We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant weekend”
Review of Hatherley Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hatherley Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Down Hatherley
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed Easter weekend & really enjoyed our stay. From check in to check out all the staff were so friendly & helpful .The room we stayed in was not huge but big enough with a comfortable bed & basically everything you needed, the only one thing that was wrong with it was that it was a bit too cold even with the radiator turned right up so I guess that it was centrally controlled down in reception .We only had one earl grey teabag in the room but they did give us some more when we asked for more, although when they cleaned the room the next morning & refilled the refreshments they took the extra ones away again so I had to ask for more again which I find a bit strange but not a major issue. We had evening meal on both nights & all four of us agreed that it was delicious both nights. I had the smoked haddock & poached eggs for breakfast both mornings which again was delicious, the others had the cooked breakfast both mornings & said that it was good, you also helped yourself to cereals , fruits , yoghurts etc .there
was enough choice of these that if you didn't fancy a cooked breakfast you would still have had enough to eat. The setting was nice, with tables outside so you could sit outside & admire the view while drinking your wine as we did on the first day or when the weather is not so good then there is a very comfortable lounge which we also made use of . We will definitely return as the food & the service was so good

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue_eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 882 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

I recent work stay at the Hatherly was a mixed experience. Decor, fixtures and fittings are all pretty tired and need refresh and updating, but functionally everything worked! Food was basic but well cooked, Service was very good. The hotel is not really set up for business guests, and lacks facilities like a gym, or any business services to speak of. However it does have nice grounds.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil_L_1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Have attended Hatherley Manor for several business functions, most recently staying over. The buildings are a mixture of age, style and level of maintenance with an overall result which is low in either old fashioned or contemporary style. The setting too, although rural, is quite stark and characterless. My bedroom appeared recently refurbished and was well equipped - ironing board and free wifi always appreciated. The food qualiity has been a bit of a mixture. The lunchtime buffets have been extremely creative and delicious - perhaps the best I have come across. By contrast the evening meals for functions have been distinctly average. The service has been very friendly although sometimes a little inefficient. So, overall not bad and a reasonable venue for a business function, but it lacks appeal to spend my own money threre.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briangfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We had a standard room, very comfortable if a little compact . Dinner was excellent and the wines reasonably priced . Attentive staff. Quiet position. Lovely surroundings with a jogging track. Enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank aberdeenjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed overnight as part of a English River Cruise holiday. This is a beautiful hotel with friendly staff. Lovely grounds and in a quiet location.Very good lunch, dinner and breakfast .Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernadette021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Booked this through a groupon voucher.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We ungraded our room and had the four posted bed. The room was very spacious and in character. The only negative I will say is, the room was noisy at night with a loud fan like noise, but apart from that it was a pleasant stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Suzie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

More like a country hotel as the manor is a very small part of the overall building which is modern read brick. We had an executive room which was very small. The staff were very welcoming and friendly despite the fact that they had two weddings on at the venue that day. We took our dog which was no trouble for them. The service at the bar was slow due to lack of trained staff but that is a minor gripe. We had dinner and my steak was excellent. The wine list is a little limited.
If you can secure a good deal for DB&B (perhaps through Groupon, etc), then I would recommend it but I would not want to pay full price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superscaryshadowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Down Hatherley
5.6 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,392 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
912 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
377 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#7 of 21 in Gloucester
1,755 reviews
5.5 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatherley Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatherley Manor

Address: Down Hatherley Lane, Down Hatherley, Gloucester GL2 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Down Hatherley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Down Hatherley
Price Range: £76 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatherley Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious manor house set amidst 37 acres of beautiful grounds, including a unique Walled Garden, in the heart of the Gloucestershire countryside. Located just 4 miles from the Historic Cathedral City of Gloucester and 6 miles from the regency town of Cheltenham Spa, on the edge of the Cotswolds. A lovely Country House Hotel that has has been sympathetically refurbished to incorporate all the amenities required by today's most discerning guests. As a result, it retains all its historic heritage and charm while providing all the comfort and luxury expected of a modern country house hotel. Whether you are looking for a relaxing short break, a get together with friends or to celebrate a special occasion you can be assured that our friendly professional team will go out of their way to ensure that you have a memorable stay with us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hatherley Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatherley Manor Gloucester
Hatherley Manor Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing