We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasantly Surprised!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan City, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“pleasantly Surprised!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I had a bad experience in Glen Ellyn, Il with a so called hotel. I needed a hotel in a pinch.
I took a chance on the Red Roof. It was terrific. The rooms are beautiful I took a Superior King,
Mico, Refr. Huge room, business center, free wifi. The only drawback was the old fashioned
doors opening to the parking area. I have never like that option. But, the hotel is well lit, has
professional staff working the desk, and lots of security. I would be happy to choose this
hotel next time I am in the area.

Room Tip: The superior King room is very nice. And, during a sale, was $65. Can't beat it. Close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirian L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Diane B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. My team and I at Red Roof Inn- Downers Grove are very glad that we met all of your expectations. Our recent renovation was done with our valuable guests like you in mind. I am happy to know that our Superior King room offered all the amenities that you mentioned and that it was a big plus for you. I am so pleased to know that Red Roof Inn has earned your loyalty and I will be looking forward to seeing you on your next stay.

Sincerely,

Mirian Leon
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
i0087@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    61
    24
    27
    15
See reviews for
48
35
34
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Room was OK No extras like in room coffee or an iron. It was clean and nice room fresh sheets and comfortable bed. The staff was excellent and helped out with questions. Jason was very good about helping me find a resturant I was looking for in the area. Bravo Jason! Stay was worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCtaveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirian L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am always delighted to hear that our staff continues to provide excellent customer service to our valued guests like you, Jason was very happy to read your comments as well. I would like to suggest that in your next stay with us, you might want to request one of our Superior King room which has a micro-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, Iron, hairdryer, and large work station.
Please feel free to contact us directly so that we may make your future reservations for you.
We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Sincerely,

Mirian Leon
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
i0087@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

For the price about $75 with taxes, this hotel had all I needed. Very clean, has free internet, flat screen tv, nice desk to work on the computer. Bed was very comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Overall, I was very satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgmanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirian L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. I want you to know that your positive feedback is an encouragement for the entire team at the Red Roof Inn Downers Grove. Our recent renovation and conversion to 100% smoke free was intended to meet our guest needs and satisfaction. I am glad to know that our remodeled room exceeded your expectations. Thanks again, and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
222 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 933 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

we spent one night in this motel going to Chicago. the double queen bed room (57$ tax incl with a coupon) was clean, with modern furniture and shower was perfect ! during the night there was an incident and a "piece of iron" went down !! there was a lot of noise and we really scared but at the end nothing happened. In any case, when we made check out we informed the man at the front desk , he excused for the incident and refunded us for the room: according to me this is really an excellent customer service !!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank froggy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirian L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
It was such an honor that you selected our hotel during your visit to Chicago. Also, I’m very glad that our newly remodeled 100% smoke free room fulfilled all your expectations and made your stay very pleasant. I would like to present my deepest apology for the incident that you encountered during your stay and I am very happy that we were given the opportunity to take good care of you before you departed.

Again, thank you for staying with us, and I hope to meet you in person in your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

The staff here is wonderful. Everyone is so gracious and kind. Being in a big city coming here from the south it was hard but my time here at Red Roof has given me rest and peace of mind due to the quality of service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirian L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Mr. James R.

How wonderfull it is to read positive review from our valuable guests like you. My team and I wanted to thank you for the great feedback. Please let us know if there is any thing else that we can do for you to make your stay even more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

I had a single night's stay on the way to business in Chicago. Very pleasant, very affordable, seems fresh and up-to-date. The beds were clean and comfortable, the room was quiet, the a/c was powerful and quiet.

Highlight: outstanding water pressure in the shower (I hate showers that dribble on me, this one was excellent) and a very clean bath.

Low point: coffee. Not much above gas station coffee, but it was hot, free and caffeinated. There's a Panera across the road for somewhat better coffee and decent food.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David52806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Mr. David
Thank you so much for letting us knows about your stay at our Red Roof Inn – Downers Grove. I was very happy to know that you noticed all of the upgrades done in our recent renovation. It is so delightful to read positive feedback like yours. Let me know if I can be of any service to you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

This red roof inn . Seems to always disappoint me!!!! House keeping do a poor Job. I almost always find something wrong with my room. Dirty towels, bath tub have been dirty. Some times the bed have had hair on it. I have had Bugs in my room before. They have updated they rooms and they do look nice, but House keeping don't do they job. They are good at busting in your room. The staff need customer services training. I don't even complain anymore. They don't accommodate you anyway. Why do I keep staying there. I was hoping they would get better. But this past Friday was my last time staying there. Red roof inn is not for me. One time I had a issue at this location, I was told the GM would be contacting me. It never happened . I was drying off and realize the towel I was using was dirty, so I'm still feeling discussed it about that. That was my breaking point with Red roof Inn Chicago-downers Grove.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trimainew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear Mr. Trimainew

I appreciate the time given to write a review. As I read it, I immediately became very concern, primarily because you mentioned that you are one of our loyal guests. I would like to be given an opportunity to rectify all your concerns. Please feel free to contact me at the Hotel, at any time at (630)963-4205. I can assure you that I will take the proper corrective action; my goal is to meet all your expectations in your next visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downers Grove
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
#5 of 7 in Downers Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove
0.9 mi away
Stay Inn Lombard
Stay Inn Lombard
#3 of 10 in Lombard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lombard - Oakbrook
1.0 mi away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
#4 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove

Property: Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
Address: 1113 Butterfield Rd, Downers Grove, IL 60515-1057
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Downers Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Chicago - Downers Grove is conveniently located off of I-88 at Butterfield Road, convenient to Lombard, Downers Grove and Oak Brook. This hotel is located within walking distance of Yorktown Mall, a movie theater and many great restaurants. Features include complimentary wireless internet, guest laundry, and flat-screen TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Red Roof Inn, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downers Grove Hotel Downers Grove
Red Roof Inn Downers Grove
Downers Grove Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing