We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”
Review of Super 8 Dixon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Dixon
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dixon
Reviewed 9 October 2012

More friendly & more clean , the whole place has a strong food odor. Breakfast very poor and not healty

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank VASILE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

stayed 2 nights. room dirty. blanket had stains poss semen there was what was poss ice cream hardened on the window sill. pop cap by the bed dirt in same area. cob webs in bathroom, long dark hair in tub that was not ours. refrig did not work. rodent trap approx 5 ft from breakfast area. stairway had white stains present. stayed due to price. next time with pay the cost of comfort inn

Room Tip: go to comfort inn may be higher in cost but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marge c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed at the Super 8 because the Comfort Inn was full. Overall it was kind of icky. There were roaches/waterbugs in the bathroom, marks on the walls, crumbs in the drawers, big brown stains on the mattress...it seemed very old and run down. The towels were thin and we only got a few. My children were coughing and waking up stuffed up throughout our stay (and were fine as soon as we left). This is the kind of place I didn't want my kids touching anything, walking barefoot, etc. Just a layer of grime on things like light switches, corners in the bathroom, etc.

I wouldn't blame the housekeeper--the sheets were clean and the room was vacuumed, picked up everyday. It's just that the property is extremely run down. Also, I slept fine on the bed and it was a quiet room (we faced the back). The location is pretty good, off the highway, near an Aldi, and close to downtown Dixon. The free breakfast was very basic but OK. The eating area is also the check in area.

Also, the sink in the bathroom is separate from the shower/toilet area, and is in the room. This wouldn't be ideal if you like a little more privacy while brushing teeth, etc.

After the first night, I kept all our luggage in the car because of the roaches and the overall feel of the place. The price was great--the place needs an overhaul, though.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Last month my family and I stayed here while on our way to visit my mother in law. This place was wonderful. The staff was polite and helpful. I thought it was a great deal. They served breakfast; danishes, coffee, juices, cereal. We enjoyed ourselves. It was a great stay for a great price.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blahblahreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

I'm here now on business the room smells bad, heater is loud, stained towels, stained sheets, bed like a plank. Can't wait to get out of here. Company paying so got to deal with it one more night but I'd NOT recommend this place to anyone. Best feature , staff is polite.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2009

Basic Super 8 motel. Large room. Corridor smelled of cigarette smoke. Free breakfast was good enough.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe_Martin516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

The housekeeping left much to be desired. The room was disgusting. The pillow cases had fresh makeup on them. The toilet would not flush properly. The tub smelled like the sewer was about to bubble up into it. The front desk clerk refused to transfer me to another room. The manager was not around to approve a refund. I could not even stay the night there, and was still charged for it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusReview20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Super 8 Dixon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Dixon

Address: 1800 S Galena Ave, I-88 & Highway 26, Dixon, IL 61021-9678
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Dixon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dixon
Price Range: £46 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Dixon 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptionally clean and Pet friendly hotel located off highway 80, with high-speed wireless internet, complimentary continental breakfast, We look forward to earning your patronage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Super 8 Dixon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Dixon
Dixon Super Eight
Dixon Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing