We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised Find!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Surprised Find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at this property for 2 nights the past weekend. The location is pretty good (right in the center of the suburbs), with shopping close by. Check-in was smooth; staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast (comped due to my Gold status) was very good (cooked-to-order omelet, among other things).

The room is on the small side (quite crampy). We needed the door to separate our two young children during bedtime, but the door which separates the living area from the bedroom is very thin, not really doing what it's supposed to do.

Overall, a nice hotel! And I would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent H, Manager at Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. As a Gold member, your loyalty to our hotels is very important. We appreciate your business and feedback. We will share your feedback for future renovation plans. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    124
    33
    14
    8
See reviews for
97
44
18
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I work often in Downers Grove and have stayed at this hotel for 99% of my trips to the area. The staff is wonderful. The hotel is clean and modern. And the location is perfect for excursions in and around the DG area.

My only obstacle from giving the hotel 5 stars is the food. The bar and lounge are great and the bartenders are friendly, and surprisingly good at remembering regular guests. The food is mostly good - good enough to tide you over on nights when going to another restaurant isn't practical. But its pricey, sometimes headscratchingly so. And as a result expectations might be overly elevated.

Again, I can't say enough about the staff. Friendly, patient, and the epitome of great customer service. I would never think of staying anywhere else in DG.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josephcouture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent H, Manager at Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you staying with us for your trips to our area! We appreciate the repeat business. We will share your feedback with our management team. Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laawton
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I found my stay to be very unpleasant, I have done a lot of traveling in my day and have never had to pay any amount of money for wireless internet in my room they charge 13$ (usd) for every 24 hours. The spa was horrible it could use a facelift the paint was all flaked off in many areas it looked like you where sitting in a cement mixer more or less. The elevator had around 25 lights in it witch there where around 10 that did not work so poor lighting in them. The pool had some debre in it you could still swim in it but was there for 3 nights and it never was cleaned well there. The room it self did not have a decent layout I had a room with a balcony but to go outside onto it you need to move the fold out couch that blocks the door,also under the couch you have a outlet that 2 lamps where plug into I prayed these did not catch on fire well sleeping seeing there right under the couch.I know these review might sound a little like nit picking but if it was your money you might understand. The only good thing from this hotel is the pictures they took when it was first built to lure you in just rember when selecting a hotel a picture is worth a thousand words and one word that comes to my mind was deceived. I hope this was help full and happy hotel hunting to all and all a good night. ps. Also there was no breakfest included in your room rate and a omelette from room service was around 13$ so we went out to eat at Ihop and Dennys

Room Tip: Hopefully none at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent H, Manager at Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
We're sorry to hear of your concerns at our hotel. We will address the items that are within our control and apreciate your feedback. If you return to the area in the future, we would love the opportunity to host you again and potentially turn your experience into a better one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, while playing in a hockey tournament in Darien. The hotel was very clean and quiet. The workers were very pleasant and helpful when we had questions. The outdoor pool was very nice and we spent a lot of time relaxing there. The hotel is very close to a lot of restaraunts as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simhap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent H, Manager at Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thanks so much for your feedback and for bringing your hockey team to the hotel. We appreciate the business. We're glad you enjoyed the pool. Let us know if we can assist you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This was my second stay at this property. Rooms are comfortable with separate living and sleeping areas, The style is not too modern but also not outdated,

What makes a big difference is the staff at the hotel.The staff is very friendly and helpful. When I noticed that one of the tires of my rental car was low on air, the front desk called hotel maintenance to pump it up. That was exceptional customer service! Thanks again for going above and beyond.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uwe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent H, Manager at Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thanks for staying at our hotel. We appreciate your kinds words about our staff and we're glad that we were able to assist you with your tire. If you're in the area in the future, please stop by and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The indoor/outdoor heated pool amazing!! The handicap access for wheelchair guest brought a tear to my eye. They check the pool/ fitness area frequently to make sure everything is in order.

We were greeted by and check-in w/ Lucy F.. She was absolutely wonderful and helpful. Called a few minutes later after we got to our room as promised. We highly recommend her as a superior staff member. She also checked us out a few days later. Our stay was wonderful n will stay here again when we come back to Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaKatzMeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent H, Manager at Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
We appreciate the love! Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

If you want are on a business trip and have to stay in DG have no fear and pick the Marriott suites. The hotel is well kept, clean and has a great staff. The location is ideal and access is real easy. Surrounded by a number if great restaurants and the convenience of a fitness chain right across from it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cvv69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent H, Manager at Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thanks so much for the recommendation! We appreciate the business. Yes, our partnership with XSport Fitness across the street certainly is a great treat for our guests. Thanks again for staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downers Grove
0.6 mi away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
1.5 mi away
The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
#1 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
1.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - Lombard/Oak Brook
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove

Property: Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove
Address: 1500 Opus Pl, Downers Grove, IL 60515-5719
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Downers Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savor the modern style of the newly renovated Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove. From artwork and lighting to work space that works for you, our guest rooms have been redesigned to be stylish, intuitive and smart. A top choice among hotels in Downers Grove, IL, Marriott suites exceeds guests' expectations with a blend of comfort and convenience in a boutique-like setting. Every Downers Grove hotel suite features contemporary design touches, large private bedrooms, spacious living areas, microwaves and mini-fridges. Take a dip in our heated indoor and outdoor pools, or work up a sweat in our 1,000 sq. ft. fitness center. Ideal for business and leisure travelers, our location is in the heart of the East-West corridor between Interstates 88 and 355 and offers easy access to popular attractions like the Brookfield Zoo, Morton Arboretum, or Oak Brook Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove Hotel Downers Grove
Marriott Downers Grove
Downers Grove Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing