We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay. However, Be Aware of Policy Change.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Dixon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Comfort Inn Dixon
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dixon
Certificate of Excellence
West Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay. However, Be Aware of Policy Change.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Our large family has been staying at this hotel for several years whenever we have a Christmas celebration or a wedding since many of us now live out of the Dixon area. We have always been satisfied with the accommodations.

However, large groups need to be aware of a recent policy change. The management no longer allows anyone to use the breakfast area during non-breakfast hours. It was explained to us that previous groups have left the breakfast area quite dirty and the morning staff do not have time to clean up the area for guests coming in for their breakfast meal. This complication is certainly understandable. However, groups like ours are left with no option other than to pay the rental fee for one of the meeting conference rooms for our games and cards in the evening. We did rent one of these rooms for Saturday night since we knew our entire group would there that evening and we wanted to insure we could all be together. However, our "smaller" large group was caught off guard on Friday night by this surprising change. Consequently, any group that has too many people to congregate in one person's hotel room needs to be aware of these new limitations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Dixon, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Terry,

It was, as always, a pleasure having you as a guest in our hotel.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to respond on Trip Advisor.

It is comments such as yours that help us to provide the very best service possible to our guests. I am sorry you were unaware of the change in policy on the use of the breakfast room. I hope that the Master's Room suited your needs. We do have the Reagan Room for smaller groups.

I look forward to having you stay with us again. Thank you.

Tina Strange
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    42
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
53
27
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Comfortable beds, huge room, really good breakfast (they do interesting things with scrambled eggs - go ahead and try them). The pool looked fun but I didn't have my cossie with me so didn't try it.
If I have a beef it is that there was no kettle in the room and I know from experience that water boiled in the coffee maker tastes surprisingly like... well, coffee and is thus useless for tea. Likewise the plastic cups do nothing for the subtlety of tea - but that's ok, I have learned to travel with my own (real) cup and I was lent a kettle on this occasion.
Not the cheapest, but definitely the best.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Dixon, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Jennifer,

It was a pleasure having you as a guest in our hotel.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to respond to the online survey at Trip Advisor.

It is comments such as yours that help us to provide the very best service possible to our guests.
I am sorry there wasn't a tea kettle in the room. I will pass this suggestion along. Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your room and the staff. I will pass those along to the staff.

I look forward to having you stay with us again. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Tina Strange
Front Office Manage
Comfort Inn
136 Plaza Drive
Dixon, IL 61021
815-284-0500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I needed a late checkout and it was no problem, great breakfast and the room was quite and clean. Lobby was nice and had free coffee at all hours, the vending machines have a very good selection. Walmart next door so anything you would need is close by.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Dixon, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Jim,

It was a pleasure having you as a guest in our hotel.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to respond on Trip Advisor regarding your stay.

It is comments such as yours that help us to provide the very best service possible to our guests. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and deeply appreciate your kind words.

I look forward to have you stay with us again. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Tina Strange
Front Office Manager

Comfort Inn
136 Plaza Drive
Dixon, IL 61021
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Originally only reserved one night - when we checked in, we realized that we would like to stay another night - because there were teenagers all over, there were doubts as to whether we would be able to add the additional night. We were. Life is good. The breakfast was a joy - the two women who maintqained the area also wer a huge help - I had my walker but juggling coffe with a glass of milk and a waffle was one hand more than I had... they helped. IMMENSELY. I needed a shower seat - the one provided was perfect. Drove all over the place Sunday. Drove to Utica/Ottawa on Monday and did not want to drive anywhere for dinner. The folks at the front desk had menus, restaurants who delivered, allsorts of ideas. They were quite a huge help.
It rained Tuesday when we left - again - the folks at the front desk were a help. An absolute joy to see, shop, visit. We shall be back . . .

Room Tip: I had a handicapped room in the East wing - about twenty steps from the Breakfast Room and near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaZoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Dixon, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
It was a pleasure having you as a guest in our hotel. I would like to thank you for taking the time to respond on Tripadvisor. It is comments such as yours that help us to provide the very best service possible to our guests. I look forward to you staying with us again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralville, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Not only do all the front desk folks welcome you very professionally, the ladies serving the free breakfast (Chris, Teresa, and Kathy) are wonderfully friendly and accommodating. The rooms are always kept very clean and comfortable. I have not stayed at other places in Dixon, IL, but I can say that the Comfort Inn is and excellent choice...indeed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Dixon, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
We apprecitate you taking the time,out of your day to write a review on our hotel.

Thank you for your kind words. We strive to provide excellence in every area of the hotel.

Sincerely,

Teresa Maynard, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We have stayed at this location before and have always been pleased. After staying at other Comfort Inn locations in the past few months, our recent experience at the Dixon Comfort Inn reminded us why this location is still one of our favorites. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean. Beds are comfortable and give you a great night of sleep. The hot breakfast in the morning is better than most other Comfort Inns as their scrambled eggs actually look real, the sausage is tasty and the biscuits and gravy are very flavorful. The staff in the breakfast area go out of their way to insure you have everything you want and need in a good breakfast meal. We highly recommend a stay at the Dixon Comfort Inn!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa M, Manager at Comfort Inn Dixon, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Teresa Maynard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Nice place, but consider the room (suite) average. Breakfast was very good. Would stay here again. Easy drive to downtown. Hotel staff were very friendly. Lots of restaurants in the area as well as a few minutes away in downtown Dixon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyfromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dixon
12.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rock Falls
16.1 mi away
Paddle Wheel Inn
Paddle Wheel Inn
#1 of 1 in Oregon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rock Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Rochelle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
12.0 mi away
Days Inn - Rock Falls
Days Inn - Rock Falls
#4 of 6 in Rock Falls
3.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
23.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rochelle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Dixon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Dixon

Property: Comfort Inn Dixon
Address: 136 Plaza Drive, Dixon, IL 61021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Dixon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dixon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Dixon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Dixon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dixon Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing