We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hatherley Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hatherley Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Down Hatherley
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I didn't stay but visited for afternoon tea which was absolutely terrible. The choice was limited, service basic and we had to ask for extra milk, sugar, etc. Hugely disappointing and I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
generalmanager_HMH, General Manager at Hatherley Manor, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Jane W
Please accept my apologies that the service you have received did not match the standards that we aspire to and deliver on a daily basis. We always aim to offer a value for money experience from all our menus this starts from our simple sandwiches from £6.00 up to our taste of Gloucester experience menu which includes a six course meal with matched wines and aperitifs at £75 per person.

I do wish that you had contacted either myself or one of my duty managers to let them know of your disappointment at the time as we would I am sure done everything we could to put things right.
As a note to other guests we currently offer three different Afternoon Tea Choices as well as a full Bar menu and a extremely well priced restaurant over the day time period so hopefully there should be enough choice

as a note to other guests we currently offer three different Afternoon Tea Choices as well as a full Bar menu and a extremely well priced restaurant over the day time period so hopefully there should be enough choice i have also emailed Jane directly to ascertain more details of when she visited so that as a team we can work on our shortcomings
kind regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    270
    122
    50
    33
See reviews for
110
403
12
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malvern
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

What a beautiful setting for this lovely manor house! We called in on our way home for an afternoon cup of tea. Hot tea served with homemade shortbread! Lovely. We stayed for an evening meal in the restaurant. The food was delicious , hot and well presented. Service started off very well but towards the end of the meal it was somewhat lacking and we waited a long time for our dessert - pity, it spoiled what was otherwise a lovely evening.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beacon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Nice premises and friendly service but the main courses were disappointing (soggy roast potatoes and flavourless pork, some crackling would have been nice) and the one real ale was not good: cloudy (not meant to be) and turning sour.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sminkipink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I have been to Hatherley Manor on several occasions now for business meetings. They have been in 2 different conference rooms, both of which have been well presented, airy and light, just what you need. The staff are very efficient and lunch is always prompt. The only thing that rates it as 4 rather than 5 is lunch is not labelled. Some superb salad, rice and other dishes are laid out but because they do not state what is in them I do not risk it. Please think of those with dietary requirements and allergies!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Croft09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed Easter weekend & really enjoyed our stay. From check in to check out all the staff were so friendly & helpful .The room we stayed in was not huge but big enough with a comfortable bed & basically everything you needed, the only one thing that was wrong with it was that it was a bit too cold even with the radiator turned right up so I guess that it was centrally controlled down in reception .We only had one earl grey teabag in the room but they did give us some more when we asked for more, although when they cleaned the room the next morning & refilled the refreshments they took the extra ones away again so I had to ask for more again which I find a bit strange but not a major issue. We had evening meal on both nights & all four of us agreed that it was delicious both nights. I had the smoked haddock & poached eggs for breakfast both mornings which again was delicious, the others had the cooked breakfast both mornings & said that it was good, you also helped yourself to cereals , fruits , yoghurts etc .there
was enough choice of these that if you didn't fancy a cooked breakfast you would still have had enough to eat. The setting was nice, with tables outside so you could sit outside & admire the view while drinking your wine as we did on the first day or when the weather is not so good then there is a very comfortable lounge which we also made use of . We will definitely return as the food & the service was so good

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue_eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I recent work stay at the Hatherly was a mixed experience. Decor, fixtures and fittings are all pretty tired and need refresh and updating, but functionally everything worked! Food was basic but well cooked, Service was very good. The hotel is not really set up for business guests, and lacks facilities like a gym, or any business services to speak of. However it does have nice grounds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil_L_1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Have attended Hatherley Manor for several business functions, most recently staying over. The buildings are a mixture of age, style and level of maintenance with an overall result which is low in either old fashioned or contemporary style. The setting too, although rural, is quite stark and characterless. My bedroom appeared recently refurbished and was well equipped - ironing board and free wifi always appreciated. The food qualiity has been a bit of a mixture. The lunchtime buffets have been extremely creative and delicious - perhaps the best I have come across. By contrast the evening meals for functions have been distinctly average. The service has been very friendly although sometimes a little inefficient. So, overall not bad and a reasonable venue for a business function, but it lacks appeal to spend my own money threre.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briangfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Down Hatherley
4.8 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatherley Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatherley Manor

Property: Hatherley Manor
Address: Down Hatherley Lane, Down Hatherley, Gloucester GL2 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Down Hatherley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Down Hatherley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatherley Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious manor house set amidst 37 acres of beautiful grounds, including a unique Walled Garden, in the heart of the Gloucestershire countryside. Located just 4 miles from the Historic Cathedral City of Gloucester and 6 miles from the regency town of Cheltenham Spa, on the edge of the Cotswolds. A lovely Country House Hotel that has has been sympathetically refurbished to incorporate all the amenities required by today's most discerning guests. As a result, it retains all its historic heritage and charm while providing all the comfort and luxury expected of a modern country house hotel. Whether you are looking for a relaxing short break, a get together with friends or to celebrate a special occasion you can be assured that our friendly professional team will go out of their way to ensure that you have a memorable stay with us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hatherley Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatherley Manor Gloucester
Hatherley Manor Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing