We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DAUGHTERS WEDDING”
Review of Hatherley Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hatherley Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Down Hatherley
Certificate of Excellence
glos
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DAUGHTERS WEDDING”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

The staff of Hatherley Manor ensured that my daughters wedding went off with out a hitch,also nothing was too much trouble when dealing with specific requests. Like my brother in law who due to recent illness can not swallow food easily, so that provided him a special meal which he enjoyed immensely.

The wedding dinner was of excellent quality and hot for everybody.


It was an excellent day and would highly recommend this hotel as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watto666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    277
    122
    52
    33
See reviews for
114
406
14
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is currently being redecorated - unobtrusively.
The food in the restaurant was very tasty, well presented and good value at dinner especially.
The room although small was well supplied with all necessary toileteries and an iron and ironing board and even herbal teas and teapot.
Staff were very attentive and efficient at reception, bar and in the restaurant.
Overall an enjoyable 2 nights in s hotel set in beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We love Gloucestershire and the Cotswolds and Hatherley Manor is in the perfect location to visit all these lovely areas.

The first thing you notice is the large immaculate lawn and gardens surrounding the hotel, some really nice touches like a large garden chess set and a croquet set provided some great fun for the children.

Our room overlooked the gardens and was the perfect size for us and our two children who were also pleased they could connect to the hotels free WiFi.

Dinner in the restaurant was also really enjoyable with a great choice of dishes, the ribeye steak was one of the best I've ever tasted and the service was also top notch with no delays even with a full restaurant. The staff even had time to engage with the kids which made them feel really special.

Food quality, variety and service continued through to breakfast. We were really pleased to see such good quality bacon and sausages on the full English.

This hotel has got it right, from the friendly and professional staff to the quality of the food and service, we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Eat in the restaurant, have a glass of wine sitting in the garden and sitting in the snug
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 198oliverr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Not what we expected at all! Doors banging all night. Two weddings on both nights. Blaring music till all hours from disco at wedding situated on our corridor, after specifically asking when we got there for a quiet room. Very disappointing. Will not be recommending to vast circle of family and friends. Awful experience and left at 6.45am on Sunday morning when the fire alarm (which s a bit 'temperamental' I'm told went off waking the whole hotel up! Worst hotel we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: There isn't a good room. If there was, we should have been offered it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jo250270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
875 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Read the reviews on trip adviser prior to booking, and always want to make up my own mind! The room was small. Standard double bed and very small with a nice bathroom with a cracked basin. The room had knocks on the paintwork and generally needed some TLC. The food in the restaurant for an evening meal was superb! We had two mornings of breakfast. The irst was a la carte, the second was self service! Food was good and plentiful. The grounds to this hotel were awesome. BUT there wasn't much else here. There were parties on both nights here. I slept through them, but my husband was kept awake!
When I checked out, and paid additional costs, there wasn't even a thank you. Nothing. Would I stay here again, the answer is NO! It was expensive for what I got for my money.

Room Tip: Asked for a quiet room and extra pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
generalmanager_HMH, General Manager at Hatherley Manor, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Angela

Thank you for your review of Hatherley I am really pleased that you food and grounds to be so good! I note your comments in relation to the rest of the hotel looking shabby the primary reason for this is that we have just changed all the locks in the bedrooms to a key card system from original turn key locks, this was a somewhat messy process, following this we have been able to start a full refurbishment of all the hotel corridors, in hindsind we should have put signs up to inform guests of this to let them know that we care about our appearance!
Our maintenance team are also in the process of replacing the chipped sink in room 111

I am so sorry that we did not ask if you enjoyed your stay and did not thank you for payment this was very discourteous of us, I do hope you change your mind and choose to visit us again as you would most definitely see the hotel in a different light once we have finished this decorative work in September.
Yours sincerely

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Booked last minute, reviews say some rooms are tired and ours was, however, staff were brilliant, grounds relaxing and restaurant outstanding.
I requested pineapple as my. Mouth is sore due to chemotherapy and they arranged it and didn't charge!
Thank you for fantastic stay

Room Tip: Ideal location for gloucester and Cheltenham
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
generalmanager_HMH, General Manager at Hatherley Manor, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Lyn D

Thank you kindly for your review, it means so much to us that you had a great time with us.
I do hope the treatment is succesful and you have many more happy visits.

warm regards
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived late afternoon. Check In Prompt but Information on Services for 2 Nights Stay very poor! No Communication on Times of Breakfast let alone inform that there was Tea/Coffee Facilities set up in your Room. No Offer of helping with Cases (esp when they knew we were part of a Wedding Party, next day Wedding!)
The Executive Room given was small with single beds for Husband/Wife! However did swop with our 2 Daughters! Moved into 2nd Executive Room to Horror that the Room stank of Damp Water. Bath Robes been washed & tumble dried so many times they were rough and in parts worn thin!
Reception Staff could not offer anything except Sorry! Duty Mgr offered a Standard Room which in turn, turned out to be the same size as Executive Room with same Facilities with Single Beds. Could not see any difference. However did offer to charge at Standard Rate!!
Duty Mgr, Suddenly offered us a Superior Room but away from our Daughters on a different floor. This room was an improvement. But again sadly lacked information where Tea/Coffee Facilities let alone hunt for the TV! Dressing Gowns certainly lacked comfort. Even curtains lacked colour! At least the room didn't stink!
Evening Meal: Poor Quality. Ordered Tiger Prawns for Starters. Received 5 tiny prawns you would put in a Prawn Cocktail. Steak for Main Dinner - Non Available. Asked for Salmon - Non Available. 3rd attempt Chicken wrapped in Parma Ham, very tasted. Sadly the Dauphinois Potatoes tasted like they had been microwaved and turned to rubber! Dessert - We give Full Credit to the Dessert Pastry Chef!
Next Day - Breakfast. Good Selection. Would not recommend the Cooked Sausages. Appalling Taste!
Wedding: The Staff worked tirelessly to ensure all foods were served promptly. Sadly Hatherley Manor forgot to inform the Chef there was a Celiac attending the Reception! Even though I personally inform Hotel myself 2 weeks prior!
Would My Husband and I stay at Hatherley Manor Hotel again... No is the answer. Over price for very little service and information.
Bitterly Disappointed!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
generalmanager_HMH, General Manager at Hatherley Manor, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Toni M

Thank you for your review we seem to be on a run of not so good reviews recently these I can assure you are not indicative of us as a hotel or a team as we work tirelessly to try to give guests a memorable and enjoyable guest experience,
I have mention recently that reception has undergone a few changes recently and we are working hard to build their Knowledge of the hotel though they have the basics it the little extra touches that count and the experience to identify exactly how much information each guests needs it does vary greatly from the guests who justs wants to get to his room to the ones that wish to know all the intracies of the menu or the history of the building,
In relation to your room reception passed on your comments to our duty manager Ivo whom dealt with you promptly and gave you an upgrade to room 234 which is a fantastic room bigger than some peoples apartments, guest information is in the guest information folder on the dresser and tea and coffee is beatifully hidden in the Cafe Du Monde boxes along with a Cafetierre for brewing fresh coffee in the only dresser in the room , above this you can reveal the tv by opening up the top doors which then slide back into the unit ( you can see this in action in the traveller Photo by Leigh-harrington )
We also note your comments in relation to the food these will be shared with our kitchen team to see if we can make any alterations to enhance other guests experience.In regards to the celiac information I will contact you directly by email to clarify exactly what has happened here, we are normally very strong in these areas offering a very good selection as all food is prepared on site .

Please accept my apologies that your stay did not live up to expectations and thank you for your kind comments in relation to the staff who worked on the wedding day.
regards
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Down Hatherley
4.8 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatherley Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatherley Manor

Property: Hatherley Manor
Address: Down Hatherley Lane, Down Hatherley, Gloucester GL2 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Down Hatherley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Down Hatherley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatherley Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious manor house set amidst 37 acres of beautiful grounds, including a unique Walled Garden, in the heart of the Gloucestershire countryside. Located just 4 miles from the Historic Cathedral City of Gloucester and 6 miles from the regency town of Cheltenham Spa, on the edge of the Cotswolds. A lovely Country House Hotel that has has been sympathetically refurbished to incorporate all the amenities required by today's most discerning guests. As a result, it retains all its historic heritage and charm while providing all the comfort and luxury expected of a modern country house hotel. Whether you are looking for a relaxing short break, a get together with friends or to celebrate a special occasion you can be assured that our friendly professional team will go out of their way to ensure that you have a memorable stay with us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hatherley Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatherley Manor Gloucester
Hatherley Manor Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing