We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sociable and cosy”
Review of Fieldways

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fieldways
Ranked #1 of 2 Cold Aston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sociable and cosy”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Very hospitable and kind people, though my stay was somewhat marred by a heating breakdown. No reduction for single occupancy, or for late cancellation (fair enough, but a concession for three forgone breakfasts would have been a nice gesture).
Fieldways may not be good for allergy sufferers as the cats are allowed in the bedrooms and cleaning didn't extend to mopping up dead flies underneath the bed (otherwise very clean, so this was evidently an oversight). It is the countryside, but it was rather surprising to find fly cadavers on the floor in December. I really enjoyed meeting the other guests and Alan and Pauline make you feel very welcome, not to mention plying you with wine/whisky/sweeties (!) and being concerned to make you feel comfortable, but this was still not quite up to the standard of other Sawdays places where I have stayed. I hope this criticism isn't too negative, since I broadly enjoyed my all too brief visit, but this is supposed to be "somewhere special" so they need customer feedback.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 79Mary_E_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    11
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
73
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
skipton north yorks
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

What a fabulous place! Lovely Cotswold house, with fantastic views and comfortable rooms, we had a twin ensuite which was great, comfy beds tea and coffee making facilities, dressing gowns and slippers and even a proper hairdryer. We had drinks with Alan and Pauline before going to the pub which is great with log fires. An amazing breakfast which we had to have at 7.30am as we were on duty at Cheltenham racecourse at 8.30am but nothing was too much trouble, would recommend a visit here if you are in the area.

Room Tip: We had the honeysuckle room which was a twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenfield
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Fieldways is a beautiful country house in an ideal position to explore the Cotswolds. Our bedroom, the Green Room, was beautifully furnished, as was the rest of the house.We recently spent three nights and had the full run of the house- we truly were treated as house guests rather than B&B customers.Alan was a very attentive host and provided valuable information about the area which helped us plan our days.The Cotswolds is a great holiday destination and Fieldways is a great place in which to base yourself.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheShenfielders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at Fieldways they are dog friendly, they have 2 cats. We stayed in the honeysuckle room which had an En-suite shower room, dressing gown & slippers are supplied for your comfort, the room has tea and coffee making facilities - the bed was very comfortable. The room overlooked the driveway and the back garden. Alan and Pauline are wonderful hosts extremely accommodating and nothing is to much bother for them. Breakfasts were ample offering a selection of porridge, cereals, full English, fruit juices, bread and jam, fresh fruit & the occasional surprise. Fieldways is in Cold Aston which is a pretty Cotswolds village with a pub which is also dog friendly and is only a short walk from the house. We enjoyed a great BBQ on a mild Autumn evening being kept warm by the log fire and alcohol, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OSColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Lovely B & B with great hosts. We stayed in the green room which is a really good size, nice touch of under floor heating in the bathroom. The B & B is in a great location to explore the cotswolds. Perhaps the best feature is the host Alan is a lovely bloke and really made the stay enjoyable.

If going to the cotswolds I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewish20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This summer I had a trip with friends to Europe and the U.K. our final stop was at FIELDWAYS. I was ready for some rest and pampering.
What a find, what a treasure the hosts Alan and Pauline made us welcome
the dinners were superb. The whole experience was top drawer. The best B&B ever, I can't imagine staying anywhere else in the Cotswolds What you see on the website is what you get ++

Room Tip: Pauline gave me a tour, all the rooms are unique and very comfortable, heated floors etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aggiesinclair1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Alan and Pauline made our 1 night stay extremely enjoyable ,their welcome and attention to detail were very much appreciated. The village is very pretty and we found a lovely walk on the doorstop for our dog Mac. We would highly recommend Fieldways and definitely want to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cold Aston
2.8 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,062 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,160 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
188 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
535 reviews
4.8 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fieldways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fieldways

Property: Fieldways
Address: 12 Chapel Lane | Cold Aston, Cold Aston GL54 3BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cold Aston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cold Aston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIELDWAYS is a large, beautifully furnished country house equipped with every modern comfort, offering relaxed B&B accommodation in the heart of the Cotswolds.Set in the time warped village of Cold Aston, it has magnificent views of the surrounding countryside in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). The village itself was awarded the Bledisloe Cup for the best kept small village in the Cotswolds. It is just a short drive from Bourton-on-the-Water and Stow-on-the-Wold.FIELDWAYS has three charming guest rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms or shower rooms. Visitors are welcome to use the beautifully appointed drawing room for afternoon tea or as the perfect place to relax after a busy day discovering the local area. A delicious English Country House breakfast is served each morning in the traditional dining room where a veritable feast of local produce can be enjoyed in a relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fieldways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing