We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid Greek-owned diner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Stallion Restaurant

Silver Stallion Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 184 Restaurants in Des Plaines
Cuisines: American, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
499 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Solid Greek-owned diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Everyone in your party will find something on the extensive menu to like, and no one should be disappointed with the food. We have eaten here numerous times and always find it as a solid diner: large menu, good-sized portions, friendly service, and good food. It's not gourmet, but that's not why you come to a diner.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Babu2773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
185 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Des Plaines value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

A great family dining experince with outgoing service and great food.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

This restaurant was just South of the Best Western I was staying at. The banquet room feel was like an after church place where 3 or 4 generations get together. Service was excellent. The food was very good. This was not like the many places I've been where you can tell everything was canned or frozen before it was mixed together and hit your plate. There was no emphasis on turnover like a chain restaurant. The atmosphere was inviting and comfortable. I finished and paid about 15 minutes before I left. The waitress still came over a couple times to fill my coffee and ask if I needed anything. I did and the directions were correct.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank DrEECS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Decent and close to best western”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Tried the delux burger and their soup and fries. $7.95 I think it was. Decent sized burger, homestyle fries and chicken tortellini.

Not an everyday place for me but overall decent.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rev217_chino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“CHEAP N TASTY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

This place is pretty close to my job so I eat there once in a while, and not once have I been disappointed about the service nor food. I also recommended a nice amount of people there and not one bad thing yet. Prices are decent, but food is great.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aleeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silver Stallion Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Silver Stallion Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing