We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
CAHOKIA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I travel often and have never had an experience such as this weekend (March 14-16, 2014). I reserved 3 rooms for a girls' getaway to visit the areas of Chicago. Upon check in, the night attendant was very unprofessional and unconcerned. When we returned to our rooms after shopping on Saturday afternoon, our room keys had been deactivated! The same rude attendant was there again and I was told that she thought we were only staying for one (1) night. How is that when our reservations clearly states two (2) nights! She reactivates our room keys as if we were bothering her... really? Then we asked for microwave/fridge... was told "what you see, is what you get"...next ask for ironing board and was told "use the one your other friends just got, because we have no more".... wow! Housekeepers did not clean our rooms.... all I can say is "Never again"....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LASHONDA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hello LASHONDA W

Thank you for letting us know about your experience at our property. And thank you for taking the time to speak with me over the phone prior to posting this review. During that conversation, it was discovered that there was a room type listed on our website that incorrectly showed microwaves and mini fridges (Deluxe Double), which is not available at this particular location. This has since been corrected to avoid any confusion moving forward.
Additionally, we have had several one-on-one meetings to improve our guest experience and service standards. It is our intention to provide a comfortable and enjoyable stay for all of our guests. It is my hope that you will continue to keep the Red Roof Inn brand in mind during your future travels, as we are always making strides to improve our guest satisfaction.
Thank you, again. And have a great day.

Sincerely,
John Danielson
General Manager
630-963-4205
i0087@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    61
    25
    27
    18
See reviews for
51
35
35
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Osawatomie, Kansas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We chose this hotel based on location, price and the reviews we saw at the time. The price was great for Chicago. However the bathroom and one of the beds (2 full beds) were not clean. My husband noticed and reported it to the front desk. They were quick to amend the situation, still a bit of a turn off. It is an outside entrance hotel and we visited in January when it snowed over 12". The new remodel was very nice but with the aforementioned snow, hardwood floors (1 rug between beds and 1 at door) made for wet floors. Also I did not think through how narrow a full bed is to share with a child. Usually we have a kid sleep on the floor, but with only a rug, it was pretty hard, even for a child. So for our situation, it was not stellar. The remodeling is very nice and beds comfortable enough. I would not stay there again as a family, but not a bad pick for 1 or 2 kids or none.

Room Tip: All outside entrance rooms, there is an overhang, but still snow blew in everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2plusthecrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Good afternoon, 2plusthecrew

Thank you so very much for your feedback. We have had an amazing amount of snow this season, and as you've mentioned, at times it can be difficult to keep on top of the accumulation. I will be sure to share your comments with the team, as we are able to learn a great deal from guest communication. I will also work with the housekeeping team to ensure that we continue to provide the cleanest rooms possible.

Thank you again!

Sincerely,
John Danielson
General Manager
630-963-4205
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addison, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Horrible. Ghetto. Toilet was messed up upon entering room. Della is rude (it is not my fault you are busy, I can wait until it is my turn but when it is my turn, attend to me properly.) Brian lied to me about there being absolutley no first floor units. He said I may have requested first floor, but they do NOT save rooms or make guarantees even with it being winter and me having small children. I know this is done in Naperville, also, they save the first floor for special guests. They say old people, but they have handicapped rooms for Seniors, they really save it for corporate guests, etc, as if their money is any different than mine. I walked around the property and within five minutes saw not one but EIGHT empty first floor units. You can tell because the drapes are open and the room is spotless. (Naperville closes their drapes to fool you now). Brian was stammering when I told him about this, saying they were "saved for someone who made reservations." Did he not just say that rooms can never be saved? So he is contradicting himself. Besides, who saves eight two bed units on the first floor? Ridiculous. He 'called his manager' after I dragged all my kids in from the snow and said I wasn't leaving until I got a first floor unit. Then he gave me one, with a nearly non-existent heating system. I have one set of towels in here and need more but Heaven forbid I should bother the front desk. I walked down there twice already to address my heating situation and it is below zero and snowing, and I am the last unit in the second building. Such a frustrating hassle, never coming here again. I am sure I will have more to write by the time I check out, but I think I have said enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April05080911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Good afternoon, April05080911

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your most recent stay here at the Downers Grove location. We did have several first floor rooms clean and vacant during the time of your stay, but I had instructed my staff not to rent those rooms due to the extremely cold climate conditions. My apologies for your experience. As you outlined in your comments, this was not a typical experience of yours at our Red Roof Inn locations. I will be sure to share your comments with the rest of the staff, as well.

Sincerely,
John Danielson
General Manager
630-963-4205
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I like the renovations photos we saw online. We arrived and the first room we went to the bed was covered with someone else's hair. The night manager was nice enough to give us another room. Same problem, it was spittle disappointing. Third room was about bette, Thank God because we were tired. I probably will not stay again. Want to thank the gentleman on night audit he was very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 55artistic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Good evening, 55artistic1

Thank you for submitting your review regarding your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the concerns reported regarding hair in the guest rooms. This is most definitely not typical, and I am thankful to you for bringing it to my attention. I will be meeting with the entire staff to reiterate the company standards, and my expectations, to avoid this from happening again. Our entire staff, including the Night Auditor you referenced, are all dedicated to providing the most comfortable and enjoyable stay possible.

We hope to see you, again, at a Red Roof in the near future.
Thank you.

Sincerely,
John Danielson
General Manager
630-963-4205
i0087@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

The room was laid-out ok however the noise wouldn't stop. Our neighbors next door was so loud it sounded like they were directly outside the room. The room was so cold and it took the heat forever to come on; remind you it's winter in Chicago. Every time the heater came on it made a loud noise which made it impossible to sleep. The bathroom is so small you can't fit anything in it. The shower also made an unusual noise. The room was clean however made so many noises whereas we couldn't sleep.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MissFrequentFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Good afternoon, MissFrequentFlyer

I would like to extend a sincere apology for the noise you experienced during your stay with us, as well as a heart-felt thank you for taking the time to let me know about your stay. I will be sure to share your comments with the Front Desk staff so that we can increase the frequency of property walks throughout the afternoon and evening shifts to detour any lingering guests or visitors that might disturb others. In regards to the bathroom size; there are a handful of rooms that have smaller vanity and bath areas due to the design of the building. I recommend taking advantage of our Superior King room types. They are more spacious, by design, and include a variety of added amenities, such as: hair dryers, iron and ironing boards, microfridges, larger flat screen TVs, and ample desk space.

Thank you, again! And have a great day!

Sincerely,
John Danielson
General Manager
630-963-4205
i0087@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Harbour, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is a great motel! Usually we try to get through the Chicago area as fast as possible, but we'll be stopping here from now on. Beautiful, comfortable room. Easy to get to with restaurants and shopping nearby. Appreciate being able to drive up to the door of our room to carry luggage and our little dog in and out of our room. The staff are pleasant and very helpful. We discovered it through the turnpike coupon book and so glad we did!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hello, Cherien

It was so nice to read your review of our Red Roof Inn property. It's always exciting to hear about the guest experience, especially when it's your first time staying with us. I can't wait for you to see our property in the summer time when all of the flowers and trees are in bloom. And you are quite right; we are located in close proximity to pretty much every major shopping retailer you can imagine. See you soon!

Sincerely,
John Danielson
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
i0087@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here 3 times in the last year and have seen the remodel that they have been doing and it looks good and is nice place to stay. Close to the Patio Which has great food. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Close to my sons school also ( UTI ).

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Good afternoon, Chrisl62

Thank you for your kind review of our lovely hotel. We are all very proud of this location and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. As you have noticed, we are always making improvements at Red Roof Inn. This week, we have begun installing brand new door locks to all of our guest rooms, which will make your stay even more enjoyable. Take care, and happy holidays to you and yours!

Sincerely,
John Danielson
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
i0087@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downers Grove
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
#4 of 7 in Downers Grove
91 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove
0.5 mi away
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Chicago Lombard
1.0 mi away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
1.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lombard - Oakbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove

Property: Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
Address: 1113 Butterfield Rd, Downers Grove, IL 60515-1057
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Downers Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Downers Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Chicago - Downers Grove is conveniently located off of I-88 at Butterfield Road, convenient to Lombard, Downers Grove and Oak Brook. This hotel is located within walking distance of Yorktown Mall, a movie theater and many great restaurants. Features include complimentary wireless internet, guest laundry, and flat-screen TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downers Grove Hotel Downers Grove
Red Roof Inn Downers Grove
Downers Grove Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing