We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service but needs updating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hatherley Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hatherley Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Down Hatherley
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good service but needs updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

My husband and I stayed as part of a travelzoo offer. The hotel is a lovely old manor house in a lovely location. The reception and bar/restaurant area are lovely. The staff as well are really friendly. The room was rather disappointing. It looked as if it hadn't been updated for at least 20 years. The door was old and fiddly and didn't automatically lock. The bathroom tiles were cracked and generally tired. There was also some loud drilling type noise at 730 on Saturday morning. Not impressed.
The restaurant is good and fairly priced. The food on the whole was good, however it came at an alarming speed leading me to believe it wasn't fresh (and indeed some you could tell wasn't). Our main and starter took only 20 min total from sitting down and finishing. We had to ask them to slow it down for dessert. It's a nice place and you don't want to feel rushed. You need some time to digest!
This place has a lot of potential with great location and fabulous staff. It just needs a bit of money spent on it to bring it up to modern standards.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missvroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    264
    122
    49
    30
See reviews for
105
400
12
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

My wife and myself run a business and work all day Saturday so a weekend away for us starts at 4 0'clock. We needed to find a one night away deal and Hatherley Manor offered this. we arrived at the hotel at about 6 and was greeted with a smile from the receptionist and checked in. The room although not huge was well presented and the bathroom clean and well stocked with shampoo's etc. we had a table booked for 8 o'clock. we sat in the lounge with our drinks and was given the menu's to select our food at leisure and it didn't disappoint the meals were tasty with a great selection. The breakfast was the same one of the best I've had in a while. Well done to all the staff who were always friendly. We'll definitely return again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barrieswilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hatherley Manor for 2 nights, arriving on Friday afternoon 11th Oct. Check in to room 212 was quick and efficient and our room was ideal for our stay, spotlessly clean and at the rear of the hotel so very quiet. Regarding Neville M’s comments we also were at the bar on the Friday evening and yes it was busy and yes only one barman however it depends how desperately you need a drink. I found the barman friendly and very professional.
Our breakfast on the Saturday morning was fantastic, certainly not micro waved (as per previous comments) and presented well, I had the full breakfast and it was good quality and well cooked. On both evenings our dinner was of the highest quality and as on previous visits the dining room staff were at pains to make everything as enjoyable as possible.
Breakfast on Sunday morning was a ‘buffet’ however again good food and a great and varied choice catering for all tastes. Hatherley Manor for me is a place to relax and chill out, if you want fast food and awful beer then perhaps this is not the place to go. I will visit Hatherley again no doubt and enjoy the friendly and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinkertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craven arms
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Attended a conference here, and was impressed with the beautiful surroundings and well kept gardens.The buffet lunch was varied and catered to every pallet,and the staff efficient and courteous.Would definitely consider a weekend break here to sample the other facilities that are on offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginnyfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed recently for a friends/ex-colleagues reunion; reception staff very helpful & friendly resulting in a nice welcome. Bar service average/poor with only one member of staff serving on a very busy Friday night. Room OK - clean & tidy and also quiet. Breakfast was supposed to be available at 7.30 a.m but there was no hot food available until 7.45 a.m and tables were still being laid "around me". When the hot food arrived the quality left a lot to be desired (microwaved bacon, etc. and very little variety). Such things are easy to get right and mean a lot to guests

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neville m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Had a very enjoyable in the Restaurant meal here as non residents. Staff very attentive, food came quickly and good quality with sufficient choice. We used our Tastecard which is even valid on Friday nights and made it good value for the quality and service (50% off food). Otherwise would not be cheap though still acceptable for a special occasion. The Hotel hosts meetings and events well too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

From entering the lobby, friendly receptionist, excellent bar facilities and follow through to the dining room - service second to none with smart and attentive staff. Bedrooms, some of the most comfortable beds I've slept in. Lovely gardens and a quiet situation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahyeovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Down Hatherley
4.8 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatherley Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatherley Manor

Property: Hatherley Manor
Address: Down Hatherley Lane, Down Hatherley, Gloucester GL2 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Down Hatherley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Down Hatherley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatherley Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious manor house set amidst 37 acres of beautiful grounds, including a unique Walled Garden, in the heart of the Gloucestershire countryside. Located just 4 miles from the Historic Cathedral City of Gloucester and 6 miles from the regency town of Cheltenham Spa, on the edge of the Cotswolds. A lovely Country House Hotel that has has been sympathetically refurbished to incorporate all the amenities required by today's most discerning guests. As a result, it retains all its historic heritage and charm while providing all the comfort and luxury expected of a modern country house hotel. Whether you are looking for a relaxing short break, a get together with friends or to celebrate a special occasion you can be assured that our friendly professional team will go out of their way to ensure that you have a memorable stay with us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hatherley Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatherley Manor Gloucester
Hatherley Manor Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing