We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got a great night's sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The room was clean, comfortable and VERY QUIET. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is fairly central in the Chicago metropolitan area and seemed to be fairly safe. There are lots of restaurants and shopping close by. I was so pleased with everything!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Carolyn,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at the Downers Grove Red Roof Inn. We are glad to hear that you got a great night of sleep!

Feedback from our guests is very important in continuing to improve the quality of our hotel and I will be sure to share your comments with the rest of the team.

Thanks again for being our guest and for sharing your experience! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Aaron Ebert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

From the excellent front staff (Jason, Justin, Chris, Clarabelle & Kyle) to the amazing housekeepers (Erica & Keyva) and not to forget maintenance (Alberto) as they all make your stay fabulous. These people put their hearts and souls into their jobs and really care about the guests. I would stay here again and again.

In my opinion they should be a five star hotel!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpollak148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us at the Downers Grove Red Roof Inn.

Feedback from our guests is very important in continuing to improve the quality of our hotel and I will be sure to share your comments with the rest of the team.

Thanks again for being our guest and for sharing your experience! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Aaron Ebert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I have stayed at many hotels and even at 5star hotels I have never felt more welcome or as comfortible as I have at the red roof inn. The hotel staff from upper manegment down to regular employees were great. This has to be the nicest and most down to earth group I have ever delt with. Their customer service is bar none! Whenever I needed something hotel staff's erika, keyva, along with jason and cathy were there to help and they helped with a smile. I appreciate all of there help and I will definetly be here again thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mlofton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Recently stayed at the hotel for business. Read prior reviews which rated it favorably, but traveling from out of state, not sure what to expect. Room was clean. Air conditioning worked well. Sink and bath tub drained well, no back-up. Linens were clean. What not to expect: no fridge in room and no continental breakfast in the morning, just coffee. However, you cannot beat the price! One other issue to contend with is my computer was receiving a low frequency for internet connection. There are two builidings to the property and I was in the second building which might explain the low frequency. The area surrounding the property is in a retail area. There is an Olive Garden down the street and easily accessible to the interstate.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etzella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We recently stayed one night at the Red Roof so that we can be close to friends in Woodridge and a short distance to O'Hare Airport. The positives of our stay was: location to major highway and restaurants, familiarity of the area and price. The beds were very firm - I would not say comfortable; TV not a flat screen with good picture. The room and restroom was clean but did need updating. Temperature control was fine. Here is the negative for me - the room smelled of cigarette smoke. I had asked for a non-smoking room, but the door to the room nor others were labeled as non-smoking. There was a small sign on the desk stating it was non-smoking. This was disappointing and made the one night somewhat uncomfortable given the price and convenience of staying here. I would recommend if you are looking for a quick and cheap night in a convenient location to airports, restaurant and highways with the understanding that if looking for a non-smoking room you might want to check the room first.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawkeye27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

I love the stay in the Red Roof Inn I love the incredible Stay like: the Manager Kathy or Cathy and the front desk staff like Ross, and the other staffs are wonderful they are there when I need I have questions about the room . Like the cleaning is very clean they make you feel like if you are at home I do recommend the Red Roof Inn to any one just come in and you will know what we are talking about I love the stay here ........

Room Tip: the whole area is just great to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

All the reviews must be from the RRoof staff. A dump. Rooms are old and dark..the tabacco smell was present.. the beds were lumpy and very elastic, and worst of all the customer trade over the weekend was very rough and strange... we did'nt feel particulary secure. The worst thing about this whole deal was relying on the aforementioned reviews. Please take your $70.00 a night and pay a little more anywhere

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank blammers04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downers Grove
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
#3 of 7 in Downers Grove
100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove
1.0 mi away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Chicago Lombard
0.6 mi away
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove

Address: 1113 Butterfield Rd, Downers Grove, IL 60515-1057
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Downers Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Price Range: £39 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Chicago - Downers Grove is conveniently located off of I-88 at Butterfield Road, convenient to Lombard, Downers Grove and Oak Brook. This hotel is located within walking distance of Yorktown Mall, a movie theater and many great restaurants. Features include complimentary wireless internet, guest laundry, and flat-screen TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downers Grove Hotel Downers Grove
Red Roof Inn Downers Grove
Downers Grove Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing