We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Chicago O'Hare
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Des Plaines
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel, perfect location”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The Radisson Hotel is located close to the airport O'Hare in Chicago. There is a free shuttle bus running between the hotel and the airport every 30 minutes. I was upgraded to a suite which was great - two rooms plus a large bathroom with a huge shower. The mattress was very comfy. There were even two TVs in the room. I also had free access to the Executive lounge where a breakfast buffet was available.

Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank TripReporter177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    320
    168
    62
    46
See reviews for
205
204
78
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

On my second stay, I specifically requested a quiet room without a connecting door. Luckily, it was a weekday, and such a room was available. It was spacious, clean, and quiet. Since it's an airport hotel, occasionally there would be slamming doors in the hallway early in the morning, but the heating system masks the noise for the most part. The breakfast is quite decent, and the wi-fi is included in the room charge, which is definitely how it should be.

Room Tip: ask for room without connecting doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vladb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwoman11
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I had an overnight connection at ORD and the rate was very good!

Check in - very easy. Several of us came in from the same shuttle bus. Two agents quickly helped arriving guests. The desk agent acknowledged my Club Carlson silver status and said I'd been upgraded to a business room. They also offered a free drink coupon to use at the bar.

Room - the room was fine, about average size for a US airport hotel.
A big plus was the Sleep Number bed!
It was comfortable, the linens were nice, and the pillows were decent. There was complimentary water in the room as well as a coffee pot.

The bathroom was pretty small. The shower had good water pressure, basic toiletry items were provided, there was a hair dryer, and there were ample towels/wash cloths/hand towels.

Shuttle - the shuttle serves the Radisson and the Best Western It runs every 30 minutes on the hour and half hour. There is no charge. I departed the hotel at 0530 and it was full ... Something to keep in mind if going to the airport at peak times.

Amenities - this property has a gift shop, bar, business center, and small fitness center.

There are many restaurants nearby. Lonestar is adjacent to the hotel and will deliver until 10pm. Other nearby options include Steak 'n Shake, IHOP, Panda Express, Chipotle, Chili's, Subway, and several local places. There is also a Target across the street.

Room Tip: I was not disturbed by airport noise. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rwoman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiChow, General Manager at Wyndham Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the valuable feedback! We are glad your stay with us is nothing short of your expectations.

As to the airport shuttle, it would help us if you can write to provide your name or departure details for us to improve our transportation service.

The restaurant adjacent to the hotel is the Longhorn Steakhouse.

We look forward to your next visit and will strive to provide an even better level of service.

Sincerely,

Kai Chow
General Manager
Ph: 847-296-8866
Email: reservations@ohareradisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed at the O'hare Radisson for one night in January. We chose the Radisson because we needed a dependable airport shuttle the next morning and we wanted to try the Sleep Number beds.
The Radisson is an older property. It's exterior reveals it's age. It is out of character with the high rise glass and steel towers of many of the larger hotels. The hotel interior shows a good effort to keep up with modern standards. There are signs that there has been recent modernization. The lobby is quiet and it is easy to register and check out. The hotel shuttle to O'hare was rather slow in picking us up but it was on time the next morning as we returned to the airport for our flight. The staff was courteous and helpful.
Our room showed some wear. It was not as clean or well-appointed as we would have expected at a Radisson. Therefore, I think it was a little over priced. We found out that we really did not like the Sleep Number beds. This was a valuable lesson for us.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justcruzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiChow, General Manager at Wyndham Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedbacks on your recent stay!

The less than satisfactory experience you share with us will provide a benchmark for continued improvement at the hotel.

The hotel also offers non-Sleep Number beds which are limited in availability. Perhaps, it was not mentioned to you at time of check-in. On room quality, I am looking forward to you providing us with details of your stay such as first and last name. This information will help us trouble-shoot and rectify the wear in the room.

We apologize for the short-comings and will strive to provide our guests with a clean, functional and comfortable room.

We are looking forward to your information and your next visit.

Again, thank you for comments.

Sincerely,


Kai Chow
General Manager
Radisson Hotel Chicago O'Hare
Ph: 847-296-8866
Email: reservations@ohareradisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
217 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Rooms are nice, beds have the sleep comfort air cushion system so you can set your own personal number. Internet is fast, restraunt/bar is so-so, but there are several good restraunts within close walking distance (one next door). DO NOT get a room by the elevators, they make enough noise to wake the dead, not by operating, by opening and closing their doors! Nice place though.

Room Tip: Do not get a room close to the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pekopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake geneva
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2012

When we fly out of O'Hare, we always arrange to stay at this Radisson the night before departing. Although the parking is not covered, we have never had a problem there and find the shuttle to and from the airport quick for the most part. Going to the airport and coming back to the domestic terminals, the shuttle wait is negligible. Coming back to the international is a bit longer because the shuttle driver picks up at domestic first...or at least, that was the case for us this last time. The room is clean and functional and I have never had difficulty with sounds of departing flights as I sleep the night prior. In the past, the front desk staff has helped me print a boarding pass and confirm flights when the computer available to guests was down. The price is reasonable...a night's sleep and up to 14 days of parking for about 125.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Well. I can't say it is an excellent hotel but not bad. It is a little far away from the airport compared to other hotel, more accurately 12 minutes. The shuttle runs every 30 minutes: 00/30 from the hotel, 15/45 from bus center gate 2. However, bus center is always busy. You may need time to find the correct shuttle and for me, Sadly, I missed one and had to wait another 30 mins.

POT airline's crew lives there so it can't be bad. Truly, the lobby was neat and there was a small meeting area.

I requested a higher level floor with the airport view. The room was good and the beds were the advertised sleep number ones. but the bad part, my friend and I wanted to figure out how to use it but failed. Since it was midnight and we had to catch up an early flight, we chose to sleep without adjusting. Luckily, the beds were really comfortable.

Internet was free and high speed and the parking was free too.

Room Tip: if you are aviation fan, rooms with odd number in 4th floor could see the landing or taking off of O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Machilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Plaines
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/O'Hare Airport
0.8 mi away
Best Western At O'Hare
Best Western At O'Hare
#17 of 18 in Rosemont
420 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn O'Hare
Comfort Inn O'Hare
#4 of 9 in Des Plaines
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago O'Hare Rosemont
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Chicago O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Chicago O'Hare

Property: Wyndham Chicago O'Hare
Address: 1450 East Touhy Ave, Des Plaines, IL 60018-3332 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Chicago O'Hare )
Region: United States > Illinois > Des Plaines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Des Plaines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Chicago O'Hare 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Hotel Chicago O'Hare has just completed a major renovation in July 2011. The in-room look-and-feel and amenities are comparable to a 4 or 5-star hotel in the area.Hotel is located across the street from restaurants, financial institutions and shopping.The lobby provides guests with a comfortable and quiet atmosphere and at the same time offers a functional and available business center. Free wi-fi internet access for hotel guest only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Chicago O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Chicago o Hare
Radisson Hotel Chicago Ohare
Radisson Des Plaines
Des Plaines Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing