We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and no frills, can't beat the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean and no frills, can't beat the price”
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Recently stayed at the hotel for business. Read prior reviews which rated it favorably, but traveling from out of state, not sure what to expect. Room was clean. Air conditioning worked well. Sink and bath tub drained well, no back-up. Linens were clean. What not to expect: no fridge in room and no continental breakfast in the morning, just coffee. However, you cannot beat the price! One other issue to contend with is my computer was receiving a low frequency for internet connection. There are two builidings to the property and I was in the second building which might explain the low frequency. The area surrounding the property is in a retail area. There is an Olive Garden down the street and easily accessible to the interstate.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etzella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    61
    25
    27
    18
See reviews for
51
35
35
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We recently stayed one night at the Red Roof so that we can be close to friends in Woodridge and a short distance to O'Hare Airport. The positives of our stay was: location to major highway and restaurants, familiarity of the area and price. The beds were very firm - I would not say comfortable; TV not a flat screen with good picture. The room and restroom was clean but did need updating. Temperature control was fine. Here is the negative for me - the room smelled of cigarette smoke. I had asked for a non-smoking room, but the door to the room nor others were labeled as non-smoking. There was a small sign on the desk stating it was non-smoking. This was disappointing and made the one night somewhat uncomfortable given the price and convenience of staying here. I would recommend if you are looking for a quick and cheap night in a convenient location to airports, restaurant and highways with the understanding that if looking for a non-smoking room you might want to check the room first.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkeye27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2011

I love the stay in the Red Roof Inn I love the incredible Stay like: the Manager Kathy or Cathy and the front desk staff like Ross, and the other staffs are wonderful they are there when I need I have questions about the room . Like the cleaning is very clean they make you feel like if you are at home I do recommend the Red Roof Inn to any one just come in and you will know what we are talking about I love the stay here ........

Room Tip: the whole area is just great to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2010

All the reviews must be from the RRoof staff. A dump. Rooms are old and dark..the tabacco smell was present.. the beds were lumpy and very elastic, and worst of all the customer trade over the weekend was very rough and strange... we did'nt feel particulary secure. The worst thing about this whole deal was relying on the aforementioned reviews. Please take your $70.00 a night and pay a little more anywhere

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank blammers04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisle, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2010

So I work for the Nuclear Regulatory Commission. And, in general, we get per diem that affords us some pretty good hotels throughout the country. We also get a great "government rate" so together while on business travel, I stay at some hotels I probably wouldn't stay at if on my own - in other words - I feel very fortunate.

So yesterday, coming off travel and not having per diem, I needed to find a hotel close to Chicago. The first few I checked were full, so I called the Red Roof Inn in Downers Grove, IL. They had a king bed for $49 plus tax. (I was, to be honest, concerned about the quality, cleanliness and type of rest I would be getting there.)

So I get there late last evening, and was SHOCKED!! Place was clean, quiet and all the furniture, sheets, towels, etc were in EXCEPTIONAL condition!!!! AND, best of all, the bed was VERY comfortable. The room was small, but I SLEPT LIKE A BABY!!

THANKS RED ROOF INN!! THANKS for not going the way of the Super-8 Chain across the country these past ten years - I still would NEVER stay there again no matter where I am in America.

Good Job Red Roof Inn!! ($49 for a nice clean, comfortable room 45 minutes from O'Hare Airport!!!)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wgs84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2010

I do not travel for vacation, I go to this location to see a doctor. I have been going up to that area for 3 years now. I have found the only place I will stay. I love this red froof inn. The front desk folks are friendly, the rooms are clean and they smell fresh. Safe too, I would stay there by myself if I had too, and not be afraid to come and go anytime of day or night!
There are more then enough place to chose from to dine at from fast food to sit down...fancy to right out of the bag!

Free WI_FI to so what more would you need. No Pool though, but afordable

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifis_momma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whiting NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2010

I was met with very personable and helpful saff. I was given a clean comfortable all access room. When i was ready to depart I realized i had printed out my directions to my home in NJ backwards I asked the office staff if they could go to the internet and get me the right directions printed, I had my directions in minutes.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomwhitingnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downers Grove
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
#4 of 7 in Downers Grove
91 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove
0.5 mi away
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Chicago Lombard
1.0 mi away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
1.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lombard - Oakbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove

Property: Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
Address: 1113 Butterfield Rd, Downers Grove, IL 60515-1057
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Downers Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Chicago - Downers Grove is conveniently located off of I-88 at Butterfield Road, convenient to Lombard, Downers Grove and Oak Brook. This hotel is located within walking distance of Yorktown Mall, a movie theater and many great restaurants. Features include complimentary wireless internet, guest laundry, and flat-screen TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downers Grove Hotel Downers Grove
Red Roof Inn Downers Grove
Downers Grove Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing