We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in the centre of the Cotswolds!!”
Review of Fieldways

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fieldways
Ranked #1 of 2 Cold Aston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay in the centre of the Cotswolds!!”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Staying at Fieldways was a wonderfull experience.The accomodation was super and Alan made us feel at home at once!We had a nice breakfast and even had a super barbecue!
Fieldways is very well situated in the centre of the Cotswolds.It is certainly a place to remember and to go back to!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junior59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    11
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
32
76
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dilbeek
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed just for one night, passing from Wales to Dover. This B&B was advised by a couple of friends, and they were right. Not only the region is beautiful, also this B&B is. Very friendly and entertaining host, beautiful house, excellent beds and a very tasty “multiple- choice” breakfast. And thanks again Alan, for bringing our case along when we went on without. In fact, it was our reason to come back, now we have to find another one. But we certainly will do, this time for a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, PA
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stay here. You will have a delightful experience, one which appeals to all of the senses. Alan Graham is an excellent host, and staying in his home will provide you with a true
English- lifestyle experience...everything from the lovely and relaxing interior decor, the colorfully picturesque and pleasing gardens, to the cheery solarium, the tasty full-English breakfast served in the beautiful dining room, and the peaceful views which seem to go on forever. Our room was immaculate and we felt very much at home, as Alan invited us to enjoy friendly conversation and a glass of wine prior to going to dinner. The Fieldways is located in the bucolic village of Cold Aston, just a short drive by car to Bourton-on-the-Water. Alan's property is adjacent to one of the many footpaths in the area where you can walk and enjoy the sparkling English countryside, complete with sheep and other beautiful animals dotting the landscape.
We are pleased to add our positive review to those which were posted here earlier, and which were instrumental in our decision to stay here while in The Cotswolds. You will definitely be pleased with The Fieldways experience. We certainly were.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheWools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed with my friend in October 2011.
It was our second time In Fieldways.
It's a lovely home turned into a luxurious and comfortable B&B.
Nothing is too much or too difficult for Alan. When I tasted the delicious plumb conserve during breakfast, Alan suggested a jam making session! We made 'Delicious Plumb conserve'. There is a plumb tree outside the veg garden. It was great to bring the conserve home.
It feels as the cats and Flora the Lab knows how to make you feel really at home. They are very friendly.
We had a great time, and I will be back.
Thank you Alan.
Alice and Laurie

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkeylite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We just returned today from a fantastic break at Fieldways B&B. We had such a wonderful stay that I was motivated to write a review for the first time!

From start to finish Alan was the perfect host. He took such great care of us.
We stayed in the Green Room for two nights. The room was lovely, clean and tidy, with a large, comfy bed. Thick terry cloth robes were hanging in the bathroom. The whole B&B was immaculate and very well-kept.

We arrived at Fieldways around 2pm and we were greeted by friendly Flora and Emily (Alan's two loving labs), and promptly offered cup of tea and a hot cross bun (it was Easter bank holiday weekend after all!). We were pondering what to do about lunch, when Alan and Gilly kindly rustled us up some delicious food - homemade carrot soup they had on hand, cheese, bread, homemade chutney...the works! It was delicious.

After lunch we headed out to explore the local area. We returned to Fieldways later that afternoon, and cozied up in the living room with a book, Flora, Emily and Alan's two cats. Soon we were joined by Alan and Gilly, who offered us a glass of wine and lit a crackling fire. We were having such a wonderful time chatting that we nearly forgot our dinner reservations! They suggested we go to The Feathered Nest for dinner - what a fantastic recommendation!

We slept soundly and woke to the smell of cooking bacon the next morning. Alan laid on an absolute feast for breakfast - it was delicious!

Alan is definitely in his element when hosting travelers in his fantastic B&B. We were waited on hand and foot. Even with a full house on Easter Sunday, he remembered each guest's personal preferences (green tea cs. white coffee, scrambled eggs vs. poached, etc.) and made everyone feel welcome.

A fantastic stay - we will definitely be back. THANKS ALAN!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wukatemck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Upon arrival at Fieldways we were immediately greeted by the charming owner, Alan, who assisted us with our bags and showed us to our room. Flora the well-behaved labrador and the 2 cats also greeted us!

We stayed in The Green Room which was clean and spacious with super comfortable king size bed and modern en suite bathroom with underfloor heating. Plenty of nice touches including tea/coffee/kettle/tv/Molton Brown toiletries/chocs/biscuits. We felt at home straightaway and Alan invited us into his living room for a drink after our long journey and some tales of his most interesting life in Canada.

Alan's house is beautifully homely and warm and has a super view over the countryside and there is ample off street parking. He catered for our every need speedily and happily - he really knows how to make you feel at home.

Alan's breakfast was a veritable feast with freshly prepared full english/cereals/warm croissants and pastries etc - all of excellent quality and as much as you can handle - you won't be needing lunch after a Fieldways breakfast!

It is hard to imagine that anyone would not completely enjoy a stay at Fieldways - thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowbear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

When arriving at the charming Fieldways, we received an exceptionally warm welcome from Alan and his delightful black lab Flora. After some friendly conversation we were shown to our room, where we immediately felt at home. We must have fallen asleep within seconds after cuddling up to the luxurious linens (I don't think either of us had felt anything quite like it..!).
Over our three unforgettable nights at Fieldways we received first class service in a comfortable environment. Alan and Carol went above and beyond to ensure that our experience was memorable.
Breakfasts were extremely well presented and were delicious!

In a heartbeat, we would recommend Fieldways to all of our friends and family (we already have some planning their stay..!)
Thanks again for everything Alan, Carol (and Flora :) ) We look forward to seeing you again in the future!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gatanikocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cold Aston
2.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,217 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,080 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,042 reviews
4.8 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
963 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fieldways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fieldways

Property: Fieldways
Address: 12 Chapel Lane | Cold Aston, Cold Aston GL54 3BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cold Aston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cold Aston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIELDWAYS is a large, beautifully furnished country house equipped with every modern comfort, offering relaxed B&B accommodation in the heart of the Cotswolds.Set in the time warped village of Cold Aston, it has magnificent views of the surrounding countryside in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). The village itself was awarded the Bledisloe Cup for the best kept small village in the Cotswolds. It is just a short drive from Bourton-on-the-Water and Stow-on-the-Wold.FIELDWAYS has three charming guest rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms or shower rooms. Visitors are welcome to use the beautifully appointed drawing room for afternoon tea or as the perfect place to relax after a busy day discovering the local area. A delicious English Country House breakfast is served each morning in the traditional dining room where a veritable feast of local produce can be enjoyed in a relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fieldways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing