We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awards night +disco”
Review of Hatherley Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hatherley Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Down Hatherley
Reviewed 5 March 2014

wonderful evening, couldnt have been more helpful all the staff were freindly and couldnt do enough for you . the room was perfect and the hot buffet was fab as well ,plenty for everyone . even catered for a special diet with a wonderful platter for one . cant find fault in a thing great job done by you all ,hope to see you again for the next one GCA

Room Tip: we didnt sleep there just used the venue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misses123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 854 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

We were looking for a hotel based outside of town for us to relax and unwind in. The hotel was clean and tidy, parking was available we were able to park close to reception in order to unload our luggage. The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. We had contacted the hotel to ask if they would be able to accommodate my husbands bike as we didn't want to leave it in the car, we were able to lock it up in a separate room within the hotel. The double room had everything we needed for the evening. The bar was reasonably priced for a hotel and the service was exceptional. The bar meals were lovely, good size and fresh. The wood burner was a nice feature near the bar. The weather was wet so we were unable to enjoy the tables outside, but this would be great in the summer. Overall our stay was very enjoyable and we would return to this venue again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a classic room so we had TV, tea and coffee with en suite facilities. The room wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed in the hotel and we where really disappointed
The rooms are more like a prison cell very small and cheap looking
Also the bathroom is very dated and the towels are old and not fresh looking.
Or pre diner drink was in the hall by the fire,what was not on (you would think that in December the fire will be on)
It was dark and cold!!!
We did ask by the reception to lit the fire,the manager had a go with 10 sheets of computer paper.
Everyone who ever lit a fire know that you kill the fire instead of burning it.
After 15 minutes he gave up,We went to a local garage and bought some kindling ,so I did lit the fire myself.
The food is Ok but no more than that.
I would never go back and would never recommend the hotel to anyone!!!!

Room Tip: The best is not to book for any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bubbleandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
generalmanager_HMH, General Manager at Hatherley Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for your review of our property, we are always genuinely upset when we receive such poor feedback from our guests.

In relation to the fire being lit it is always set over the winter from late November until mid M arch and should be burning by lunchtime except on warm sunny days when we will light it in the evening.

Our classic rooms are not the largest but they are very well maintained, the classic (its in the name) bathrooms have traditional /timeless black and white tiled floors and white tiled walls all have high powered showers over the bath we have minimal complaints and many compliments over these and they are rated by the AA as a four star standard bathroom. Classic rooms are ideal for short stays or if you want to enjoy our facilities and service at a softer on your pocket experience. Should you want to indulge then do upgrade to one of ten newly refurbished executives rooms or our superior rooms which are individually styled.

Towels and laundry come from an external laundry company who have always provided us with excellent quality we always provide proper bath towels not the smaller thinner versions you get in many properties and in all honesty no one has ever complained to me previously about the quality of these.

I note from your comments that you will never return and I respect your choice you are after all a paying customer. We do have many customers who do return time and time again and these have become great friends to many of the staff.

As a general note to all guests you find something not to be to your liking when staying with us then please do tell us we will do all we can to put things right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The staff were very friendly ,helpful and courteous. The food in the restaurant was very good, would go back just for the food. There was a wedding on but this did not detract in any way from the service we received. The signature rooms on the first floor were spectacular, but they were not suitable for us on this visit.
The only disappointing thing was the room we were given (106).I booked an executive room but the room we were given was very small, there was no way 2 z beds could be fitted in, there was just enough room to walk around the bed. (robes and slippers) were missing, although the manager had them delivered straight away. The Manager was fantastic and helped us in any way he could.
The ground floor is suitable for people with mobility problem, there isn't a lift. You can access the bar and restaurant, there is a disabled bay for parking just outside, there is a step to enter the building ,I don't know if they have a ramp because I manage a few steps.
Would highly recommend, we are definitely returning.

Room Tip: If you can manage the stairs go for one of the signature rooms, they are definitely worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MazSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

It is too easy these days to jump onto the I-pad when a small problem arises, and at the Hatherley Manor hotel, we did encounter a possible major problem on our arrival on Saturday 8th February.
My report is not about the problem, but the way it was handled.
The Hotel was full and, although we were not involved in the 3 major functions going on at the same time, the staff, In particular the receptionist and duty manager, handled the whole situation very professionally.
The following day, on check-out, the day manger was equally helpful and turned a potential 'Tripadvisor rant' into a 'very good'
It is wise to remember that it is not always the problems you encounter, but the way you solve them.
We will return to Hatherley Manor, but preferably not when a wedding and 2 charity functions are going on!!!
Nobody is perfect!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank silkpurseHighclere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We made a last minute booking to celebrate an anniversary.... the room was clean and newly decorated, staff were attentive and friendly but not over eager and the food was excellent! I would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mw081970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Nice hotel and easy find. Comfortable bed, room slightly cramped around the bed, getting tea/coffee making faclities out was awkward. Dirt or black mould against celing in a corner by window. One bedside lamp had no visible switch, to turn it on or off you had to twist the fitting close to the bulb - not a good idea! Bathroom good overall but grout work over bath looked grubby and there were hairs in the bath. Evening meal was very good, nice food well presented, hot and with good service. However, breakfast was disorganised, extremely slow to replenish hot food. By the time we got back to the table the tea was stewed and coffee had gone cold.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JRA8284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Down Hatherley
5.6 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,330 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
852 reviews
6.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,160 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
1,646 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatherley Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatherley Manor

Address: Down Hatherley Lane, Down Hatherley, Gloucester GL2 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Down Hatherley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Down Hatherley
Price Range: £65 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatherley Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious manor house set amidst 37 acres of beautiful grounds, including a unique Walled Garden, in the heart of the Gloucestershire countryside. Located just 4 miles from the Historic Cathedral City of Gloucester and 6 miles from the regency town of Cheltenham Spa, on the edge of the Cotswolds. A lovely Country House Hotel that has has been sympathetically refurbished to incorporate all the amenities required by today's most discerning guests. As a result, it retains all its historic heritage and charm while providing all the comfort and luxury expected of a modern country house hotel. Whether you are looking for a relaxing short break, a get together with friends or to celebrate a special occasion you can be assured that our friendly professional team will go out of their way to ensure that you have a memorable stay with us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hatherley Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatherley Manor Gloucester
Hatherley Manor Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing