We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time on this establishment.”

Putteridge Bury B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lilley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Putteridge Bury B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Lilley B&B and Inns
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste your time on this establishment.”
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Don't waste your time on this establishment. After a few days of trying to contact the proprietress via her home phone, mobile phone, and email, my wife and I have given up and booked rooms in Great Offley. What is worse is that the one morning I did manage to contact the owner, she hung up on me three times. All that I was ever able to get out was “Hello, I’d like to inquire about...” and she would hang up. I was absolutely baffled. I was never less than polite in the voice mail I left and in the email I sent. I’ve never received such discourteous treatment from a Bed & Breakfast owner before. My advice would be to skip Puteridge Bury B&B all together and to stay up the road in Great Offley.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravisLilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putteridgebury, Owner at Putteridge Bury B&B, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
I don't know which establishment these people were trying to contact but it certainly wasn't Putteridge Bury B&B! No one has ever complained that they were unable to get hold of us. A mischievous and untruthful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    7
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
5
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Home from home, traditional farmhouse with lots of animals. On arrival there were horses eating their dinner in the yard, chickens roaming around, a friendly dog and kittens in the drawing room which my kids loved playing with. Rooms were large and comfortable, landlady very welcoming and helpful, and on top of all that it was incredibly good value.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittyandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes Fife
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Lovely, comfortable, clean place run by people who are animal lovers like ourselves. We were very happy with our accommodation and the breakfast set us up for the day. We felt more like friends than guests and will certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueminty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2010

It was what a German imagines to be a typical english residence.
A beauriful house and walled garden, horses in the field and a labrador.
A friend told me about it, I had a wonderful relaxing time there with the real english breakfast and a lovely evening meal.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gigi093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

I travelled from Spain to work in area. I stayed at this b & b for three weeks. Lovely old house, very helpful landlady. She did all my washing, helped with car hire and shopping: Beautiful garden. I will stay here again when I come back to England.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marioMalaga_spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2010

This historic farmhouse is a great place to stay. There's a warm welcome, great breakfast, comfy rooms and loads of old fashioned charm. Especially good for anyone attracted to a particularly English miss marple-ish atmosphere and laid back ambience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linusandfloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Great place to stay. Very friendly and relaxed. Alison the landlady is great fun and the whole atmosphere is warm and welcoming.
Room was charming (with a quite bonkers ancient wardrobe) and had a great view of the countryside.
Animal lovers will especially like it here - there are horses in the fields next to the house, chickens in the garden, kittens and a lovely old Labrador.
So much better than a lifeless hotel!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r_t_young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lilley
1.7 mi away
Offley Place Country House
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Luton North
1.2 mi away
King William Hotel
King William Hotel
#10 of 26 in Luton
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lodge Farm House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Putteridge Bury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Putteridge Bury B&B

Property: Putteridge Bury B&B
Address: Dog Kennel Farm Lilley Bottom | Lilley Bottom, Lilley, Lilley LU2 8LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Lilley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lilley
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing