We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad...in the midst of renovations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Dixon
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dixon
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Not bad...in the midst of renovations.”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This hotel doesn't deserve the negative reviews it has received here. It is definitely worth the few miles off the interstate and would be better than any of the more convenient off-highway hotels. The Magnuson, from the outside, is impressive and looks very clean. The front desk staff is friendly and very accommodating. I had no problems at all.

As they are still in the midst of renovations, there are issues, of course. The pool area and restaurant were not available and there were small cosmetic issues here and there, but nothing big. The rooms are large, very clean, and the beds are quite comfortable. I would suggest some softer towels and more updated shower heads.

The lobby and breakfast room is very attractive, though the breakfast does leave a bit to be desired. I believe that this will be a very successful, top hotel in the area by the end of the summer!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    4
    8
    8
    15
See reviews for
17
6
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The hotel service was not good. My room didnt even get cleaned...no fresh towel or garbage taken out. The water pressure bad with no hot water. Half the lights in room didnt work! Way overpriced!!!! Do not recommend to any one. Staff rude.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank actoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dixon hotels

Oshkosh wisconsin USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed in this over Memorial weekend. The rooms were large which was great but showed wear, there was a noticable odor on entering the room that took a while to clear. The TV was an old CRT type with an out of focus dim picture instead of a larger newer flat screen. You can see it in the picture.. Universal remote didn't work with TV and had to get it replaced. Free WIFI was advertised but I was unable to connect to it in any part of the place. No luggage stands in the rooms.The pool and hot tub were not functional and I really wanted to soak in at least a hot tub after a days work at the family farm. The back door was propped open during the day by workers with a bag of trash. The same bags were there for several days. Continental breakfast was the bare minimum of packaged pastries (Not even fresh) and cereal with juices. Many other places now offer a real breakfast.(Comfort Inn) On the second day housekeeping did not even clean the room or replace towels. Driveway in the back had a large hole one had to avoid which was hard at night. I'd stay away until the restoration is more complete and the pool is working.. Mattress was comfortable and I was glad to at least sleep well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wisconsinBill08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Great hotel! Stayed for 2 nights with my parents as we were passing by the area. Was told that the hotel had just been reopened but for the 2 nights we were there, it was almost fully booked. Everything was up to standard. What I think is the best was the bed. It was the most comfortable bed I've slept on on my 2 week journey through the US Mid West. Pool and restaurant are still undergoing renovations but we didn't want to use it so it was fine with us. We also saw the plaque that commemorates Ronald Reagan's stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singaporeseeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I had a night stay at Dixon, and the room allocated was fantastic!
It is spacious, clean and warm (because the heater is working fine and it was cold at night).
Noise level was zero, and the breakfast was simple but nice :)
Toilet is clean and bright.
For a room with a decent price tag, the space offered is a steal :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Eagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Book for 2 nights from 10-12 may, thought it is a flithy hotel as the price is low, but susprising the hotel is clean, nice and good. The environment is so nice. Understand it have some Ronald Reagan Legacy in this hotel. Anyway the staff are friendly and make my short stay nice. Not far from nicetown as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Usaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dixon
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Dixon
Comfort Inn Dixon
#1 of 3 in Dixon
143 reviews
17.9 mi away
Paddle Wheel Inn
Paddle Wheel Inn
#1 of 1 in Oregon
114 reviews
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rock Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rock Falls
8.7 mi away
Days Inn - Rock Falls
Days Inn - Rock Falls
#5 of 6 in Rock Falls
282 reviews
8.7 mi away
Super 8 Rock Falls Sterling Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Dixon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Dixon

Property: Magnuson Hotel Dixon
Address: 443 Il Route 2, Dixon, IL 61021-9122
Region: United States > Illinois > Dixon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dixon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Dixon 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pet friendly Magnuson Hotel Dixon provides guests a free continental breakfast, free parking, and a 24 hour front desk. Amenities include a seasonal outdoor pool, business center, guest laundry center, and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Dixon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing