We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock Hard Beds, and Smoking Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Chicago O’Hare
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Des Plaines
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I specifically requested a non-smoking room, due to allergies. We were given a smoking room, which caused another guest, and I, to have horrible breathing issues, all weekend - they did not bother to mention we were getting a smoking room, or why.

Only one of the three bedside lamps worked, which was very frustrating.

The beds were so hard, they caused me to have back spasms, the one night I slept in one. The rest of the weekend, I slept on an air mattress, and had no issues.

The keys deactivate when not activated all together (this is a safety precaution, and I appreciate that), but no one told us. This resulted in one of my guests getting locked out of the hotel, in the middle of the night.

I don't know when soap, shampoo, conditioner, and housekeeping stopped being standard, but I feel these are cheap (cost-wise) amenities that have been discontinued.

The en suite kitchen was convenient, but it was about the only good part of the room. Because of the angle of the pictures, I thought the room was about 3 feet wider than it really was (the room was decently sized, but it made for a little more of a squeeze than I was intending). The fact that parking is free was also nice. The staff were very friendly, I did like the people who worked the counter.

All in all, I will not stay in an Extended Stay again. I have had much better experiences, in much cheaper hotels. For $110/night, I expected a little more.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel lacks a lot of attention to detail. The word breakfast is a overstatement of the basic fruit bowl provided. Additionally no shampoo/ conditioner were provided during my stay, nor were they available.

The hotel shuttle was a confusing mess. You had to call another hotel that was very hard to reach during peak periods.

You may need ground transportation as there are very few sideways near the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I had to be in Chicago the day before I left back home. Flight was to early to drive in on same day. Stayed at Extended Stay. Was very pleased with location, looks and cleanliness of this hotel. Check in was easy and check out also. Grab and Go breakfast was appreciated. Very pleased with the staff. Will go back if needed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBB051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago O’Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and the service our staff provided. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Rooms look almost identical to online pictures. Entire room was very tidy. Reserving online was easy, check-in was easy. Close to my workshop and restaurants and shopping but no to few sidewalks so I had to cross the roads carefully. Free shuttle to airport was useful for catching L Train downtown. Staff didn't have any tourist info which I found strange. Breakfast was a bit pathetic. Rooms have fridges and toasters so seeing some useful items (or healthy options) would have been nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago O’Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Victoria - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms with fully equipped kitchens and convenient location at a great value. Your feedback regarding our free grab-and-go breakfast is greatly appreciated and it will help us in our efforts to continually improve our hotel. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Very Rude! They do not care about customer service!
This is a very low class hotel due to customer service. I called the hotel and a male fronts desk personnel hanged up the phone on me when I was asking information regarding the full address of the hotel after I've been waiting for almost 10 minutes in the phone. I called again! Another 10 mins waiting! The answer service personnel (Nichole) was also rude. She raised her voice and told me to call later! I requested to speak to the supervisor and she denied to transfer me to the supervisor! I was asking a very simple question regarding the full address of the hotel and instead I received a rude behavior from this hotel. I travel a lot! and I never received this kind of bad experience regarding a hotel's customer service.
I let them know that I will post a review regarding the way that customer service of Extended Stay Hotel - O'hare treats their guests.
if you want a better hotel service in every aspect then it is better to stay away from this hotel. You pay for a good service must not for a bad one!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Vivian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago O’Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Vivian - I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. I sincerely apologize for the level of professionalism displayed by some members of our staff. Please know, I will meet with our entire staff to review our customer service policies and guest protocol so that this issue does not affect our future guests. If you would like to provide any additional feedback, please feel free to contact me directly at, cho@extendedstay.com. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better stay in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Mary6440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago O’Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ton_JKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago O’Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Plaines
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago O’Hare - Allstate Arena
0.8 mi away
Best Western At O'Hare
Best Western At O'Hare
#18 of 18 in Rosemont
489 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Des Plaines Inn
Best Western Des Plaines Inn
#3 of 9 in Des Plaines
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Chicago O'Hare
Wyndham Chicago O'Hare
#4 of 9 in Des Plaines
107 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn O'Hare
Comfort Inn O'Hare
#5 of 9 in Des Plaines
389 reviews
0.8 mi away
Edward Hotel Chicago
Edward Hotel Chicago
#17 of 18 in Rosemont
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Chicago O’Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Chicago O’Hare

Address: 1201 E Touhy Ave, Des Plaines, IL 60018-3302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Des Plaines
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Des Plaines
Price Range: £51 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Chicago O’Hare 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Extended Stay, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Extended Stay America - Chicago O’Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Chicago - o`Hare Hotel Des Plaines
Des Plaines Extended Stay
Extended Stay Des Plaines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing