We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat”
Review of The Blue Cow Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Blue Cow Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 South Witham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This country Inn is signposted just off the A1 and is well worth the extra couple of miles to enjoy good food at a very reasonable price. We stopped on a Sunday and had an excellent carvery meal. The staff were very welcoming and the food was certainly good enough to make us want to go back. It was very busy when we were there and that was probably the biggest downside: too popular!! But we understand why. Forget the services, have a little detour and some good food. They also do B&B, a bit too near to home for us to try but I imagine this would be equally as good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank scotty129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed here for one night to break the journey up north. Had a spacious, very clean room and very good breakfast. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Evening meal was home cooked and delicious. Husband was a little disappointed that the real ale, brewed on site, was removed as it did not taste right but can fully understand that it was better to remove it than serve beer that was not up to standard. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlanandTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed one night while walking the Viking Way. Room was great. Probably centuries old, with exposed beams and crooked floors but clean and fully functional, No WiFi. Staff were friendly and helpful. Ate in the restaurant and service was very slow (over an hour's wait for the main course) but that was probably because they happened to have a large party in. Food was very good once it arrived. Breakfast was a cooked to order and served at a time of your choice. Would recommend the Blue Cow ale, brewed in the inn's own micro-brewery.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorksRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have just had a couple of days at this Pub.We've stayed at many places,but this Pub restored my faith in The old English Pub,and dates back to the 13th centuruy."Simon the landlord was a great host and a mind of information.The food was not excellent good very good and reasonable priced,with a good variety.The breakfast consisted of a very good full English with a choice of cereals toast etc.Our bedroom,a choice of probably 5,was pretty good,with a double and 2 singles,plus a futon for another bed which doubled as a sofa.The T.V. was excellent,wall supported on a very good angled bracket,with possibility of viewing from many angles a set at the correct height for viewing from lying in bed or sitting.The bathroom consisted of the normal 3 piece with shower,toilet and wash basin,and quite spacious.The usual tea,coffee and biscuits in the bedroom,always a good necessary item.The big bonus of The Blue Cow inn,was the great atmosphere created by the attendance of the many locals and frequent clients,all very friendly and helpful,which says a lot for Simon,as he must have worked hard to create. Most off the English pubs have been taken over by large companies and the traditional ones gone.It made my day,that we really do still have the Great traditional Engilsh Pub,though,sadly rare,I've found one at last,with "normal" good furnishings,and not the cosmetic style of many English pubs.

Room Tip: Just ask Simon for your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank recymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stopped here for Sunday lunch when we were heading north up the A1. It’s only a few minutes off the road. A few days later we stopped again, this time for again for a sandwich lunch as we were heading south. The staff remembered us!
It’s a lovely, uncomplicated pub. Good home-cooked food; friendly, helpful staff; excellent value. Will go there again next time we’re in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Although we didn't stay the night we had a fantastic meal with huge potions, staff and landlord very welcoming as were the locals. Will book to stay the night next time we are going up north....
The real ale was excellent which came from their own micro-brewery.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellymitch666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Old pub in small village. We did an overnight stop in the carpark with our motorhome. Welcoming staff, good real ale from the microbrewery. We had supper from a wide menu, with generous portions. Well patronised pub.

Room Tip: meal only, we stayed in our own motorhome in the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank COSTGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Blue Cow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Cow Inn

Address: 29 High Street, South Witham NG33 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > South Witham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in South Witham
Price Range: £42 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Blue Cow Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very traditional free house, loads of old fashioned charm. Our open fire is usually roaring and a one of the favourite spots to sit. Flag floors and beamed ceilings are everywhere. We have loads of history to tell you over a beer. All our rooms are ensuite and have flat screen TV. Etc. Full English breakfast is offered for an extra £5 per person and is all cooked fresh as you order it in the morning. As most of the customers say, a really relaxing friendly establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your The Blue Cow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing