We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISAPPOINTED”
Review of Fieldways

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fieldways
Ranked #1 of 2 Cold Aston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Downham Market, United Kingdom
1 review
“DISAPPOINTED”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

For a friendly atmosphere surrounded by stunning views this Boutique B&B could not be faulted. Then why only 2 stars? We had booked a twin double which at the time sounded quite acceptable. On opening the door to the accommodation we discovered the en suite door facing us with a door to the right which contained a tank and a noisy pump, this operated whenever anyone used water. To the right of this was a short steep curved flight of stairs leading up to the bedroom. This room has a double sloping low ceiling which left a 2ft walkway down the middle; Turning over in bed without banging elbows and head was tricky, in fact we lost count the number of times heads were hit during our stay. There was a TV in the room but we were unable to get a picture on any channel. Breakfast was not up to the standard one would expect from a Boutique B&B with Alan doing his best even if it meant coming to the table with the frying pan to serve the eggs. After a delightful day out and about we returned to the room to find it as we had left it in the morning, dirty cups, unmade bed etc. We were later informed that rooms were only serviced every 2nd day. This is the first time in decades of staying in hotels and B&Bs that we had come upon this practice. In conclusion Alan's hospitality could not be faulted but the actual day to day practicalities were lacking.

Room Tip: We suggest you avoid the twin double if stairs are a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fieldways, General Manager at Fieldways, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
Thank you for your review. It was helpful . We hope to see ypu back at Fieldways.
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    11
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
73
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Alan and Pauline are the ultimate hosts. They have a beautiful house and garden both of which guests are free to use. We were made to feel like friends, not guests. On arrival, we were welcomed with a cup of tea and my husband a 'wee dram' and indeed, we were to enjoy a glass of wine or two on the patio after a day's sightseeing. Was also lovely to be treated to a 'surprise' of haggis on two mornings. Would thoroughly recommend a stay here as a base to explore this stunning Cotswold area.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank auntieanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seto, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The gentleman, Alan, welcomed us so much , which made us so relaxed. Until then we were at a loss to find the B&B and a little worried. But his hospitality and its wonderful landscape blew our anxiety away! How we wished we would stay longer! Breakfast was also so delicious . A little walk in the early morning was so nice. we will never forget this B&B! Thank you!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emi684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Alan I don't know where to start but i think the best description is to say staying at Fieldways is like visiting family.
You receive such a warm welcome by Alan who feels more like an old friend then a host, the house is homely and the views that surround Fieldways are simply stunning.
Alan is not only the perfect host but the perfect guide. His knowledge of the surrounding area is fantastic and always has an idea of something to do this gentleman goes above and beyond for his guests.
The breakfasts were delicious Alan really takes note of what his guests want and will try to accommodate every palate, he even left us cakes when we returned in the evening to play cards. If you ever visit the Cotswold's then this is the place to stay, you won't want to leave.

Room Tip: All are perfect in their own way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamnDan03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Dear Alan (because I know you will read this!)
Thank you so very much for welcoming me into your home. Your generosity and hospitality are first class. Fieldways is a beautiful house in the perfect location to explore from. Your maps, suggestions, pamphlets and information was most appreciated; and the extra little touches throughout my stay are what made me sad to leave this morning. As a backpacker on a journey, I decided to treat myself for a few days, and I really do believe I stumbled across the best B&B in the world. From the bottom of my heart, thank you. Say hello to Paddington and Mottie for me and also the donkeys.
Take care, and see you again one day!
Krista



To anybody who is considering a stay here....
What are you waiting for? I've seen the booking sheets, hurry up and book before it's too late! Fieldways is the quintessential English home, surrounded by green fields filled with sheep, beautiful gardens to relax in and a lovely home to enjoy.

Room Tip: The B&B is located in a tiny village called Cold Aston and is the perfect location to explore fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristalauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is without doubt a first class, top notch B & B. Mine hosts are wonderful friendly welcoming. The accommodation is clean well cared for and beautiful. And breakfast - wow ! How many places on Sunday morning serve fresh cooked haggis plus sausage,bacon,best scrambled eggs ever, tomatoes, juice etc etc.
I cannot recommend this venue enough - book now for a fantastic place to stay whilst in the Cotswolds. Thank you both.

Room Tip: Spoilt for choice - all excellent. Wonderful views of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at Fieldways for five nights,and we must say that we couldn't ask for better.It truely boosted up our sightseeing tour in Cotswolds. On the first day Alan welcomed us warmly with a pot of hot tea,and kindly introduced him self and escorted us to the lovely Honey Room. He then reserved dinner fir us at the local pub. On each morning we had a lovely English breakfast, with the eggs of our choice. After breakfast, Alan used to draw a map of the area and recommended all the towns and places we should visit.Needless to say that thank's to him we got to experience the true beauty of the area.
Alan and Pauline's hospitality and welcoming was to a level that we actualy felt at home away from home. I don't know how else to describe it with words. I can just say that we enjoyed our stay and we highly recommend the place

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cold Aston
2.8 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,062 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,161 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
188 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
535 reviews
4.8 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fieldways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fieldways

Property: Fieldways
Address: 12 Chapel Lane | Cold Aston, Cold Aston GL54 3BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cold Aston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cold Aston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIELDWAYS is a large, beautifully furnished country house equipped with every modern comfort, offering relaxed B&B accommodation in the heart of the Cotswolds.Set in the time warped village of Cold Aston, it has magnificent views of the surrounding countryside in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). The village itself was awarded the Bledisloe Cup for the best kept small village in the Cotswolds. It is just a short drive from Bourton-on-the-Water and Stow-on-the-Wold.FIELDWAYS has three charming guest rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms or shower rooms. Visitors are welcome to use the beautifully appointed drawing room for afternoon tea or as the perfect place to relax after a busy day discovering the local area. A delicious English Country House breakfast is served each morning in the traditional dining room where a veritable feast of local produce can be enjoyed in a relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fieldways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing