We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

This hotel needs a little sprucing up but the staff and location more than make up for it. Staff always goes out of their way for you. Regardless of where my meetings are in the suburbs, I always base out of here. Location is good. You are within feet of the 355 expressway and less than a mile from the 88. Lots of places close by to eat. Yorktown Mall is right down the road and Oak Brook Mall is about 15 minutes away if you need to shop for something.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have balconies for no extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRiseling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    45
    27
    14
    10
See reviews for
55
24
11
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights during the 4th of July weekend. For starters, the hotel is conveniently located. Not too far from downtown Chicago, took us about 30 mins to reach downtown. The room was very spacious but the bathroom needed improvement. The toilet bowl was old, stained and the flush made a really funny noise everytime I used it! I didn't really care about it because we were out most of the time. The breakfast was OK, nothing great. The front desk staff were friendly.
Overall it is a hotel that gives good VFM. Good for short stays if you don't really bother much about the amenities.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseV19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I appreciate your feedback on the hotel. We do have a great location with lots to offer just a short distance away! I am sorry to hear that the condition of the hotel did not meet your expectations. We are working on improvements daily and we hope that you will give us a try in the near future.

Thank you for staying with us a happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

I was here on business for a couple of nights. The staff at the hotel were friendly -made you think they wanted you to stay with them, not the feeling you get everywhere. The location was easy to access off the freeways - with the major construction on I-90 coming in from the north, it was nice to be able come in via I-39 and I-88 and avoid it altogether. There are numerous choices of restaurants in the immediate area. The room and all other areas of the hotel were clean and up-to-date and I had no problems with noise, even with hotel not terribly far from the freeway. The breakfast was pretty good with a different hot item choice each day, along with the famous Holiday Inn Express cinnamon rolls.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank krinkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
We accommodate many guests each night, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. Since the principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable an friendly service to all guests at reasonable prices. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated. Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your appreciation with us.
This will be shared with the staff during our next huddle. Again, thank you for staying with us, We appreciate YOU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

I've stayed at this hotel previously while on business. I love the location, easy access to restaurants, drive to O'Hare isn't bad either. Latrice at the front desk is truly wonderful. Very helpful and genuinely friendly. My flight was early and I arrived well before check in time. I was prepared to leave my luggage, but early check in was not a problem for this hotel. Breakfast is good and the attendant is wonderful and friendly. I wish I could remember her name! Overall, when I'm in the area, I will stay at this location. Great job HIE- Downers Grove!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CYN651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! Our guests are our number one priority and we want you to feels as though you are at home when you stay with us. We appreciate your business and look forward to having you again soon! Thank you for the kind words about Latrice and the Breakfast staff, i will be sure to pass the on to the staff in out next huddle we have.
Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Me and my fiancee stayed here for 3 nights. It is a very clean, nice enviornment hotel. The staff was so friendly made us feel at home. The three ladies Latrice, Andrea and Alyssa were so awsome. We woke up late for breakfast but they managed to get us some thing to eat. The rooms were very clean, beds comfortable. We arrived in Chicago at 9am after driving 12 hours. We called the hotel and just wanted to sleep even tbo checkin time wasnt till 3, Latrice managed to get us,a room at 9am...I would love to thank them for everything. Andrea managed to get us,an extra,night and i was excited. Thanks to everyone at HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS IN DOWNERS GROVE :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassygirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Wow! Those are very kind words. I will surely celebrate your kind words with all of the staff, but especially Latrice, Andrea & Alyssa. We are so blessed to have them and appreciate all that they do. Thank you for noticing their efforts and thank you for staying with us, I am glad that we not only got you in early from your long drive, but also accommodated you with your request for another night. We look forward to having you back again soon! Thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

I would suggest I was a traveler upon arriving at the desk. My office made the reservation for the next day and hotel was struggling to find a room. Now usually at this point i get a bit nervous and start looking for my keys.....The staff came through and found a room......needed a little work , which they gladly completed, and I was able to stay......Kudos to Alyssa and Brian who were both awesome......

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Wow! Those are very kind words. I will surely celebrate your kind words with Brian & Alyssa. I am very lucky to have them, an all my staff . We do our very best to accommodate all of our guest, and i am glad that we managed to find you a room, and have you stay with us. Thank you for letting us know, and thank you for staying with us. We look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Spent two nights at the Holiday Inn Express on business with a group of kids. While the hotel was clean, it had that "hotel odor" to it. Kind of a musty smell that made you wonder what the room would be like. The room was passable and the bed was comfortable. The one thing that struck me odd was how low the ceilings were, especially in the hallways. One elevator did not help the situation at all. If they had more than 3 floors, it could have been a real issue. The breakfast was good, and they did have a selection for every taste. Coffee, not the best in the world. The staff was very friendly and accomodating though, which really helps. The real down side to this hotel is that it shares a parking lot with a Red Lobster restaurant and was very crowded all the time. A little too much traffic for a hotel paking lot. By all accounts it was passable. It could use some renovation, but I would stay again, although i would not pick it myself.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your Comments. A hotel is defined by the quality of service that it provides to its guests. Because our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how
we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated. Please be assured that the issues you have raised have been addressed. We take pride in our hotel, and do our best to prevent problems from recurring.
Tricia McCallum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downers Grove
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
#5 of 7 in Downers Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
0.2 mi away
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
1.3 mi away
The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove

Property: Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove
Address: 3031 Finley Rd, Downers Grove, IL 60515-1117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Downers Grove
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Downers Grove/Oakbrook Hotel is conveniently located near Chicago IL in the western suburbs and is accessible to all major expressways I-209, I-88 and right in between Midway International Airport and O Hare International Airport on the corner of I-355 and Butterfield Rd. We are surrounded by the communities of Oakbrook, Lombard, Lisle, Darien, Wheaton and Glen Ellyn. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure you will appreciate our central location near Best Buy, Coca-Cola, Sara Lee, Troxler Electronic Laboratories, Home Depot, Sodexo, Dale Carnegie, Microsoft, Good Samaritan Hospital, Tivoli Theater, Darien Sports Complex, Morton Arboretum, Brookfield Zoo and more! Shopping and restaurants are also within a short walking distance. This Downers Grove hotel offers all the comforts of home with our 121 beautifully appointed guest rooms. Relax in your cozy deluxe room after a long day and we will provide you with amenities including complimentary high speed internet access, an in room coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, iron and full sized ironing board and more. We also offer a 24 hour fitness center, 24 hour business center and meeting space for up to 80 people. In the morning we will have your mouth watering at our complimentary Express Hot Smart Start Breakfast Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove Hotel Downers Grove
Holiday Inn Downers Grove
Downers Grove Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing