We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A blast from the past”

Barnaby's of Des Plaines
Ranked #25 of 186 Restaurants in Des Plaines
Price range: US$5 - US$8
Cuisines: American, Pizza, British
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A blast from the past”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We were surprised to see Barnaby's since the one we used to visit in Milwaukee closed over 2 decades ago. When we walked in, it brought back memories because the decor was same, old wooden picnic style seating, dark wood, informal atmosphere. You place your order at the counter and wait for your number to be called, there are no waiters or waitresses. You order your drinks at the bar. We had pizza, it was affordable and delicious. It was a fun time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank WISassyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    20
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place for families with kids”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Friendly, family place with great pizza. Kids can move about without causing problems and they have tv to watch sports. Sandwiches are good too, especially the fries but the pizza is the best.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rosieChicago2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockbridge, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Reminded me of how pizza is supposed to be”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

During a business trip, I'd mentioned that over the years of traveling to Rosemont/Des Plaines, I couldn't believe that I'd fallen into a rut. I'd had Nancy's and Giordano's pizza, beef at Al's and Portillo's. Now don;t get me wrong, I love the food. I was just looking for something different.

I was introduced to Barnaby's.

Not only was the pizza better than I'd expected, it took me back to the mom and pop's restaurants of my youth. The food was great, the atmosphere was busy, and crowded and fun, the service was quick but there was no shortage on the pride that they put into their meals.

Have a beer, or two, or three... enjoy a great slice of pizza and like me you'll be stumped trying to think of what to call that stuff that they serve at Pizza Hut and Papa John's. After being reminded of what great pizza is, it's difficult to use the word with the national chains ever again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lwr1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Please try to put us down...”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

OK it may not seem like really authentic Chicago pizza.. but I love this pizza with the cornmeal on the bottom and the great crust! They have sandwiches... never had one - the pizza is so damn good. AND you can get an alcoholic beverage. AND they call you # for the pizza & you walk up for your drink... so NO TIPPING... That equates to another drink thank you very much.

I love Barnaby's!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mysticalbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pub food that took me back...”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Used to have a Barnaby's in my old neighborhood, went to the Des Plaines one for the first time. It was just like I remember - the wooden benches, the dark interior. Got a burger and it was well-cooked, a nice crust on it from the grill. Great fries and onion rings, and good prices.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank chitowncuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barnaby's of Des Plaines also viewed

Des Plaines, IL
Des Plaines, IL
 

Been to Barnaby's of Des Plaines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing