We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away surprise -- is this actually a hotel?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Deerfield
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Deerfield
GreenLeadersSilver level
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Tucked away surprise -- is this actually a hotel?”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I travel often to the Riverwoods/Deerfield/Northbrook area for work, but usually stay at the Westin or Embassy Suites. Due to some company policy changes, I found myself here at the Hyatt Deerfield on two occasions, and I have to say that it has become a favorite.

First and foremost, though, it doesn't feel or look like a hotel. There isn't a large, obvious sign directing people to this as a hotel. The hotel is located rather out of the way, tucked in next to an expressway and behind some office buildings. Also, the front door is rather difficult to find. On my second trip, a person came up to me right in front of the hotel, asking if the door nearby actually was the hotel door. It really isn't that clear.

Once you walk in the side door, which is actually the main door, you get the sense that you are in the lobby of a business building, not a hotel. Then, you must traverse the expansive lobby area to get to the check in area, which, again, doesn't look much like a traditional hotel check in. There are just two desks and you check in there. ?!?!

But even though this doesn't seem much like a hotel, it actually IS a rather nice hotel. Both times my room has been a lovely, nicely-updated suite-type arrangement. The wireless internet works well, and (since my business rate includes breakfast), I've enjoyed breakfasts in the restaurant on quite a few occasions. The restaurant offers a tasty-looking buffet, but I've always ordered Eggs Benedict off the menu, and it has been top notch! I haven't yet tried out the pool or health club, but they both look inviting.

Will I come back to the Hyatt Deerfield. Defiinitely. I've already returned once after my first visit. Unquestionably I was pleased with my room and breakfast, and that is most of what I need.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Deerfield, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Sarahste-

Glad you like the hotel... We are excited you've visited us more than once and we hope can continue to be your hotel of choice :-)

Adam Patenaude
General Manager
Hyatt Deerfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    168
    84
    45
    28
See reviews for
170
70
32
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you want to do Chicago on a small budget here is how. Stayed here for a great price,it includes parking and a shuttle up to 5 mile radious. The Metra into chicago is just 1.5 miles away and in a very safe area.On weekends you can get a pass to ride unlimited rides for $7.00. Shopping is close and so are 2 major highways.The hotel rooms are like a mini suite with a pull put sofa and chair and ottomon. Beds extremely nice. There is a mini fridge, restaurant and famous coffee shop. Work out room and inside pool,plus a lovely patio to sit and relax.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room that is not across from the pool and work out room entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agreatday050510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Deerfield, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
agreatday050510-

Thanks for the great review... hope to see you again soon!

Adam Patenaude
General Manager
Hyatt Deerfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLUMBUS OHIO
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I have to preface this review with the fact that 6K travelers were trying to get hotel rooms in greater Chicagoland this night, because of airline cancellations due to storms. So the front desk were a bit pushed, and definitely had the 'b' team working that night, because everybody was training. Fortunately they both knew part of the job, so it was sorted eventually.
Great location, easy on and off the tollway if you're in the northern burbs on business...but road noise was notable when trying to sleep.
Room was nice...I'm guessing this might have been a Marriott once, as the layout seems reminiscent.. nice study/lounge area separated by a TV partition from sleep zone. Has refrigerator, nice touch....and a big desk too!
WiFi was an expensive extra.
Water was a pricey extra. (I wish everyplace gave you the one bottle - this location doesn't)
AirCon DID NOT WORK and phone calls for assistance brought me no joy at all.....like i said, I guess they were busy coining money. Parking was free and easy. Don't come here if you don't have a vehicle.....there's NOTHING within walking distance re. dining alternatives.
Other than that the room was clean, well set out - and bath/shower adequate.
WHY does housekeeping try to push me out of all Hyatts before 9am? If you yell back thru the door - they must surely know you are there, why knock and wait for you to open the door - just to laugh at our unkempt unreadiness?? I usually hang 'DND; sign...forgot to...paid the price.
HAVING SAID ALL OF THE ABOVE, i'D HAPPILY GO BACK.....which is a rare approbation for this writer. As usual, check Priceline and Expedia,,,,don't pay rack rates.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank butlinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Deerfield, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
butlinz-

Thanks for the review... as you know, they dates of your stay were hectic for the entire City, with the weather and flight cancellations... Hope to see you again soon!

Adam Patenaude
General Manager
Hyatt Deerfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Lake, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here in the dead of winter. It's somewhat tucked back in a business park, so while not hard to find or get to, it's not dead simple either. Rate was dirt cheap. Room was spacious, clean, quiet, and comfortable. Place was well kept, front desk was quick and polite. What else do you need?

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravage7779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Deerfield, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Ravage7779-

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel... I'm glad you had a favorable experience! We hope you will come back soon!!!

Adam Patenaude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I was checked in by Brandon, who is a manager. I would have preferred the kid from the Exorcist, while her head was spinning and she was spewing vomit. Because the vomit Brandon spews is discrimination. When I checked in, I asked to pay a cash deposit for incidentals instead of a credit card, which is far more convenient for me. He refused, saying no one was permitted to do that. Over the course of the weekend, I met several guests who had been permitted to do just that, and even watched two check out and get their cash deposits back.

I'd love to know how Brandon decides who gets these extra perks and who doesn't. I'd love to know why he has any job there, let alone management.

Aside from Brandons illegal behavior, there is peeling paint on the bathroom ceilings, dust on the furniture, and a lot of nickel and dime activity. They charge for internet, use of the business center, and anything else they can think of. Toilet paper was included.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 212Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Deerfield, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
212Phil-

As we discussed via email last week, we do require a credit card at check in. This policy was visible on the website you booked your reservation on. We do allow for guests to pay cash for any charges at check-out, but require a credit card at check-in for all reservations.

Adam Patenaude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This has been a great business landing pad for us. Anna at the front desk has been fabulous. After the third trip we have dubbed her "Lady Anna." Shuttle service for nearby attractions is great, but if you know your schedule ahead of time, call before you get there and set up your shuttle drop off and pick up times.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElPatagonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Deerfield, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
ElPatagonian-

Thank you for the feedback... Glad you enjoyed the hotel... I'll certainly share your kind words with Anna.

Adam Patenaude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Around 20-30mins from o'hare airport. which means 40mins to downtown Chicago. Close to highway.Room are clean and quiet. Staff are helpful. you can always find good deals online. Easy to park. Will be back.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank phishinghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101610A, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Deerfield, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
phishinghan-

Thank you for the comments... Hope to see you again soon!

Adam Patenaude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deerfield
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield
0.7 mi away
Chicago Marriott Suites Deerfield
4.4 mi away
Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Westin Chicago North Shore
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Deerfield/Lincolnshire
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Deerfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Deerfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Deerfield

Property: Hyatt Regency Deerfield
Address: 1750 Lake Cook Rd, Deerfield, IL 60015-4628 (Formerly Hyatt Deerfield)
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Deerfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Deerfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Deerfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel. Newly Renovated Suite sized guest rooms to include 6 Executive Suites, 1 Presidential Suite, and 1 Hospitality Suite. Amenities to include: living room area with pull out couch, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, coffee maker, referigerators in room, turn down services available, business class floor, newly renovated restaurant and meeting space. A premier suburban corporate hotel located in the heart of Chicago's Northshore. The Hyatt Deerfield is ideally located just 14 miles from O'Hare International Airport and minutes from Fortune-500 companies such as, Abbott Pharmaceuticals, Kraft Foods, Baxter Healthcare, and Morgan Stanley Discover. Enjoy an evening at Ravinia Festival, a day at Chicago's Botanic Gardens, or the excitement of Six Flags Great America, all in close proximity. The Hyatt Deerfield offers cigars at our outdoor patio, newly renovated restaurant, atrium lounge, in-room dining, and a full fitness facility including indoor pool, sauna, Jacuzzi and full line of cardiovascular equipment. Located off 294/94 express way 14 miles from O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Deerfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Deerfield Hotel Deerfield
Deerfield Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing