones throw from Chatsworth house which is well worth a visit,it is also has the wonderful Devonshire Arms on it's doorstep which provides good quality food or just a pint of local ale next to a roaring open fire should that take your fancy.I would highly reccomend this B&B to anybody thinking of a quiet break away,I promise you wont be disapointed.We'll definitely be going again!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeW1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollycottagebandb, Owner at Holly Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2011

Thank you for your review - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Just returned from Holly Cottage and can honestly say that it was as B and B should always be done. Sarah took care of our every need but was in no way obtrusive. The beds are extremely comfortable, rooms immaculately clean, breakfast excellent and location peaceful and beautiful. We were warned that the room we had been allocated was small but it was adequate for the couple of days we stayed. The pub across the road serves lovely traditional food at a reasonable price. There is a bus service but there is no need to use it, if like us you go for the walking. I would highly recommend this B and B and will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angeljayne61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollycottagebandb, Owner at Holly Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2011

Thank you so much for your review and I am so pleased that had a enjoyable stay with us last weekend.
We hope to be able to welcome you again one day, hopefully in one of the larger rooms.
Kind Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

This lovely couple helped us out a lot with cycle hire, where to go on our trips out and generally made our stay very relaxing. As a B&B I was not expecting such privacy, cleanliness and service but it was great. We were welcomed with cakes, flapjacks and as much tea and coffee and hit chocolate you could consume in our room which was lovely. We stayed in the green room which was small but Cosy, not cramped, with an excellent bathroom and the television was good.
Really excellent value - far better than a hotel, well recommended!

Also the Devonshire arms is 15m away - great food (steak n kidney pudding excellent!) and the Chatsworth farm shop is a similar distance and superb.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Christinatink88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollycottagebandb, Owner at Holly Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2011

Dear Christina
Thank you so much for your review, we are so pleased that you had an enjoyable valentines weekend and hope to welcome you back again at some time.
Best wishes
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilsley
2.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
413 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
0.1 mi away
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#15 of 44 in Bakewell
442 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
4.7 mi away
The Farmyard Inn
The Farmyard Inn
#1 of 4 in Youlgreave
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Cottage B&B

Address: Holly Cottage Bun Alley, Pilsley, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1UH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Pilsley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pilsley
Price Range: £69 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holly Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holly Cottage is wonderfully located at the heart of the Chatsworth Estate in the glorious peak of Derbyshire, one mile from Chatsworth House and two miles from Bakewell. We have three well furnished, spotlessly clean bedrooms all with en suite shower rooms. Rooms have colour TV, tea and coffee making facilities, radio alarm clocks and individually controlled central heating radiators. Breakfast is a real treat with all meat products sourced from the award-winning Chatsworth Farm shop! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Holly Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Cottage B&B Pilsley, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing