We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Breakfast and cute decor”
Review of That 50's Place - CLOSED

That 50's Place
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Petersburg, IL
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast and cute decor”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We (4 adults) stopped at That 50's place on the way to Chicago for breakfast on Saturday, Sept. 14, 2013. My husband and I had been there before for dinner on the way home from Chicago a few years ago. The service was really good and the food was as well. We didn't have to wait long, at all, for our breakfast. They weren't too busy when we were there around 10:00am. As mentioned in some of the other posts, the bathroom isn't the best/cleanest, but it is shared with the attached gas station so you have to go into the gas station to the restrooms. I don't think I experienced one clean gas station restroom on our entire weekend trip....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toobusymom60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Homer
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“greasy spoon diner”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Yes, it looks like a fun bebopin place with colorful statuettes of Betty Boop dressed in a waitress outfit and a rock'n life size display of the Blues Brothers singing, but getting down to business and the real reason we were drawn into this joint was for food. We were hungry and this seemed as good a place as any a stop along I55. While our server was very nice, the food was only so-so. Fried greasy food is just not our style.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boomerang025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsip, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

A decent stop for breakfast. We also did a dinner stop at a different time but didn't find the food as good. Both times the restaurant had its share of regular customers who got a bit loud, but there is enough seating that we just moved. Cute decor too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of THE BEST restaurants we visited on our trip!”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Took a trip to Missouri from Chicago - drove along 55 and came across this little gem. I can't say enough good things about the service, atmosphere or food. I ordered the fried pork tenderloin sandwich with fries - AMAZING!!! Big enough to feed two people!! Was very very pleased. I would actually drive to this place just to eat....forgot the "Oh it's on the way to...... business"

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank XJ650Rocks!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Saturday Breakfast Buffet”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I have eaten luch at this restaurant several times and like it very much but never breakfast. I stopped there mid-morning on a Saturday and they had a wonderful, huge breakfast buffet for less than $10. They just started doing Saturday breakfast around Easter time.
They had chicken fired steak, bacon, sausage, three different kinds of eggs fixed a variety of ways to inculde meat and vegetables. Chef Bret was standing by to make a fresh Belgium Waffle and keep the line fresh.
There were two French Toast offering, one the regular style and the other a wonderful version stuffed with a fresh made vanilla cream and covered with a strawberry concoction similar to preserves. It was like desert.
The best part for me was the Chicken fried steak. Very thin and, not chewy and the crispy coating was perfect. I ate two.
The decor of the place is very retro which besides the good food is one of the reasons I stop and eat there. It seeems like many of the patrons are local and that is always a good sign along an interstate.
Stop in to eat and get your picture taken with The Blues Brothers, Betty Boop or Elvis.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kentdan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing