We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed here on our way into Chicago during a move because they allowed pets. It was the dirtiest hotel we've ever stayed in. All the bedding was easily 20 years old. We would've left if not for having driven 23 hours and it being 3 am.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa32490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

Was in Downers Grove for a night and decided to stay at this property. The location is very convenient with easy access to major freeways. Since I was here for only one night and had to check out very early in the morning, I did not get to experience the complimentary breakfast. Ample parking outside the hotel. The hotel property itself is an older property and in dire need of a complete renovation. The room furnishings are dated and need to be replaced. The AC unit did not work well. The TV is an older box type (not a flat panel). The carpeting in the room looked like it has not been replaced for a long, long time. In general, the rooms looked a little bit on the shabbier side and definitely didn't measure up to the standard of the newer HIEs that I have stayed at before. The service at the front desk, however, was friendly and efficient. All in all, given what I paid for this room, I think you should be able to find better alternatives nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VineetD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Our stay in HIE Downers Grove started with some hiccups. We booked an rollaway bed, but, on arrival, I had been told that there're no rollaways available. However, after I made it known to the receptionist lady that it is, basically, her problem (we booked the bed, we paid for it and, if she is unable to provide a rollaway, she has an option of giving us an extra room for free), she said she was going to double-check, and a rollaway magically became available 3 minutes later.

That event basically set the tone for our stay in this HIE. OK place, good price, but you not without hiccups. On the positive side, this is decent place 30 minutes from downtown Chicago (I've checked). Breakfast features actual food, rooms are big and clean, A/C unit in the room is quiet. On the negative side, mattresses are too soft, lines are old (but clean) and breakfast items aren't replenished often enough. On our second day there, they ran out of bacon by 8:30 a.m. and out of scrambled eggs by 8:45, but breakfast is till 9 a.m. So, anyone coming to have a breakfast in last 15 minutes didn't have much choice of hot food (oats or bisquits with gravy). And they locked the door of food area in 8:59 sharp.

I would not mind to stay here again, but there's nothing to make me miss the place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Me and my family make a reservation in internet and we know the price already, its $89.00 and book 2 rms.we arrive there at i:30 pm the are not ready yet, which is ok because the check-in time is at 3:00 pm . we left and come back at 8:pm we are tired and they let my wife sign the paper works and my wife signed it. we ask the F.D. a baby crib and they want us to pay, but we argue that it should be free and finally they provide us free. when we are ready to check-out we foound out that they charge us $129.00 for each room so we complained and finally they agree to go down the price becau we show them the internet print out of our reservation. but still not right becuase it $99.00 each room they want. Now taht we just came back from vacation we complaint tour Credit Card Comp. not to pay the deffirence. I hope other guest to watch out what ever they sign b 4 check inn. especially these particular Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank junsosmena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The family stayed in 2 adjoining rooms for one night. It was recommended by a frequent business traveler, and his recommendation was right on. This is a decent place with helpful staff. Good location right off of !-355 at Butterfield and near I-88. We worked with the front desk folks to get adjoining rooms and they were very attentive and helpful. Breakfast is included and has actual food! Pancakes, eggs and bacon were great. Plenty of restaurants nearby (try Portillo's across the street for hot dogs and Italian beef sandwiches). My only gripe was our mattress. It was lumpy and uncomfortable. We found the same mattress issue in our second room, too. Overall, this is a good place for the money. I might look elsewhere if we were staying longer.

Room Tip: Call hotel directly and explain your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SafeHomeAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

The room size was ok. not enough tv channel.light switchs dirty.food su-ked.Went to work one morning came back to take a shower,my shampoo was missing.Thank god i brought shampoo from another motel i stayed at. I will stay at another motel when i come back in May,June Auguest,September

Room Tip: I like hampton but thy changed hands in lombard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcoldfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

The Rooms were clean, and the night staff and the morning staff made me feel like I was home!

Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingOnBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downers Grove
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
#3 of 7 in Downers Grove
104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
0.2 mi away
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
4.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Lombard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove

Address: 3031 Finley Rd, Downers Grove, IL 60515-1117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Downers Grove
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Price Range: £49 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Downers Grove/Oakbrook Hotel is conveniently located near Chicago IL in the western suburbs and is accessible to all major expressways I-209, I-88 and right in between Midway International Airport and O Hare International Airport on the corner of I-355 and Butterfield Rd. We are surrounded by the communities of Oakbrook, Lombard, Lisle, Darien, Wheaton and Glen Ellyn. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure you will appreciate our central location near Best Buy, Coca-Cola, Sara Lee, Troxler Electronic Laboratories, Home Depot, Sodexo, Dale Carnegie, Microsoft, Good Samaritan Hospital, Tivoli Theater, Darien Sports Complex, Morton Arboretum, Brookfield Zoo and more! Shopping and restaurants are also within a short walking distance. This Downers Grove hotel offers all the comforts of home with our 121 beautifully appointed guest rooms. Relax in your cozy deluxe room after a long day and we will provide you with amenities including complimentary high speed internet access, an in room coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, iron and full sized ironing board and more. We also offer a 24 hour fitness center, 24 hour business center and meeting space for up to 80 people. In the morning we will have your mouth watering at our complimentary Express Hot Smart Start Breakfast Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove Hotel Downers Grove
Holiday Inn Downers Grove
Downers Grove Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing