We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good ingredients heavy hand” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giacomo's Ristorante

Giacomo's Ristorante
Ranked #6 of 184 Restaurants in Des Plaines
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oregon, wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good ingredients heavy hand”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Hearty dishes with fresh ingredients but drowning in sauce. Good service and appears popular with the locals but when I'm in Chicago I'll keep on driving

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    19
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sycamore,il
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Service and Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

If in the Chicago area check this little gem out . Homeade pasta dishes and great service, I believe this is one of the better Italian Restaurants in the Chicago area, The cavatelli, gnochi, manacotti were all great dishes no one in my family was disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jetsetSycamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Casual Italian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

This is a casual Italian restaurant, family owned and run. Consistently good food at reasonable prices and a super atmosphere.

They also have a small private room perfect for bridal or baby showers, birthday celebrations or funeral luncheons. A real gem of a place!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherlockian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you have not been here yet, go and go hungry!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

I have been to Giacomo's twice. Once for dinner and once for a funeral luncheon. They are wonderful, the food is awesome and the customer service is divine. I would highly recommend them to everyone whether you are looking for a family dinner, a romantic table for two or a large group. They can handle it all!! If you have not been here yet, go and go hungry!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and a great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This jewel was a fabulous find! I used TripAdvisor to find it and we weren't disappointed. The food was authentic and done perfectly. The menu offered a large variety of options. The staff was friendly and right on top of everything. Lastly, the atmosphere was cozy and quaint.

I would return here in a flash and would highly recommend it if you're looking for just plain delicious Italian food.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank beenz4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giacomo's Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Giacomo's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing