We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL GREAT STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL GREAT STAFF”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

From my arrival to departure my stay here was fantastic! The front desk had the task of helping me check in after an awful experince at the car rental desk at the airport. They made me feel welcome and were the opposite of what happened just an hour before. The staffs actions made me feel better and check in was flawless. Great room, great bed, great amenities in the room, and great price to. More hotels should be like this.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sedona2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, Manager at Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
So sorry to hear about your expirience with the car rental. I am very happy that we were able to make you feel better.

Thanks for staying with us, enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    133
    34
    15
    8
See reviews for
104
45
18
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NASHVILLE
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Usual Marriott high standards as far as cleanliness, etc, but service at this hotel was probably the worst for any Marriott that we have seen. It started with check-in, desk staff was rude and unfriendly, the guy rushed through answers to a couple of questions, then he was obviously annoyed when I asked for clarificationin a follow-up question. Later in 3 night stay, asked for info on well-known Chicago-area restaurant chain, and they sent us to an address; once we got there, found out that location had been gone for two years, had been replaced by a bar. Finally, wouldn't give us a late check-out, even though we were rushing back from outskirts on Sunday morning to get checked out in time. Every other hotel we have stayed at has given us a late check-out when needed. And this was a Sunday, nobody was busting to check in, they just said they "don't do late check-outs". Yeah, they don't do customer service either. One last thing, they were pleased to give us a "special" (as described at check-in) for their breakfast, which was $10 per person. Turned out to be just a tick better than a free Continental breakfast at a middle-range chain. The FREE breakfast at any Hilton Garden Inn we have stayed at is far superior. So bottom line, they took our money for the room at a healthy rate for themselves, but gave back almost No customer service whatsoever. Just give us your money and then get lost

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRADLEY F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Overall, we had a pleasant stay. Check in was smooth and the staff is cheery and accommodating.

Had a bit of an issue with the heat in our room - it's that time of year when ac is needed during the day and heat at night. That was resolved with a quick phone call.

Location is convenient to anywhere in Oak Brook and Downers Grove and a quick trip via expressway to downtown Chicago and also to O'Hare.

Rooms are large and French doors separate the living area from the bedroom. However, the furnishings in the room are soooo worn and the placement of the living room tv - on the counter of the mini kitchen - next to the microwave - is really awkward and not user friendly. Just one tiny closet - a problem for more than two people or more than one night - but the shower was glorious and the bed was comfortable and the pillows and towels were fluffy.

Bad coffee in the room was made worse by pretend creamer - wish there was a coffee bar in the lobby. Room service coffee was only slightly better. Husband ran out to grab Starbucks the second morning.

Updating the rooms with new furnishings and more efficient, thoughtful, useful, furniture and arrangement would go a long way to make this an excellent experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shopgirlblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, Manager at Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. All of the items that you mentioned we are either addressing or have already been corrected. Thank you for such a thoughtful response!

Enjoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I've lived at the Marriott Suites, Mariott Oakbrook or Marriott Oakbrook Hills for the last 9 months. Of the three, Marriott Suits is my favorite for room accomodations and service. They are the only Mariott with facial recognition -- as soon as I walk in the lobby, I am always greated by name. Rooms are comfortable and spacious. Their breakfast is standard Marriott-good. Restaurant, apart from breakfast, is a 2 out of 5, but so are the others. Their indoor/outdoor pool is very nice, although their hot tub and indoor pool are a little on the cool side. Each Marriott excells in different areas, but I stay here for what is important to me.

Room Tip: Ask for an East facing room for great morning sunlight and a good start to the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusTraveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, Manager at Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you so much for your loyalty to all of our great Marriott hotels in the area. But a special thanks for sharing your great comments about our team in Downers Grove.

Enjoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

At 8:00 AM the "hot" water was tepid. By 8:45 it was warm enough to take a shower, but the water pressure was so low that I had to really fiddle with the diverter on the tub spout to keep the shower running.

For those of you not traveling on your company's money, be aware that they charge $13 per day for Internet access.

I had booked a 4-night stay. When I checked out after one night nobody at the front desk asked why I was leaving early or even "How was your stay?"

Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I expected to have a problem finding a room in the area as we were in town for the Ryder's Cup. Normally we stay at the Oakbrook Marriott, but this time it was not available. I was pleasantly surprised with this Marriott Suites. There was plenty of light in the room, the bed was comfortable, and the layout of the bath/shower and sink area was perfect for two people getting dressed at the same time. Two large screen TV's were perfect. Very clean property. We did not use it, but there is a nice pool area. The staff was very helpful. The location is good as it is close to 355. As compared to the Oakbrook Marriott...if you are gold status at Marriott, you will get a nice free breakfast at the Oakbrook Marriott. If you want to be near shopping, then Oakbrook is for you. However, if you want a larger room with a separate area for TV viewing, Downers Grove is for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laplume9254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I was in town for a family event in Naperville and was unfamiliar with the area. I booked this hotel, which was actually farther from our event than another Marriott but wasn't disappointed being this far away. The room had nice French doors which provided us privacy from our daughter who was with us. The bed was extremely comfortable and the property was in great shape. Will definately stay again if the opportunity presents itself...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelC57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downers Grove
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Lombard Oak Brook
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
#5 of 7 in Downers Grove
96 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove

Property: Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove
Address: 1500 Opus Pl, Downers Grove, IL 60515-5719
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Downers Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savor the modern style of the newly renovated Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove. From artwork and lighting to work space that works for you, our guest rooms have been redesigned to be stylish, intuitive and smart. A top choice among hotels in Downers Grove, IL, Marriott suites exceeds guests' expectations with a blend of comfort and convenience in a boutique-like setting. Every Downers Grove hotel suite features contemporary design touches, large private bedrooms, spacious living areas, microwaves and mini-fridges. Take a dip in our heated indoor and outdoor pools, or work up a sweat in our 1,000 sq. ft. fitness center. Ideal for business and leisure travelers, our location is in the heart of the East-West corridor between Interstates 88 and 355 and offers easy access to popular attractions like the Brookfield Zoo, Morton Arboretum, or Oak Brook Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove Hotel Downers Grove
Marriott Downers Grove
Downers Grove Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing