We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicely located and large, clean suites” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
United States
1 review
“Nicely located and large, clean suites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Very nice hotel-the suites were very pleasant; since we were located just outside the gathering area on second floor I was concerned about groups of people that were sitting outside the room but the bedroom located at the back area of suite made this a non-issue. Pleasant staff-the day staff better than night staff but there appeared to be more during the day?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    192
    98
    50
    29
See reviews for
198
79
38
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Check in was good, rooms was average. Even though is it more suited for families as there are 2 rooms and 2 tvs. kids would enjoy this more. Rooms are fashioned in such a way that there is a huge quadrangle surrounded by all the rooms.
However the hotel doesnt provide complimentary breakfast nor WIFI. they charge for each device for WIFI. Thankfully the WIFI is available free in the lobby. The saving grace is they give you a hot cookie when you check in which was good. The restaurant people are very friendly and helpful. Service was also good. They repaired a light bulb which wasnt working when we checked in. Overall just about ok for the business traveller probably more suited for large families.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mukundkasthuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Location of hotel is not within downtown Chicago, and the lower price per night is not worth the time/energy spent trying to get to/from downtown Chicago. If your going to Chicago for the weekend with limited time, stay downtown off of Michigan Ave.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Randall G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed here for a youth sports event over 5 nights. The staff was amazing. Kim at the front desk was so helpful. Train to city was only a short distance away. To far to walk along and across the freeway, but hotel would shuttle us to the station. Door to room appeared to be French doors, but only one opened. Would have been nice to have the option of opening both doors especially when socializing with others in the living room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KhanMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Throughout my entire stay from check-in to Check-out the front desk staff were very unfriendly. Any type of assistance I inquired about was met with resistance and negative attitude. The staff barely smiled and seemed like they were just there for a pay check. I would say this has been a theme over the last couple of stays I have at this hotel. The rooms are nice and the beds are very comfortable. The breakfast buffet is fair at best and very limited for a full service hotel of this nature. After my negative interaction with the front desk on this particular stay. I am looking at moving my business to another property. Which is 20 rooms about every 6 weeks. As the front desk supervisor put it "Were always booked and we'll have not trouble filling the rooms". I guess this is the new type of leader Hilton is grooming...good luck.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Wl813504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dtechman, Director of Sales at Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Bill L thank you for the candid review. There are many other reviews that speak highly of the many team members who do an outstanding job. That tells me we have some work to do to insure we deliver a consistent and positive experience. We are sorry that you encountered such negativity and we will share your comments with all involved to insure that our service improves. The comments you experienced about filling the rooms with other business do not reflect the views of the other managers and supervisors in the building. This too must change! We wish you safe travels and happier stays in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

I stay in the Double Tree in Downers Grove whenever I stay in the Chicago area. The staff is very helpful and friendly and wants you to come back. The facilities available here are many and conducive to meetings, family gatherings, business meals and more. I will always stay at this property!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Howard R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This hotel is tops in my book. The location is great. It is close to numerous eateries and the freeway. The rooms were absolutely HUGE! It was almost like a small apartment.
The staff attended to our every need. Indeed, one of the front desk employees (Russell) guided us on our food decisions. We were going to a steakhouse and he gently steered us to a better restaurant . Without a doubt, his choice was the best. We asked for a suggestion for a pizza place that delivered, again, his recommendation did not disappoint !
If and when I go back to Chicago, this place is at th top of my lst of places to stay!
Oh and we even had a shuttle take us to some of our restaurants! The shuttle driver was alo very nice

Room Tip: If you need help in choosing a restaurant , ask Russell, he gives the best tips!,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sttflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dtechman, Director of Sales at Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you Sttflygirl! We are glad you had the opportunity to take advantage of our spacious suites and the fine services of Russell. He always has the best recommendations! We will share your comments with him and the rest of the team. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downers Grove
0.6 mi away
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
1.9 mi away
The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - Lombard/Oak Brook
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
#5 of 7 in Downers Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
#1 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove

Property: Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
Address: 2111 Butterfield Rd, Downers Grove, IL 60515-1043
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Downers Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago-Downers Grove is situated in Chicago's western suburbs next to Lombard and Oakbrook, Illinois. Centrally located between Chicago O'Hare International Airport (ORD) and Chicago Midway (MDW) the Doubletree Suites Downers Grove is the perfect choice for business meetings. Offering an International Association of Conference Center (IACC) approved meeting facility, our comfortable surroundings and exceptional catering team provide the ultimate environment for any business or social occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Guest Suites & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove Hotel
Doubletree Guest Suites And Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
Doubletree Downers Grove
Doubletree Chicago Downer Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing