We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Weekend”
Review of Hatherley Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hatherley Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Down Hatherley
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel with a group of yacht sailors so much of the weekend was organised for us. However, I have to say that it was an excellent experience and difficult to fault in any way. All the staff were helpful, welcoming and friendly and the room we were given was superb, spacious with lots of character and great countryside views. Although we were with a group for dinner the food was especially good, good choice, well presented and served. The hotel appeared full but standards were kept. I suppose a minor point was that everyone arrived at the same time for breakfast and this overwhelmed the staff somewhat but within minutes order was restored to a high standard. I would certainly recommend the Hatherley Manor from our experience and hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel would be our choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 854 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

Hatherley Manor have always done us proud in the passed so for us it was an easy decision to make to book in for Christmas lunch for a party of 5.

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel exceedingly welcome, we were met in the reception area where our coats were taken from us and a drink was provided, we sat in the reception area waiting for the rest of our party and it was a really festive ambience everyone happy to assist.

We were shown to our table on time, where our waitress introduced herself and couldn't do enough to help, she provided an excellent meal and drinks promptly always with a big smile and a happy conversational manner.

The food was great, hot and professionally prepared.

Top marks to all at Hatherley Manor.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

With 5 other couples, this was our 3rd trip to Hatherley for a New Year celebration. Staff very good, food good, so well done again Team Hatherley. Maybe see you again during 2014 if we fancy a trip down to the Gloucester area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We came here as a party of five on Christmas Day.

The food and presentation were both excellent as was the service. The waiting staff went out of their way to be happy and cheerful, they really made the day special. It must be hard to be working of Christmas Day, but none of them let that appear to bother them, and we were treated to an excellent day with some very lovely food.

Most impressed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MikeHibbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Visited here with our son and girlfriend using the taste card deal. Food was mixed, pork belly and pheasant excellent whilst one of the two steaks(mine) was average at the best (cut of meat) whilst my wife's was better. Staff are attentive and v good,although some feedback for the young female member would be to offer the wine for tasting instead of just pouring a good quality wine, I think she was probably new and although not bothered us as everyone needs to learn, may bother others. Our second visit to this restaurant and is worth the journey out of Gloucester.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank 101MartinH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

I booked a Christmas meal for my family at Hatherley Manor! The event organisers were excellent and showed me a the Redwood suite that was available for us when we booked in October! The organisers were excellent at communicating with the chef to offer us three exciting vegan options for the two vegans in the party!

On the day we were warmly welcomed and the service we received by the waiting was exceptional! There were so many little extras that made the day really special and made us feel that our custom was really appreciated! The suite had elegant Christmas decorations and music! The oval table was perfect for socialising with a large group (there were 17 of us) We preordered our options from a three course menu! The food was extremely well timed and even with a small confusion with one order, the staff dealt with it professionally and quickly!

Throughout the meal staff were really attentive and I really felt they went above and beyond in customer service. For example, offering the children hot chocolate when adults were drinking tea/coffee. I can honestly say that it was the friendly and welcoming service we received that made the day!

I also love the cosy red lounge to have a drink in after the meal.

I have already booked again for next year!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed here for a 3 night break recently. Lovely hotel in a great location. Warm welcome at reception. Had a lovely room at the front of the hotel, the downside being a very noisy group of people exiting the hotel at 1.30 am on Sunday morning! The food is good but if you are staying more than 2 nights, the menu is a bit samey and needs to be changed a couple of times a week. There was a problem with one of the bedroom windows letting in the wind & rain but we understand that the windows are due to be replaced soon. All in all, a lovely visit and we hope to return in 2014.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if available - room 234 was a lovely big room and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuntieChris54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Down Hatherley
5.6 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,330 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
852 reviews
6.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,160 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
1,646 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatherley Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatherley Manor

Address: Down Hatherley Lane, Down Hatherley, Gloucester GL2 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Down Hatherley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Down Hatherley
Price Range: £65 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatherley Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious manor house set amidst 37 acres of beautiful grounds, including a unique Walled Garden, in the heart of the Gloucestershire countryside. Located just 4 miles from the Historic Cathedral City of Gloucester and 6 miles from the regency town of Cheltenham Spa, on the edge of the Cotswolds. A lovely Country House Hotel that has has been sympathetically refurbished to incorporate all the amenities required by today's most discerning guests. As a result, it retains all its historic heritage and charm while providing all the comfort and luxury expected of a modern country house hotel. Whether you are looking for a relaxing short break, a get together with friends or to celebrate a special occasion you can be assured that our friendly professional team will go out of their way to ensure that you have a memorable stay with us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hatherley Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatherley Manor Gloucester
Hatherley Manor Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing