We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

An exhaust fan in the bathroom would have been helpful. Digital clock did not have the correct time but was promptly adjusted by the staff after my complaint. Pool had a very strong chlorine smell. A separate table with large mirror and electrical outlet ( for hair blower)was perfect for applying makeup/styling hair. There is a salon on the premises which I availed myself of their services...they did a decent job! Great cookies and you only need to ask for more.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

My stay at the DoubleTree was very nice. No complaints. I had a little trouble with the internet connection but it was resolved quickly. I was a little disappointed that the breakfast on the week end didn't start until 7am due to the course at the ASGE started at 7:30 which gave very little time to eat before the day.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Pamela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

During my stay there was a wedding reception and numerous parties going on at the hotel. The guests were noisy, left garbage all over the floors and were smoking drugs in the hotel. I also did not have any washcloths in my room. Called housekeeping but they were never brought. Bad management at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank sarahcJ8946ZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dtechman, Director of Sales at Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

sarahcJ8946ZZ we take your comments very seriously and do not tolerate ANY illegal activity in our hotel. I hope you brought these activities to the attention of our manager on duty and/or security team. We will review your comments with the staff and also get to the root cause for our failure to deliver the washcloth's you requested. I apologize for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel is not bad, but a bit dated, and more attention to detail would be nice. The fitness center is NOT at the hotel, but through some non-air conditioned hallways, and weekend hours are extremely limited. Also, fitness center staff was rude to several hotel guests. If you are looking for a Hilton property of similar style, there is an Embassy Suites just a few minutes away. Would have stayed there, but they were completely booked for the night. Breakfast buffet was ok. Scrambled eggs were a bit watery, and wait staff had a bad habit of staring at guests while they ate. No hot water available for tea or hot chocolate drinkers. Also, WIFI in guest rooms was very poor. There was a slow connection in the living room area, but no service in the bedroom.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dtechman, Director of Sales at Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Joseph K we really do appreciate your comments and especially how specific they are. The specific items allow us to really zero in on the areas that need improving. It may sound like a broken record, but we really do share these comments with the management team and line staff so that we can improve. We are not satisifed to be "not bad" and work everyday to earn a better rating than this. Rudeness in the "Hospitality" business is not acceptable and there is no excuse for it. Great team members can make up for some of the shortcomings a hotel deals with in the physical building. Rest assured we will focus on your feddback and improve. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel was a nice hotel. My only complaint is that I expected 2 bathrooms but my room only had 1 bathroom. The ad sent to me via email suggested that the room would have 2 bathrooms. Otherwise, everything else was great.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Donald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dtechman, Director of Sales at Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Donald T, we are so glad you liked the hotel. Your comment about the two bathrooms makes us want to scratch our heads and wonder...where did that ad come from? We do not have any rooms with 2 bathrooms. We would love to know where that came from so we can reach out and get this corrected. Thank you for sharing your experience and we will keep our eye out for that ad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I spent a long weekend in this hotel with a friend. The suite was a generous size with enough room for the 2 of us to spread out. Bed super comfy, bedroom very quiet. There was a bit of noise coming out of the atrium from a party during the weekend, but we could only hear that faintly in the living room. Breakfast during the week was awesome! Lots of choices, very friendly wait staff. Weekend breakfast was not quite as good but still many choices. It was just a bit more noisy and crowded than the weekday breakfast and I felt like it was a bit more of an assembly line meal, but you won't leave breakfast hungry. Hotel was convenient to shopping which was what my friend and I were in town for. If going into downtown Chicago, be sure to leave plenty of time for traffic and construction - it was 1.5 hrs + to get to Wrigley Field about 30 miles away. All in all we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Hotel was very nice. rooms are big and very clean. staff was adequate but could have been friendlier. gift shop is lacking. not too many snacks or microwavable foods. there was a sign for newspapers available in lobby but there appeared to be only one copy. rooms have larger refrigerators and a nice microwave. Cookies were awesome as usual!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Virginia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dtechman, Director of Sales at Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Virginia F, we really appreciate the comments about our gift shop. We have a new vendor operating the shop and your comments will help us improve what is offered to our guests. They are experienced operators of other hotel gift shops in the chicagoland area, but they are new to our hotel and guests so they are still learning their market. Your comments about the Front Desk staff will be reviewed and addressed with the team. We are glad you enjoyed your room and the cookie! We hope to see you back again soon so you can see the progress we are making with our service initiatives.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downers Grove
0.5 mi away
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
#3 of 7 in Downers Grove
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Lombard Oak Brook
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lisle near Naperville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove

Address: 2111 Butterfield Rd, Downers Grove, IL 60515-1043
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Downers Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Price Range: £71 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago-Downers Grove is situated in Chicago's western suburbs next to Lombard and Oakbrook, Illinois. Centrally located between Chicago O'Hare International Airport (ORD) and Chicago Midway (MDW) the Doubletree Suites Downers Grove is the perfect choice for business meetings. Offering an International Association of Conference Center (IACC) approved meeting facility, our comfortable surroundings and exceptional catering team provide the ultimate environment for any business or social occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Guest Suites & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove Hotel
Doubletree Guest Suites And Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
Doubletree Downers Grove
Doubletree Chicago Downer Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing