We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chicken strips”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mama Cimino's

Mama Cimino's
Ranked #18 of 54 Restaurants in Dixon
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dixon, Illinois
Level Contributor
130 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Chicken strips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

I lice in Dixon. The pizza is good and the chicken strips are amazing!! They have a lunch buffet during the week and a brunch on Sundays. They also have a party room a few doors down.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“More than just pizza in a small area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

We were desperate for food on a Sunday afternoon and last on our list was pizza/pasta. The only place open in downtown Dixon was Mama Cimino's, (I'm italian and I cant pronounce it) out of starvation we ended up here. It was welcome to see decent business hours AND non-traditional Italian options (pulled pork, prime rib sandwich among others) The atmosphere is not formal, but there were live flowers at the traditionally if not stereo-typically decorated tables, somewhat reminiscent of the Godfather. I liked it, and the pizza we ordered to go was awesome.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RFiocchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morton, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gluten Free: Safe to eat but not outstanding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

I'd read the other reviews on Trip Advisor and was not to be undone by dining in a small storefront type of place in the old downtown area of Dixon. This is, after all, Small Town America. What should one expect?

While having to be in Dixon for business travel, I was thrilled to find anything at all that's GF and therefore safe to eat. Mama Cimino's is indeed a small place and not at all fancy. This is not the sort of place you'd pick for fine dining or ambience, but it's fine for down home atmosphere and friendly service.

I ordered the GF pizza and my husband (a wheat eater) tried the barbecue buffet. My pizza was fine in the sense that it contained the ingredients I'd ordered and was not skimpy. It was, however, undercooked. This seems to be a problem with many places that offer GF crust but are not very experienced in preparing them. While the cheese was melted and the toppings were cooked, the crust was so soft and squishy that it simply drooped when I picked up a slice. I took home the leftovers and reheated them in a skillet. Voilà! That is how GF pizza should be done. :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bpjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dixon, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“birthday party”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

they have a great menu, and their prices are good. also the banquet room they rent out is cheap and very spacious.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank lelo113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Yeah - gluten free crust!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

After bar time in Dixon IL, who would expect a little pizza place to have a gluten free crust. Not only was it gluten free, but it had FABULOUS flavor. What a nice surprise!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank irysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama Cimino's also viewed

 

Been to Mama Cimino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing