We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible, wonderful, not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fieldways

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fieldways
Ranked #1 of 2 Cold Aston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, OR 97462
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredible, wonderful, not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Words cannot express how much we enjoyed ourselves. We were welcomed as though we were old and valued friends rather than paying guests, and Alan even arranged a wonderful birthday party for my friend whilst we were there. The experience was more like house party than a bed and breakfast! The rooms are wonderfully decorated and extremely comfortable; ensuite baths are up-to-the-minute modern but with old-fashioned charm. Alan and his other guests were loads of fun; we had some jolly evenings in the drawing room. The breakfasts were first-rate, with eggs cooked to order and everything else you could want served on exquisite china. Calling it a full English breakfast just doesn't do it justice. Gorgeous grounds, fabulous landscaping, quaint village ..the absolute BEST of the Cotswolds!

Room Tip: There are NO bad rooms .. all rooms are individual and charming. Two have twin beds for separate sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wardtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    11
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
73
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

My sister-in-law (American) & I (a Brit) stayed at Fieldways for a couple of nights at the end of September. Alan greeted us as if we were old friends, with a lovely glass of wine in his drawing room. What a welcome. Things only got better. Our twin bedded room was delightful, the beds so very comfortable that we didn't want to get up for breakfast in the mornings. But what a good thing we did. The breakfasts were superb, our every whim catered for. What a fabulous, charming and helpful host he was. He even planned our daily tours for us, as well as our evening pub meals. I will definitely return (if he'll have me!!) asap.

Room Tip: Every room was delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julialuckhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We wanted to take my elderly Mum on a really special break in one of the most beautiful and inspiring parts of the country - the Cotswolds. Maybe my hand was guided, but we chose to stay at Fieldways with Alan Graham as our host. It was just what the doctor ordered. The house is beautiful, the accommodation is most comfortable, and Alan is the perfect host. He makes every effort to ensure that you are comfortable and happy. And my little one (4 yrs) was so occupied with Flora (the very patient Labrador) and the two cats (cats will be cats) that she didn't ask for the TV once. Needless to say, we look forward to going back to visit - maybe for a bit longer next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

This B&B was truly a beautiful place to stay, the rooms and en-suites were first class. Our breakfast was gorgeous and cooked to perfection each morning by Allen who really makes your stay a memorable one. We would of loved to have stayed more than two nights, Allen is very accommodating and a really lovely person. The house, garden and surroundings are very picturesque are close to many of the lovely villages of the Cotswolds. We had the best time!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

This review is for anyone who wishes to stay in a very charming Bed & Breakfast. The surrounding area is out of this world.
The hospitality is second to none, and as for the breakfast, well you have to see for yourself it's superb.
Overall this is the best B&B I have ever stayed in and I will certainly stay again if I'm up that way.
Alan the owner is a very charming man with the most beautiful house.
Thanks once again Alan for a wonderful weekend.
Cheers Steven, Paola, Vera, Edu & Gina

Room Tip: All room are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Another wonderful stay at Fieldways with Alan being the most generous host. We have become firm friends now. This visit we brought two of our nine grandchildren, they had a lovely time playing croquet on the lawn, walking Flora the dog and sneaking Monty & Padding (the cats( into their beautiful attic bedroom. A great place to stay, a beautiful house, with every creature comfort you can wish for. Breakfast is superb, the BBQ's fantastic, we can't recommend it enough. Stay for a couple of days, and you feel so at home, you won't want to leave. Well done Alan for such a lovely break. Molly & Calum haven't stopped talking about you. See you again soon. Maurs & Mick

Room Tip: The Green Room is lovely for couples, huge room and great ensuite. The Honeysuckle room is so prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenPlatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

our family of four adults really enjoyed a weekend away from home in the country - rooms were well-kept and there were plenty of room to relax and unwind! A good place to chill whilst exploring the Cotswolds. Alan was a lovely host - recommendations for exploring the area and lovely breakfast too!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cold Aston
2.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
11.2 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fieldways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fieldways

Property: Fieldways
Address: 12 Chapel Lane | Cold Aston, Cold Aston GL54 3BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cold Aston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cold Aston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIELDWAYS is a large, beautifully furnished country house equipped with every modern comfort, offering relaxed B&B accommodation in the heart of the Cotswolds.Set in the time warped village of Cold Aston, it has magnificent views of the surrounding countryside in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). The village itself was awarded the Bledisloe Cup for the best kept small village in the Cotswolds. It is just a short drive from Bourton-on-the-Water and Stow-on-the-Wold.FIELDWAYS has three charming guest rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms or shower rooms. Visitors are welcome to use the beautifully appointed drawing room for afternoon tea or as the perfect place to relax after a busy day discovering the local area. A delicious English Country House breakfast is served each morning in the traditional dining room where a veritable feast of local produce can be enjoyed in a relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fieldways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing