We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Venue”
Review of Hatherley Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hatherley Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Down Hatherley
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Wedding Venue”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Hatherley Manor Hotel was the venue for my daughters wedding and all those involved were outstanding and made it a day to remember. The assistance that my daughter and I had made the whole experience far less stressful than it might otherwise have been.
The attention to the smallest detail such as the congratulations spelt out on my daughter and son in laws dessert plates was tremendous.
The food served at the wedding breakfast was of the highest quality and the service friendly and speedy.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Hatherley Manor Hotel as a venue for any special event.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    281
    124
    53
    35
See reviews for
119
413
14
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Everything was really perfect. I loved smiling faces especially in restaurant ( rest. manager Mrs. Beth) The Hatherley Manor Hotel gives you real peaceful air. I just came for bussiness but I saw really good events (weddings) in there. So when ı get married I am certainly sure that I will choose the Hotel. Slience is the best reason for coming Hatherley and also ıt ıs so close to town.I really loved food and services..I will go back

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilun8_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Hatherley Manor is a peaceful hotel in its own grounds. The accomodation is nicely furnished and beds are very comfortable. The food in the restaurant is of excellent quality and the a la carte menu is really good value. In particular we found all the staff to be really friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. We were there on a Hideaway Exclusive deal which was particularly good value and recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7Scottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-on-Trent, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We have just spent two nights at this hotel. Staff were great and my wife is gluten free and they provided bread cracker etc, which was great and was able to enjoy the fab food. The only downside is that the rooms are three star and next time I will upgrade on the room.
Mr B SMith

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We booked Hatherley Manor for a special family celebration and stayed for one night. We were looked after very well from the moment we walked into the door until we checked out. The staff are very attentitive and also very welcoming to our children which made the hotel family Friendly.

We really enjoyed our special day and can't thank everyone at Hatherley Manor enough for making it one to remember.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JO0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
generalmanager_HMH, General Manager at Hatherley Manor, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
thank you jo0710

What a lovely review so very glad that we looked after you so well. perhaps we will see you and the children at Easter for an Easter bunny hunt and sunday lunch.

kind regards
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I stayed for one night at the hotel. The car parking is very good. My room was changed after I explained to reception that the bathroom wasn't clean (basin drain clogged with hair and very smelly) and main lighting didn't work.

The evening meal was OK but over-priced for both food and wine, with a cracked glassware on the table - I was the only person in the restaurant so didn't understand why they chose to seat me at that table nor why the service was so slow. Dinner also started relatively late.

I hope not to stay here again - everywhere else would have to be fully booked. No pool or fitness centre.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
generalmanager_HMH, General Manager at Hatherley Manor, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Hi Singly

Ever so sorry that we did not deliver the highest standards in housekeeping, will obviously share your comments in realation to the room with the housekeeping team.
I have also been into the restaurant and removed what I believe was the offending article a chipped glass table vase, i was very dissaponited with our attention to detail no excuses to be offered there!!!

The restaurant opens at 7.00pm for dinner but there is a full lounge and room service menu on offer all day' if you have plans that mean you need to eat before 7.00 have a chat to the team we would be happy to feed you earlier we dont open it earlier as generally demand is not for this.

kind regards
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I enquired at Hatherley manor for my wedding, although we did not book there we found them very helpful. We met with the wedding planer and got a quote on the day, the quote was very reasonable and their services are very good. the only reason we did not book was because we thought the rooms were too small and the largest room was too big also if there is another wedding on the day then you would have to share the garden.
The wedding planner was very helpful, friendly and gave us all the information we needed.

Room Tip: Worth concidering if you are planning your wedding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lau224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
generalmanager_HMH, General Manager at Hatherley Manor, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
hi lau224

Thanks for your review glad you found us to be helpful, I have dropped you an email so I hope you reply.
In relation to weddings at Hatherley we have a multitude of options from the stunning redwood suite ideal for twenty guests through to the mulberry suite ideal for 40-80 in the day with its own garden off the front of the hotel or the hatherley and Moat suites at the rear of the hotel spilling out into the walled garden with its wedding pavilion for those great british summer (always in hope) outdoor weddings. Generally it is only one wedding a day we do occasionally take two but are very open about this when you enquire we always ensure that the timings are such that you have full use of the grounds at either the front or the back just for yourselves, come for a show around and you can easily see how this works, it a special day and we do all we can to make sure you enjoy it. that said our platinum package ensure you get the whole place to your self and if you are flexible on dates we also offer this on fridays and sundays where you can always get a little bit of discount.

kind regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Down Hatherley
4.8 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
802 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,285 reviews
6.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,116 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
357 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatherley Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatherley Manor

Property: Hatherley Manor
Address: Down Hatherley Lane, Down Hatherley, Gloucester GL2 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Down Hatherley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Down Hatherley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatherley Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious manor house set amidst 37 acres of beautiful grounds, including a unique Walled Garden, in the heart of the Gloucestershire countryside. Located just 4 miles from the Historic Cathedral City of Gloucester and 6 miles from the regency town of Cheltenham Spa, on the edge of the Cotswolds. A lovely Country House Hotel that has has been sympathetically refurbished to incorporate all the amenities required by today's most discerning guests. As a result, it retains all its historic heritage and charm while providing all the comfort and luxury expected of a modern country house hotel. Whether you are looking for a relaxing short break, a get together with friends or to celebrate a special occasion you can be assured that our friendly professional team will go out of their way to ensure that you have a memorable stay with us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hatherley Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatherley Manor Gloucester
Hatherley Manor Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing