We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and roomy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Suites Deerfield
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Deerfield
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable and roomy”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We were in town for a family function. The location is right near the highways but not so close as to hear them. The bedding was great. I liked the suite set up because there were two tvs, kitchenette with refrigerator and sofa for lounging. Plenty of drawer space. The only part of the floor plan that doesn't work is that there is no door between the wash area and the bedroom. The shower and toilet were separated by a pocket door that rattled. But there was no way of keeping the light out of the bedroom if someone was washing or brushing teeth. Overall, it was a comfortable space.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mashkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    105
    31
    12
    15
See reviews for
66
39
13
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We like this property because it's a Marriott Suties and that alone says it's gonna be pretty nice. it's not far from one of our after ball-game dining destination (Bob Chinn's) and about 15 minutes from Arlington Race Track which we visit everytime we're in Chicago and the horses are running. Plus just east of Deerfield are some neat little parks which overlook Lake Michagan.

The problems we had this trip however made it less than perfect. The first problem was a mildew odor in our room. It was actually in two places. Most noticeable near the sink area in the main room where the coffee maker is located. The second place was near the sink in the bathroom. While it wasn't over powering it was still very noticeable.

The second problem was that the hot water spigot in the bathroom sink would never draw hot water? The shower had plenty of hot water so it was something unique to that faucet. Once again not a major issue but somewhat annyoying for shaving.

The third problem was that they had reserved a block of rooms to some hockey kids and their families. I used to coach youth hockey for years so I'm not anti hockey but lets just they can be a bit rowdy! They woke our travel mates up with their horseplay in the hallways. Once again not a big deal as we never heard them but booking groups of hockey players is a decision a nice hotel needs to evaluate very carefully!

I did advise the front desk about both of our room problems when I left so hopefully they will be fixed when you get there!

On a positive side. Every interaction I had with the Marriott employees was always a positive one which is usually my experience with a Marriott property.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This is a great hotel but the location is only good if you are doing business in Deerfield or close by. However, the station with trains to Chicago is only 5 mins by taxi.

The room I had a lounge area with a small kitchen area, fridge, microwave and sink - no equipment or cutlery. It was clean and the beds comfortable. There was a desk in the lounge area with a TV there and also in the bedroom.

The hotel has a restaurant which had a limited menu, but was nice, if a little pricey. Breakfast was buffet style and not much choice but did have someone on hand to cook up a nice omlette.

Chicago by train is 1 hr away, but you can buy a weekend travel pass for $7 which is good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trailingrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Limited rooms and astronomical rates downtown led me to book a room "up north" for meetings in Vernon Hills, IL. The overall property itself is pretty nice, the front desk staff very welcoming and friendly. Easy to get to from the highway and ample free parking available. Small bar/restaurant pales in comparison to other larger Marriott Suites properties I've stayed at, but it served its purpose. Room features and amenities were somewhat dated, but the king suite was very spacious. Had a minor issue with the linens which the staff quickly resolved. WiFi was reliable compared to other Marriott properties. I'd recommend this property for a business traveler requiring a multiple nights' stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nowlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed here as an alternative to pricey downtown hotels. The hotel was nice, not sure the drive/traffic was worth it....going to Chicago from the hotel took 1.5 hours. Coming home was fine, only about 25-30 minutes.

It's an all suites property, not many double beds are available, but the king beds are big and the pull out couch is not bad. The room was very spacious, nice size kitchen, living room, work space, the bathroom was great. The room was clean, bed was cozy. It was a very nice space for what we needed, there were three of us ladies and we had a great time.

Don't know I would stay this far out for a Chicago visit if we had paid the retail price. We booked through one of the online "pay before you know" sites and received an awesome deal!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Ga.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We won a great Priceline deal for our trip to the North Shore area of Chicago. We needed a place with free parking and close to the attended event in Grayslake. Priceline treated us well with this win. All rooms are suites and appear to be equal in size and amenities. One of the few hotels where all guests receive the equal service, as we stayed twice during our week in Chicago. A bed, bath and TV similar to the one we have at home a plus. Home away from home! Two flat screens, living room, and kitchenette were a plus. We enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub, as it rained and could not use the outdoor pool. Plenty of pool towels. The dry sauna was locked so this is the only downside of our stay. Entrance to pools and fitness was down a few stairs off of the 2nd floor. Wonder how handicap or those who can't use stairs are able to access the area. I assume they have an elevator or sorts. We did not dine at the hotel. The Deerfield train station is a short distance in the event you want to go into the city. Looks like free parking at the station. The Deerfield town center is nice too with a Barnes/Nobles, nice grocery and places to eat very close. Deerfield is an upscale burb and felt safe. The office park was not noisy during the workday. Note that the 90/94 interstate is a toll road. We paid the $1.90 toll and the hotel's exit was 1/4 mile past the toll plaza. We used surface streets during the rest of our trip and was able to explore the surrounding area. I advise having a car so you are not stuck at the hotel. There is a shuttle, but still, having transport makes everything convenient.

Room Tip: Quiet hotel. Room on 2nd and 6th floors were both quiet. This hotel is all suite, so all rooms are p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoneagainfromAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
172 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Efficient check-in, large room (junior suite), lots of parking, excellent food, welcoming staff ... all in all a terrific business hotel. The only down side was an odd noise from outside that started around 5AM each day. I never did work out what it was but it did just take the edge of what was in all other ways just a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_bald_gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deerfield
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Deerfield
Hyatt Regency Deerfield
#2 of 6 in Deerfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Deerfield/Lincolnshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Deerfield
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Deerfield
5.0 mi away
Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Suites Deerfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Suites Deerfield

Property: Chicago Marriott Suites Deerfield
Address: 2 Parkway N, Deerfield, IL 60015-2544
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Deerfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Deerfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago Marriott Suites Deerfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chicago Marriott Suites Deerfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Marriott Suites Deerfield Hotel Deerfield
Deerfield Marriott
Marriott Deerfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing