We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect 10”
Review of Holly Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holly Cottage B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Pilsley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wilton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The perfect 10”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

It isn't often you can find everything perfect but holding my hands high above my head this was one of those rare places. The attention to detail was amazing from the little touches in the room, the toiletries to the scissors to cut your sauce sachets at breakfast! If this place isn't full every week it will be a shock!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margatekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollycottagebandb, Owner at Holly Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Wow - thanks so much for your extremely kind and positive review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    27
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
137
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knebworth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I had a lovely weekend stay in Holly cottage. Met with cake and a smile. The room was extremely comfortable, clean and attractive. Breakfast was good and I would definitely stay again. Very close to Bakewell which has to be one of the cutest towns ever. Also make sure you walk from the village into the countryside, it was so beautiful and tranquil it did me the world of good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollycottagebandb, Owner at Holly Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thanks so much for your positive review - it really is a special place to live, we are please you enjoyed it too!
Kind Regards
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Annes
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We have now stayed with Sarah many times and can only agree with all the reviews. It really is as good as it gets. Lovely room, lovely breakfast and charming host and hostess. Sarah thinks of every detail and we still marvel at how she manages to do everything she does. It is so convenient for everywhere in the district and the food at the Pub is also a good standard. If you go, don't forget to try the tearoom at Edensor...another family venture overseen by son Sam..and again of a high standard. Can't wait to come back.Many thanks.

Room Tip: All are quiet and well maintained. It really doesn't matter which you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGBLythamStAnnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollycottagebandb, Owner at Holly Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thanks so much for your extremely kind and positive review.
It is always a pleasure to see you both as we know that you really do love Chatsworth and the Peak District so much - we agree it is a very special place and it is a pleasure to sare our home with you.
We hope to see you soon.
Kind Regards
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

2 night stay in this lovely B & B, we had a twin room which is rather small but very very comfortable with a super en-suite and a nice view over the village. The attention to detail cannot be faulted, including lovely jar of homemade biscuits and help yourself chocs on hall table. Breakfast was delicious and our hosts were very welcoming. If you are visiting Derbyshire this is the place to stay, Chatsworth and Bakewell are very close. We ate at the Devonshire Arms (just closeby) and enjoyed our meal each evening. We will return !!

Room Tip: Don't be put off about the room being a bit small its still lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollycottagebandb, Owner at Holly Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review, it was a pleasure to look after you.
Hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

It is always a pleasure to stay at Holly Cottage. I stayed in a lovely large double room which was very comfortable. It had large shower room with lots of hot water. The breakfasts are delicious and I look forward to returning.This was the fourth time I have stayed there (once each year) and if I could I would stay there more often. There is lots to do in the local area with Chatsworth House just down the road. There is also the Chatsworth Farm Shop and restaurant a short walk away and the Devonshire Arms Pub over the road.is lovely for pub suppers. Bakewell is good for retail therapy and there are lots of lovely walks to do particularly in Chatsworth Park. I always enjoy walking up through Stand Wood above Chatsworth House and admiring the view from the benches in front of the Hunting Tower.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Tissie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollycottagebandb, Owner at Holly Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thanks so much Tissie for your extremely positive review - I agree that we really are spoilt with the beautiful countryside and the views around Chatsworth.
Hope to see you again for the Horse Trials next year.
Kind Regards
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We couldn't have had a lovelier, more relaxing time than we did at Holly Cottage. From the moment we arrived until our reluctant departure ("we should have stayed for longer!" was a common refrain), Sarah was the perfect host and Holly Cottage the perfect base.

The room was immaculate, the tranquility of the village wonderful and the breakfasts epically tasty. We were in heaven. And Holly Cottage is within easy walking distance of Chatsworth, with other delightful walks also available straight from the door. And, if you have a car, all of the wonders of the Peak District are easily within reach. When it comes to food, the Devonshire Arms is metres away, and serves good food and tasty ales.

Sarah made as feel as if no request was too great, and all of the treats in the room (chocolate, biscuits, etc.) were hugely appreciated. Our only major gripe was that we hadn't stayed long enough to do Holly Cottage or its exquisite environs full justice!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Room - it was spacious, immaculately clean and wonderfully quiet. But I'm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southease78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollycottagebandb, Owner at Holly Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Wow - thanks so much for such a fantastic review, I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your visit here so much - we are so fortunate to live and work in such a special place and it is an absolute delight to share our home with our guests.
Hope to see you again
Kind Regards
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

3 night stay ,as wanted to visit Chatsworth, warm welcome from Sarah and Mark, spacious room and en suite , very comfortable bed, beverage tray and home made biscuits , wonderful breakfast with wide variety of options. Day three we visited a lovely tea room in Endover village within grounds of Chatsworth , how we wished we had discovered it before . The display of cakes needs to be seen to be believed and I tasted the best scone EVER, apparently made by Sarah's son.
We will definitely go back

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angela I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollycottagebandb, Owner at Holly Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thanks so much for your fantastic review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your time here and also at Edensor.
It is great to receive such positive feedback - thank you.
Kind Regards
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilsley
2.1 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
2.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
392 reviews
3.4 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
2.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Cottage B&B

Property: Holly Cottage B&B
Address: Holly Cottage Bun Alley, Pilsley, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1UH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Pilsley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pilsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holly Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holly Cottage is wonderfully located at the heart of the Chatsworth Estate in the glorious peak of Derbyshire, one mile from Chatsworth House and two miles from Bakewell. We have three well furnished, spotlessly clean bedrooms all with en suite shower rooms. Rooms have colour TV, tea and coffee making facilities, radio alarm clocks and individually controlled central heating radiators. Breakfast is a real treat with all meat products sourced from the award-winning Chatsworth Farm shop! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holly Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Cottage B&B Pilsley, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing