We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional service ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hatherley Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hatherley Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Down Hatherley
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional service ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

I booked a Christmas meal for my family at Hatherley Manor! The event organisers were excellent and showed me a the Redwood suite that was available for us when we booked in October! The organisers were excellent at communicating with the chef to offer us three exciting vegan options for the two vegans in the party!

On the day we were warmly welcomed and the service we received by the waiting was exceptional! There were so many little extras that made the day really special and made us feel that our custom was really appreciated! The suite had elegant Christmas decorations and music! The oval table was perfect for socialising with a large group (there were 17 of us) We preordered our options from a three course menu! The food was extremely well timed and even with a small confusion with one order, the staff dealt with it professionally and quickly!

Throughout the meal staff were really attentive and I really felt they went above and beyond in customer service. For example, offering the children hot chocolate when adults were drinking tea/coffee. I can honestly say that it was the friendly and welcoming service we received that made the day!

I also love the cosy red lounge to have a drink in after the meal.

I have already booked again for next year!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    264
    122
    49
    30
See reviews for
105
400
12
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed here for a 3 night break recently. Lovely hotel in a great location. Warm welcome at reception. Had a lovely room at the front of the hotel, the downside being a very noisy group of people exiting the hotel at 1.30 am on Sunday morning! The food is good but if you are staying more than 2 nights, the menu is a bit samey and needs to be changed a couple of times a week. There was a problem with one of the bedroom windows letting in the wind & rain but we understand that the windows are due to be replaced soon. All in all, a lovely visit and we hope to return in 2014.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if available - room 234 was a lovely big room and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntieChris54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We booked our Christmas lunch here as a family party of 5 for Christmas Day. As it wasn't cheap we were slightly anxious as to how good the meal was going to be but we booked it because we had had two excellent meals on previous occasions. We should not have worried. We arrived 15 minutes before our time and we were welcomed warmly by Jon, one of the deputy managers, with a champagne cocktail. He then ushered us through to our table at exactly our allotted time so no undue waiting to be seated.
Our waiters and waitresses were extremely professional and very courteous. They understood exactly how friendly we wanted to be and responded accordingly which made the occasion very enjoyable and a very memorable. Particular mention should be made of Emma, our main waitress, who was outstanding.
Considering that this was a Christmas meal etc. all four courses were very good with all the hot courses being piping hot. We were never rushed but we were never kept waiting and we were always kept "afloat" with drinks.
When we left, everyone was commenting as to how good it had been and that we ought to do this again next year; obviously memorable! Thank you Hatherley Manor.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisGandTheBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We had a Ruby Wedding Anniversary Dinner at the hotel for 34 family and friends.The setting and environment the hotel is within is lovely. The moat suite that was used to host the event was very nicely arranged . The food was excellent and special diets were well catered for, The service was excellent and the staff were very attentive during the meal. Prior to the event we found the events manager to be very helpful and professional in manner and the duty manager on the day was anxious to see all was satisfactory for us. IT MADE A LOVELY DAY. David and Jackie

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We had a family lunch party for 9 of us from all over the country at Hatherley Manor recently. It's a lovely location and the staff created a warm and welcoming atmosphere for us. The food was good and fairly priced and the service was excellent. Will happily return for more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoenix56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

From the welcome through to the departure everything about Hatherley Manor oozes friendly and warmth. From the room to the food that is incredible.
This is my second visit and the standard has been exactly the same on both occasions.
I will definitely to be back and with my wife as well I Hope.
Throughly recommend Hatherley Manor.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stopped here overnight for partners companies xmas jolly up.Hotel rooms were clean and tidy,with nice decor.The food we had was very good to,found the beer a bit pricey,always seems to be the case at hotels.Staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful,grounds looked lovely to,what i could see in the dark.Saw the grounds more in the morning,through squinted hungover eyes though.Glenfidich oooosh.keeping my nut down.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jscousertommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Down Hatherley
4.8 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatherley Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatherley Manor

Property: Hatherley Manor
Address: Down Hatherley Lane, Down Hatherley, Gloucester GL2 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Down Hatherley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Down Hatherley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatherley Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious manor house set amidst 37 acres of beautiful grounds, including a unique Walled Garden, in the heart of the Gloucestershire countryside. Located just 4 miles from the Historic Cathedral City of Gloucester and 6 miles from the regency town of Cheltenham Spa, on the edge of the Cotswolds. A lovely Country House Hotel that has has been sympathetically refurbished to incorporate all the amenities required by today's most discerning guests. As a result, it retains all its historic heritage and charm while providing all the comfort and luxury expected of a modern country house hotel. Whether you are looking for a relaxing short break, a get together with friends or to celebrate a special occasion you can be assured that our friendly professional team will go out of their way to ensure that you have a memorable stay with us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hatherley Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatherley Manor Gloucester
Hatherley Manor Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing