We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids love it”

Choo Choo Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 186 Restaurants in Des Plaines
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Kids love it”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

It has been in Des Plaines forever. I took my kids and now my grandchildren. It is always crowded but the kids love the model train delivering the food on the counter & the atmosphere

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gennyluisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    35
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fun and great staff”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I agree this flashback in time restaurant is very small, but it is fun for the kids to see their food arrive on the little electric train. Wanted to give an extra shout-out to them.....somehow our food ticket was lost. I noticed others who had arrived later were getting their food, but in no time, the waitress acknowledged that the ticket was somehow missing. She re-took our order and quickly got our food delivered. Then when we went to pay, they comped our entire meal! Most of the staff came up and visited with us when the crowds lightened up. They were very friendly and we will definitely go back when we are back in the Chicago area!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wishiwasstillthere10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cute Place for Kids”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We really liked this place. Went there around 3:00 mid week and it was full by the time we left. The food was a little pricey, but quality was OK. You are paying for the atmosphere. The trains only deliver to the counter. We were lucky to get counter seats. By the time we were done, people were sitting at the booths. A shout out to the waitress. 3 young girls came in and wanted to buy something and have the train deliver it. They were not good at math and couldn't figure out how to do it. The waitress told them she would make a milkshake and put it into 3 cups so they could split it with their order of fries.She treated the girls, probably aged 11-13 like adult customer, in no way condescending. I am sure they would come back...that is probably one reason why the place has stayed in business so long.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PennsylvaniaRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
3,761 reviews
2,968 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 602 helpful votes
“All aboard!”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Okay, so your little engineers are looking for a place to go. The Choo Choo is a great place for kids, parents and grandparents. Though small, there are few other restaurants that have a vintage appearance which have a model train delivering the food at the counter. Decorated with all kinds of railroad memorabilia, the Choo Choo delivers fun by the trainload. The service has always been great and for what the menu is, I have never had a bad meal here. As a kid, I remember going here. The restaurant holds about 50 including those at the counter. Take the kids at an off-hour and wait for counter stools, it is worth it. The only drawback is that credit cards are not accepted. Oh, remember to take your kids for their birthday, they'll love the whole restaurant joining in for the "happy birthday" song.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allen21096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver, CO
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very small but fun for kids”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

You get your meal served by a model railroad car. Food is fine. The kids loved it. But if it seats 25 people I'd be surprised... go off hour.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ptm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Choo Choo Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Choo Choo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing